We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Position”
Review of Row NYC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Row NYC Hotel
Ranked #354 of 471 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Recently spent 12 nights at the Row on the 28th floor. The Hotel is well positioned and close to everything you need in NYC. The rooms have recently undergone a refurbishment and although small, are very comfortable. Housekeeping was very efficient and the staff are all very helpful and friendly. Special mention to Justina and Abigail, two of the best concierges I found at the Row. A kettle would have been nice but there's a Starbucks on every block in NYC, so I survived. I would highly recommend the Row

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor. We had little noise on the 28th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don_Jacinto11, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear Mark K,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed our unbeatable location, close to so many New York City attractions. It gives us great pleasure to hear you found our rooms to be comfortable and our staff to be efficient, helpful and friendly. Thank you for lovely comments recognizing our outstanding concierge staff, Justina and Abigail. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (20,195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14,478 - 14,484 of 20,195 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed at Row NYC one night in our first trip to NYC. Price and location were driving factors, which we were very happy with, but also found the service excellent, room clean, and modern facility over all. We look forward to visiting NYC again and certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don_Jacinto11, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear Mark K,

Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us during your first trip to New York City. It gives us great pleasure to hear you appreciated the location and affordable pricing. We thank you for your kind comments recognizing our excellent service, clean room and modern facilities. We look forward to your return trip to our energetic city!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The hotel is in a very good location close to time square. Rooms and toilets are very small and they have the most noisy AC unit that I have ever experienced in my life.

I was placed in a room with a totally blocked view so I was not able to see the sun or the street from the room window and just outside my window there was very noisy huge pipe that kept me awake all night.

I asked for a room change several times but they failed to honor my request claiming that that they are fully booked although I was told in one of my calls that I can pay more for an upgrade if I don't like my room which I refused as I felt its my right to stay in a reasonably quiet room especially for the amount am paying for this hotel

In my last day I was out all morning so I called front desk as soon as I returned to the hotel at 11:45 AM asking if they would allow me to checkout at 12:30 as oppose to 12 just so that I can pack my luggage, again they refused my request and told me that they will charge me extra if I don't check out by 12 !!!

All in all, I was not satisfied with the experience and will definitely stay elsewhere in my next trip to NYC

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anas I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don_Jacinto11, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Anas L,

Thank you for your candid review of our hotel. Although we are glad to hear you enjoyed our optimal location, we do regret to hear the remainder of your stay was anything but exceptional. Our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you experienced with your guestroom, and further the manner in which it was handled. I assure you these are not our service standards and the appropriate department heads are further investigating this issue. We hope to have the opportunity to regain your confidence in us upon a future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed at Row NYC for 3 days at the beginning of June. The location is perfect, just around the corner from Times Square and walking distance to the Rockefeller Centre. The room itself was small, but considering there isnt much space in New York it was fine! It was basic but had all you needed a clean bed, safe, and shower. The blackout blinds were also effective. We were on the eighth floor and unfortunately it was very noisy night and day, but we were so tired from the day we slept through it! It's comfortable for a short stay of a couple of days, but probably if staying longer a room on a higher floor might be better to reduce the noise.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on one of the top floors - less noise and better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Em_Anne_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don_Jacinto11, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Em_Anne_H,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our unbeatable location, so close to many New York City attractions. We love to hear the blackout blinds made for a more relaxing environment. We regret to hear you found your room to be on the smaller side, we do offer several room layouts and sizes and would be happy to assist you in securing a larger accommodation for a future stay. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 6 nights with my family in a double room on the 14th floor. Room is just nice and staff were helpful. Hotel location is excellent.

Setbacks were the construction noise can be heard from the room on week nights, there was no water boiler, toiletries supply can be limited unless one request.

Nonetheless, the hotel lift service is efficient with minimal waiting time, a plus point especially for such big hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Simgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don_Jacinto11, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Simgal,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It has been our pleasure hosting you and your family during your visit to New York City. We are overjoyed to hear you loved our location, efficient elevators and found our staff to be helpful throughout your stay. We apologize for the road work being performed by the City of New York during the time of your stay. We hope to welcome you back with open arms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed here on our first trip to NYC and through a recommendation of another guest who stayed here. GREAT LOCATION!! Literally a block from the center of Time Square, great location for good food, and theaters. The room was modernly decorated and was clean. Great place to stay to be centrally located to subway access as well. Friendly front desk staff. Appreciated that security checked for room keys to get to elevators in the evenings. Great atmosphere of the lounge and lobby area. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don_Jacinto11, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Nicole T,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us during your first trip to New York City. It gives us great pleasure to know you loved our convenient location and our modern and clean rooms. We thank you for your comments recognizing our friendly front desk and vigilant security. We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed at the Row NYC (formerly known as The Milford Plaza) for 2 nights, all by myself, and chose is due to the reasonable price and amazingly central location. as a woman alone in Manhattan, it was really important for me to stay close to a subway station and close to a place with a lot of people, and this is it - 3 minutes walk to Times Square, 3 minutes walk to Port Authority station, a few minutes and i was anywhere I wanted.
The room i got was so tiny but super clean and comfortable, and that's all that matters since I was out of the room most of the day.
But the highlight for me was actually the view from the 28th floor... i could see it forever.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor. the view is incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hagar I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don_Jacinto11, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear HappiestGirl80,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. It gives us great pleasure to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are thrilled you appreciated our amazingly central location and fantastic view from your guestroom. We regret to hear you found the room to be on the smaller side, but would be more than happy in assisting you select a larger room category for a future stay. We hope to host your next visit to New York City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 471 in New York City
11,922 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#401 of 471 in New York City
4,917 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#237 of 471 in New York City
5,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#329 of 471 in New York City
7,136 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#144 of 471 in New York City
7,451 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#274 of 471 in New York City
4,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Row NYC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Row NYC Hotel

Address: 700 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-3901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #354 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $116 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Row NYC Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The revolutionary Row NYC hotel has pioneered a new era of individuality by meeting NYC's signature urban grit with grandeur - transforming one's stay into a completely contemporary experience. With a front row view to Times Square that's truly incomparable, our guests reside right in the middle of it all, with access to everything and anything - 24/7. Endlessly lounge-worthy, the Row NYC flaunts a spectacular lobby & statement spaces. Commissioned New York City inspired artworks electrify the atmosphere with animated light sculptures, and a digital art gallery by famed paparazzo Ron Gallela. Sitting in the bull's eye of Manhattan's most famous locales - including Broadway theaters, 5th Avenue shopping, Restaurant Row, world-class museums, Javits Center & nearby Central Park - the Row NYC is the ultimate New York City address. The hotel is ideally positioned just a few short blocks from Penn Station, the subway, and Port Authority Bus Terminal. LaGuardia, JFK and Newark airports are a 30 to 40 minute ride away. Valet & self-parking are available with convenience. The Row NYC boasts 1331 contemporary guest rooms on 28 floors, flaunting chic, Manhattan-inspired decor in white-hot hues mixed with unexpectedly vibrant custom furnishings. Other services include: Internet lounge in the lobby, Fitness studio, District M - a European express cafe, serving delicious sweet and savory pastries from NYC's finest bakeries and transforms into a chic Neapolitan pizza bar and cocktail lounge, serving hand-stretched pizzas and a curated selection of charcuterie and cheese from New York's famed Murray's Cheese Shop. Specialty cocktails, local craft beers and a live music lineup all contribute to an unforgettable evening. City Kitchen - Row NYC will also be home to a noteworthy food market. Offering cuisine from beloved New York City restaurants, it will be a way for guests and visitors to experience the city's most buzzed about food spots - without leaving the hotel. Iconic M: Open 24/7, our one-stop-shop for everyday essentials, including a wide range of international magazines and newspapers, snacks, fashionable souvenirs and toiletries. And, our concierge and multilingual staff are available for assistance - anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Row NYC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing