We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Row NYC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Row NYC Hotel
Ranked #340 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

We didn't realise actually how close this hotel was to Times Square when we were booking. When you see "Times Square" in a hotel's name on the web, you think okay it's within 10 blocks, but no, this hotel is actually 1 block from the square. At the time of our stay, the hotel was undergoing a massive renovation, but this did not take away from the fact that we had a great stay. When in New York, all you want is a place to wash and a place to sleep, but this hotel has it all, very helpful staff, excellent location, and comfortable, clean rooms.
We have booked again for the second week in March, and are really looking forward to seeing the newly renovated Milford Plaza Hotel, (the pics on the website look great)
See you soon guys..

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Páraic Ó
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16,479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,771
    5,807
    3,197
    1,463
    1,241
See reviews for
4,548
5,351
936
1,775
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,446)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
110 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for our 26th wedding anniversary. The room is a good size for NYC. The location was perfect!!!! Less than 1/2 block from the subway! 1 block from Starbucks. 1 block from Juniors deli. 1 block from time square!! The room was clean and the staff was very prompt. We had a loud youthful issue down the hall and the staff addressed it very swiftly. We were well please and would love to stay here again and again!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommycrutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

What a great place from which to explore NYC. It is a huge hotel with large numbers of school groups milling around. However, apart from the concierge service, which was of limited value, it was well run and efficient. We had a reasonably spacious, well equipped room with a great view over the theatre district, and were pleased that the beds were comfortable, and the bathroom well maintained with fresh towels every day. The breakfast option was fine, healthier than in the diners in the surrounding streets. We even encountered a great live band one evening for an hour to entertain us. Best of all, the room was quiet, even though it was near the "elevators". We experienced a fire alarm test, which meant that the lifts were turned off, thus leaving my poor husband to climb down 18 floors as the hotel failed to announce that things were back to normal.
The staff looking after the luggage were particularly friendly and helpful, but at times there were insufficient numbers of staff on reception leaving people to queue for too long. I thought their charge for wifi (14 $ per day) was ridiculous, when you can get it for free in so many restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

We have just spent the last 5 days in this hotel. Great hotel, excellent location. Its a very large busy hotel with over 1400 rooms and lots of people arriving and leaving and hanging about. Lots of groups of students or older school kids seem to stay here but that didnt bother us as we were out all day. We were on the 15th floor in a corner room which looked onto 8th Avenue. Our room was massive with a really big bed, rooms were clean and tidy and the maid came everyday. First night it was quite noisy with building work going on across the road but we got used to this and it truly is the city that never sleeps as I looked out the window at 4am and 8th Avenue was still busy with cabs and lots of people walking about. If I am fortunate enough to visit NY again I would stay here again due to the location.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room and you might get a corner room like we did !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannigan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

The location is PERFECT!! Right around the corner from Times Square, but far enough away that u r Not overwhelmed by the crowds!!! Rooms are small as expected and we were next to a room with a crying ( all night) baby but were moved the second we asked to be moved!!! You can see all of the theaters etc out of your windows!! The staff/security were very nice. Overall well worth the money!!! We are going back In March !!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenLanJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

We had an amazing holiday and Milford was part of that!
It was our first time to New York and we had done a lot of research, however after some of the reviews on here I was in two minds.
The location and the price won me over and I am so glad we stayed here!

The location is amazing, you are a stone throw away from Times Square and sitated on a lovely street with loads of dining options.

We had a corner room on the 28th floor and wow.. what a view!

The bed was the most comfy bed I have ever slept in and that is what you want after 18 hours on your feet.
The radiator was slightly noisy however just turn it off, it was lovely and warm by the time we got in and there was no need to it to be on over night.

Housekeeping was brilliant, we had a lovely clean room everyday and fresh towels.

We had one slight issue with a noisy couple opposit us but after phoning reception security was there within 5 minutes asking the couple to keep quiet!

Best holiday ever!

Thank you milford!

Room Tip: A corner room on the higher floors if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LG19862014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elora, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

We were travelling on business during Super Bowl weekend. We accidentally booked the room for one night on Expedia when we actually wanted to book two nights. When we called the hotel, they said they could not do anything about it because it was booked through a third party (i.e. Expedia). They refused to book the second night for us because they have a policy that says we have to book two nights minimum. We eventually gave up trying to give them more money and booked another hotel for the second night.
Overall the hotel was clean but the room was noisy due to the very close proximity to Times Square and poorly insulated windows. Normally I wouldn't fuss about that but we weren't there for the Super Bowl, we were working.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartyVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,831 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#307 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9,108 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#283 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#223 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,735 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#147 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,784 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#322 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Row NYC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Row NYC Hotel

Property: Row NYC Hotel
Address: 700 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-3901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #340 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Row NYC Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The revolutionary Row NYC hotel has pioneered a new era of individuality by meeting NYC's signature urban grit with grandeur - transforming one's stay into a completely contemporary experience. With a front row view to Times Square that's truly incomparable, our guests reside right in the middle of it all, with access to everything and anything - 24/7. Endlessly lounge-worthy, the Row NYC flaunts a spectacular lobby & statement spaces. Commissioned New York City inspired artworks electrify the atmosphere with animated light sculptures, and a digital art gallery by famed paparazzo Ron Gallela. Sitting in the bull's eye of Manhattan's most famous locales - including Broadway theaters, 5th Avenue shopping, Restaurant Row, world-class museums, Javits Center & nearby Central Park - the Row NYC is the ultimate New York City address. The hotel is ideally positioned just a few short blocks from Penn Station, the subway, and Port Authority Bus Terminal. LaGuardia, JFK and Newark airports are a 30 to 40 minute ride away. Valet & self-parking are available with convenience. The Row NYC boasts 1331 contemporary guest rooms on 28 floors, flaunting chic, Manhattan-inspired decor in white-hot hues mixed with unexpectedly vibrant custom furnishings. Other services include: Internet lounge in the lobby, Fitness studio, District M - a European express cafe, serving delicious sweet and savory pastries from NYC's finest bakeries and transforms into a chic Neapolitan pizza bar and cocktail lounge, serving hand-stretched pizzas and a curated selection of charcuterie and cheese from New York's famed Murray's Cheese Shop. Specialty cocktails, local craft beers and a live music lineup all contribute to an unforgettable evening. City Kitchen - Row NYC will also be home to a noteworthy food market. Offering cuisine from beloved New York City restaurants, it will be a way for guests and visitors to experience the city's most buzzed about food spots - without leaving the hotel. Iconic M: Open 24/7, our one-stop-shop for everyday essentials, including a wide range of international magazines and newspapers, snacks, fashionable souvenirs and toiletries. And, our concierge and multilingual staff are available for assistance - anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, TravelUp, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Row NYC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing