We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“exellent location small but clean and comfy rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Row NYC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Row NYC Hotel
Ranked #338 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersGold level
southampton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“exellent location small but clean and comfy rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed at the milford for 3 nights in december
Got a cheap price for this hotel was suprised how comfortable it was for the price
The rooms are very small so is the bathroom but if like us you are out all day and only wanting it to sleep and wash in then perfect
The location is spot on right in times square we walked everywhere from this hotel it does have free internet axcess but only if you use the computers in the lobby which was handy for printing our boarding passes of for the way home
We didnt eat or drink at thr hotel so cannot comment on that but loads of restaurants around this hotel
Didnt hear any noise from other rooms I worry about this when going away
The lifts were strange you have to press your floor number on the pad outside the lift then the pannel tells you what lift to go in took us a while to realise this
All in all small rooms but really comfortable and couldnt get a better location

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank friznatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15,777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,569
    5,599
    3,045
    1,402
    1,162
See reviews for
4,332
5,155
887
1,682
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,393)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

I can find nothing appealing about this hotel other than the location. Stayed here in December for a professional meeting because it was cheaper than the Times Square Marriott Marquis, but I could not recommend the hotel. The room decor is best described as urban nightmare, the bathrooms are way too small, there were entirely too many tour groups trying to check in at the same time and the desk was constantly understaffed with disinterested grouchy clerks who kept making jokes about guests that they didn't think could be heard. A trip to this hotel will make you want to go work for prison reform and/or therapy for claustrophobia. Alternatively, I would recommend a large sedative dose from your doctor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DGfromDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowan_at_RowNYC, The Voice of Row NYC at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear DGfromDallas,

Thank you for your candid review of our hotel as well as your refreshing sense of humor :) On behalf of the hotel, please allow me to sincerely apologize that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. However, please note that since your stay in December 2013, we have transformed to become Row NYC—a distinctly New York centric hotel that is “more New York than New York.” As such, we invite you to experience all that is NY through fresh eyes: from our “urban nightmare” room décor (perhaps appropriately coined as it was designed with a nod to the NYC subway system’s colors) to our very own lobby “flash mobs” (also a uniquely NY phenomenon!). (Most) kidding aside, if you can pry yourself away from your new prison reform role, we look forward to hosting you again and, this time, showing you the side of Row NYC of which we are exceedingly proud. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and for what we paid we thought it was great,The rooms aren't massive but are adequate as all we ever use a hotel room for is sleeping and washing in,we don't tend to spend much time in them as what is the point in going anywhere to sit in your room.It would have been nice to have more room to store your clothes but on 2 walls there are interconnecting doors to the room either side of you,so this takes up quite a lot of valuable space and if you have noisy neighbours like we did for 2 nights allows a lot of noise through.On check in I asked if we could have a room on a high floor with a view and we got the 19th floor looking out over the river so it was quite a nice outlook.As others have said there is is no tea making facilities so we took a travel kettle and made our own when we woke up.
The hotel is perfectly situated for Times Square if that is what you want to be close to with entrances to Metro stations on 3 corners by the hotel.It was easy to use public transport to get back to Newark airport as well.
If you want a hotel by Times Square and you're on a budget I don't think you will go far wrong here.
I know some people have criticised the lifts but we never had a problem and never waited longer than a minute for one or stopped at more than 2 floors on our journeys.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lloydius57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We booked the Milford Plaza when we arrived it was the 1st day operating as The Row NYC. We had cupcakes on arrival and a champagne drinks reception in the evening to celebrate.
Room 2115 was ok size, with a proper door not just sliding panel for the bathroom? Did not like the fact there was a door to an adjoining room room, felt we could hear everything. Bed was comfy, tv was working and good condition and the room was clean and tidy. It is very good value for money the amount of time your in the room.
There wasn't tea and coffee facilities which was a niggle and one day the maid made the bed with remote still tucked in and we spent a good 15minutes searching for it! The bar area and lounge is modern and hip and has such a good ambience in the evening with candles and cushions and big screen showing pictures of old NYC.
I thought the lift was fine, never waited more than 3 mins max! I feel some reviews on here are a bit harsh but everyone's experience is different and there's the issue, inconsistency.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenniferxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowan_at_RowNYC, The Voice of Row NYC at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Jenniferxx,

Thank you for your very thoughtful review of our hotel. We’re so glad you got to experience the official launch of Row NYC with us and, further, that you enjoyed our celebratory cupcakes and champagne! We do hope you’ll visit us again and try our European express café, District M, for all your coffee, tea, and breakfast needs! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed here on business & hotel was perfect to get around from. Great renovation in the main area, it had a great feeling about it. Rooms were nicely done out & were spotless. The staff could not do enough to help & Junior who checked us in was fantastic & funny with it. Every member of staff we encountered was helpful & friendly. Would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire71london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

I read reviews on this hotel before we travelled and started to wonder if we should have splashed out a bit more on a better hotel- we got what we paid for really!!

At check in we were upgraded to a bigger room free of charge- I was very glad about this because after reading reviews about how small the rooms were I was worried about space! We stayed in 2314 and the room was spacious, great view of Times Square and a few theatres. The bed was very comfy, shower great, hair dryer also very good and tv with plenty of channels. The rooms were cleaned on a daily basis. Bad things were the strange sliding bathroom door which made it feel like the door wasn't ever shut! The only mirror was right outside the bathroom.

The hotel offers wifi for $14 per 24 hours or free internet access on the 8 computers in the reception area. Never waited more than 5 minutes to use the computers so wouldn't bother with the wifi! Check out time is 12 noon but we extended this to 2pm without any charge.

The lifts are crazy!! You type in the floor you want to go to and it tells you which lift to get in. On the way down one morning we waited 15 minutes!!!!!!!! As we were on the 23rd floor we weren't walking!

The bar manager is rude and obnoxious- wouldn't bother having food or drink at the hotel! We had to complain for the way we were treated at the bar on our first day, but instead of rectifying the situation they sent a bottle of wine to our room! I'm pregnant so not drinking and my husband doesn't drink wine!!! Safe to say we were not pleased with their 'solution'.

The hotel is in a great location; won't lie, you do get hassled to go on trips when you step outside but you can quickly bypass them.

Turn right as you walk out of the hotel- there is a lovely little place for breakfast; think it was called Nicole's! If not, it's some other girl's name! I had bagel with cream cheese and my husband had pancakes, bacon and maple syrup. This was our favourite place for breakfast!

Room Tip: We had room 2314- ask for it! It was a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gina130284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowan_at_RowNYC, The Voice of Row NYC at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Gina130284,

So glad you enjoyed your complimentary room upgrade as well as our Mac internet lounge! I do, however, apologize that you had a less-than-favorable encounter with a member of our staff and hope that, despite your pregnancy (congratulations, by the way!), you were able to appreciate the proverbial wine “olive branch” ;)

Our elevator system, as you accurately described, is state-of-the-art and, depending on hotel occupancy levels and the time of day, there can sometimes be a wait… Row NYC is, after all, one of the largest hotels in New York City!

We sincerely look forward to hosting you again and hope that you’ll be back to enjoy our recently-added, hotel-wide complimentary wifi and other New York centric amenities. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardendale, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Stayed here in 2003, and again in March 2014. Hotel has been totally upgraded, very modern. Room was small, but clean, and bed was very comfortable. The staff here is so nice!! They have great breakfast croissants and other baker items in the lobby restaurant. Hotel is close to Broadway shows, and subway stations. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,698 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#289 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,657 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#307 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#217 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,650 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#374 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,659 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#141 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Row NYC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Row NYC Hotel

Property: Row NYC Hotel
Address: 700 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-3901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #338 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Row NYC Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The revolutionary Row NYC hotel has pioneered a new era of individuality by meeting NYC's signature urban grit with grandeur - transforming one's stay into a completely contemporary experience. With a front row view to Times Square that's truly incomparable, our guests reside right in the middle of it all, with access to everything and anything - 24/7. Endlessly lounge-worthy, the Row NYC flaunts a spectacular lobby & statement spaces. Commissioned New York City inspired artworks electrify the atmosphere with animated light sculptures, and a digital art gallery by famed paparazzo Ron Gallela. Sitting in the bull's eye of Manhattan's most famous locales - including Broadway theaters, 5th Avenue shopping, Restaurant Row, world-class museums, Javits Center & nearby Central Park - the Row NYC is the ultimate New York City address. The hotel is ideally positioned just a few short blocks from Penn Station, the subway, and Port Authority Bus Terminal. LaGuardia, JFK and Newark airports are a 30 to 40 minute ride away. Valet & self-parking are available with convenience. The Row NYC boasts 1331 contemporary guest rooms on 28 floors, flaunting chic, Manhattan-inspired decor in white-hot hues mixed with unexpectedly vibrant custom furnishings. Other services include: Internet lounge in the lobby, Fitness studio, District M - a European express cafe, serving delicious sweet and savory pastries from NYC's finest bakeries and transforms into a chic Neapolitan pizza bar and cocktail lounge, serving hand-stretched pizzas and a curated selection of charcuterie and cheese from New York's famed Murray's Cheese Shop. Specialty cocktails, local craft beers and a live music lineup all contribute to an unforgettable evening. City Kitchen - Row NYC will also be home to a noteworthy food market. Offering cuisine from beloved New York City restaurants, it will be a way for guests and visitors to experience the city's most buzzed about food spots - without leaving the hotel. Iconic M: Open 24/7, our one-stop-shop for everyday essentials, including a wide range of international magazines and newspapers, snacks, fashionable souvenirs and toiletries. And, our concierge and multilingual staff are available for assistance - anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Row NYC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing