We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time Square trip”
Review of Row NYC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Row NYC Hotel
Ranked #356 of 469 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We were happy with our stay…. Rooms are small. We probably on had 18" between the bottom of the bed and the small drawer/luggage shelf along the back wall. Very clean and overall it was a good stay, rom was not comfortable enough to hang out in but location was great to get to all of the time Square activities we came for. Who needs to sit in your room anyway!
We did ask the concierge about getting a car service to take us to Newark airport, they said it would cost 130.00…. We called a local car service and they charged us 65.00 plus tolls including tip.

Room Tip: We were on the 21st floor, my inlays were on a lower floor and their room was a bit larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theresa173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (19,609)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14,242 - 14,248 of 19,609 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

I loved the ambiance of the hotel and the friendliness of the staff, especially the lounge staff. The Food & Beverage Director, Eric, was very well dressed and professional. He was very accommodating to me and my guests and always took the time to stop by and ensure everything was to our satisfaction. Alesia, the bartender, was very friendly, as well as efficient and knowledgeable. Kaleena was also very friendly and attentive. I very much enjoyed my stay there as well as the time spent in the hotel's beautiful lounge. I was lucky enough to be there on a Wednesday, when they host a beautiful jazz band which draws local swing dancers. A very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MO037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don_Jacinto, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Dries_BE137,

Thank you for your candid review. I am so pleased you and your friends enjoyed your stay and—even more so—that you noticed the constant efforts and professionalism of our staff. Additionally, I thank you for bringing the issue you experienced with our housekeeper to my attention and assure you that such issues are not our norm. Nonetheless, please know that we are investigating this matter to ensure that it does not happen with other guests. We look forward to having you back.

- Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Great room, superb mattress and room was impeccable clean. Bathroom door....well its hard to be private. Great decor. I loved the mod wall murals. Made me smile everytime I walked onto the floor.
Good security. Staff was good. Breakfast was wonderful. Limited bfast seating but it worked.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwvt19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Great hotel and great location! Rooms were comfortable....staff and service was great! Right near everything in New York City. My husband and 2 children stayed there for 4 days. Great price for the area too. I would go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

After being repulsed by the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel I ran to the nearest hotel and ended up here and thank goodness!

CUSTOMER SERVICE
Gezennia checked us in and what a breath of Fresh Air! Upon checking us in she lent a listening ear and did not rush our check in. She listened to our needs and was assuring making us comfortable and it easy to put the terrible experience at the previous hotel behind us.

She was so pleasant and had great customer service skills. She was very knowledgeable about services, restaurants and stores in the area.

As well there was Patrick who had such a positive great attitude and remembering my name and greeting me daily! He taught us how to use the elevators which is an awesome feature. It intuitively groups floors to ensure the most efficient use of all the elevators.

ROOM
The room was clean and modern. It had a smart use of space with places to sit, put your luggage and drawers. The bathroom was clean and modern, the only hangup was where the toilet paper was situated. it was too close therefore sitting on the toilet ensured that I bumped into it all the time.

The hotel key also become luggage tags we ended up using as we ended up buying luggage.

Clean and spacious with a full length mirror. Also Has HBO so I didn't miss Game of Thrones!

LOCATION
The location was perfect. The first night we strolled around ending up in Times Square and with all the theaters on the side of the hotel, Shake Shack was close but get there early line ups spill in to the side walk at times. There is a food court across the street with great pizza too! As well there was a smoke/liquor store across the street you can buy souvenirs from too! Not to mention the 24 hr convenience store in the hotel.

Overall Awesome Hotel and will definitely visit again!

Room Tip: We were in Room 2227 and it was spacious and Clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don_Jacinto, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Iris P,

Thank you kindly for your fantastic review of our hotel and staff! We pride ourselves on offering consistent, first-class customer service and I am so glad that—thanks to the efforts of our wonderful staff—we were able to turn your unpleasant experience at the Wyndham New Yorker around for you. We sincerely look forward to hosting you again.

- Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I was nervous about previous reviews but I was very happy with stay. The rooms are small but they are cute and clean. I stayed with my teenage daughter and it was perfect. Great value for the price. Beds are soft, good shower, and friendly staff. Thank you ROBERT at front desk by starting a visit with your kindness and going the extra yard for us. I personal loved the elevator system, was very fast and was nice that security checks for room keys. Managers are walking around making sure everyone is doing there job. We are frequent visitors to NYC and will be back. I didn't hear any noise at night from other rooms. They hold your luggage when you check out for free if you are still running around the city.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLZS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Rooms are small for the price I paid and the service was poor. Too many dumb rules to follow in their areas such as the lobby. You can't even eat a snack in the lobby if it was not bought in their bar.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don_Jacinto, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Jeanette C,

Thank you for your review. I apologize that you did not better enjoy your stay with us. Please understand that hotel policies are in place to best ensure the comfort of all of our guests and I sincerely apologize if you found them to be disagreeable. Nonetheless, we welcome the opportunity to better meet your needs in the future.

- Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#279 of 469 in New York City
11,718 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#400 of 469 in New York City
4,667 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#235 of 469 in New York City
4,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#137 of 469 in New York City
7,337 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#271 of 469 in New York City
4,875 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#331 of 469 in New York City
7,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Row NYC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Row NYC Hotel

Address: 700 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-3901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #356 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $126 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Row NYC Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The revolutionary Row NYC hotel has pioneered a new era of individuality by meeting NYC's signature urban grit with grandeur - transforming one's stay into a completely contemporary experience. With a front row view to Times Square that's truly incomparable, our guests reside right in the middle of it all, with access to everything and anything - 24/7. Endlessly lounge-worthy, the Row NYC flaunts a spectacular lobby & statement spaces. Commissioned New York City inspired artworks electrify the atmosphere with animated light sculptures, and a digital art gallery by famed paparazzo Ron Gallela. Sitting in the bull's eye of Manhattan's most famous locales - including Broadway theaters, 5th Avenue shopping, Restaurant Row, world-class museums, Javits Center & nearby Central Park - the Row NYC is the ultimate New York City address. The hotel is ideally positioned just a few short blocks from Penn Station, the subway, and Port Authority Bus Terminal. LaGuardia, JFK and Newark airports are a 30 to 40 minute ride away. Valet & self-parking are available with convenience. The Row NYC boasts 1331 contemporary guest rooms on 28 floors, flaunting chic, Manhattan-inspired decor in white-hot hues mixed with unexpectedly vibrant custom furnishings. Other services include: Internet lounge in the lobby, Fitness studio, District M - a European express cafe, serving delicious sweet and savory pastries from NYC's finest bakeries and transforms into a chic Neapolitan pizza bar and cocktail lounge, serving hand-stretched pizzas and a curated selection of charcuterie and cheese from New York's famed Murray's Cheese Shop. Specialty cocktails, local craft beers and a live music lineup all contribute to an unforgettable evening. City Kitchen - Row NYC will also be home to a noteworthy food market. Offering cuisine from beloved New York City restaurants, it will be a way for guests and visitors to experience the city's most buzzed about food spots - without leaving the hotel. Iconic M: Open 24/7, our one-stop-shop for everyday essentials, including a wide range of international magazines and newspapers, snacks, fashionable souvenirs and toiletries. And, our concierge and multilingual staff are available for assistance - anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelUp, Booking.com, Splitty, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Row NYC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing