We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ever,”
Review of Easyliving-harlem

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Easyliving-harlem
Ranked #2 of 77 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Hartford, CT
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Ever,”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

As a native New Yorker who lives in CT now, it was wonderful to spend a weekend in NYC at a beautiful renovated brownstone built in the 1800's. The home is spectacular, comfortable, amazingly friendly and relaxing.You may meet very interesting people from all over the world and have incredible conversations and learn more than a few things! Or not, that's to you! The amount of privacy youbrequire is up to you. The neighborhood is beautiful with many sites to see and easy travel to any parts of NYC. The history that is abound just in Harlem is overwhelming! Don't miss Tom and Heid , they are the heart of this wonderful experience. We brought our 12 years old daughter who said " Lets always stay with Heidi and Tom!" P.S. there is no swimming pool! Lol

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheshe116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    4
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
55
125
17
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at EasyLiving Harlem! We were warmly welcomed by Monika (Friend of the owners), she was really kind to us, looked up some great vegetarian restaurants for us, and helped us with all our questions. What we read in the other reviews is not exaggerated: from the moment you walk in the beautiful house, you feel like a welcome houseguest!
We booked the small room with a shared bathroom. The room is basically OK, although a bit on the small side. Shared bathroom is new and clean. After three nights we were offered to move for the next 5 nights of our stay to one of the biggest rooms (without surcharge, like a free upgrade), with a private bathroom! This room was absolutely gorgeous, very spacious, with a nice bathroom. For the price we paid this was really exceptionally.
The house has a big kitchen, and a small garden, fantastic for having breakfast outside in the spring and summer!
The only disadvantage for us was that you easily spend a lot of time on the subway, as it easily takes you half an hour to the "tourist attractions" downtown, sometimes less sometimes longer, dependent on where you are heading. But then again: the house is located in a more quite neighbourhood, and we were usually happy to get away from the noise downtown (the constant buzz). So overall: highly recommended!

Room Tip: one of the bigger rooms if you can afford it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lautrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Tripadvisor found me a great place once again! I visited New York with my girlfriend for a week, and neither the city nor the guesthouse disappointed.

The house is located on 137th street, very close to the subway on 135th. The couple who run the place, Heidi and Tom, are incredibly welcoming, but also gives you plenty of privacy. They are really eager to give you tips about the city.

I think there are four rooms they are renting out. We had a room with kingsize bed and private bathroom. The price was 150 dollars/night, that's not bad for nyc in May! The room was huge, so we had plenty of space. Downstairs, there is a kitchen we had access to. Very nice to be able to buy and store some groceries in the house. There is a small garden were you can enjoy your breakfast if the weather allows it.

It was our first time in the city so we didn't really find the time to check out the neighborhood. There is a nice park though, by the A-train subway station.

All in all, you will get an affordable yet big and comfortable room. You will have to use the subway, but that just means you will see a lot of different places in the city.

Tip: If the weather is good, take the subway directly to Brooklyn Heights and have your breakfast at the promenade. Grimaldi's at 1 Front Street serves the city's best pizza from 11:30. Order to go.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We spent three nights in this stunningly restored home. Heidi and Tom have gone to great lengths to produce one of the most welcoming places we have ever stayed in. They (and Monica) managed to make us feel completely welcome and special, without being intrusive. The house is spotless, comfortable, open and friendly.
Heidi recommended a great local jazz bar and a restaurant. Downtown Manhattan is about 40 minutes by bus, and much faster by train.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Woke on our 1st morning in New York to the sound of Birds singing!
The peaceful neighbourhood of Heidi &Toms lovely house in Harlem was great to come home to after a tiring day downtown.
A special memory was our visit to The Shiloh Baptist Church.
Loved our stay so much will go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank anniecrissan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed at Easy Living Harlem for a week in January this year with family- all adult-
and recommend it unreservedly as the place to make a holiday in New York
perfection itself. The 19th Century house is beautifully and
sympathetically restored and furnished, with the addition of contemporary,
tasteful bathrooms and kitchen, but it's Heidi and Tom who make it home -
it was their home and ours for the duration of our stay - and, because they
are so generous, warm, good-humoured and genuine, and New Yorkers who know
and love the city, in no time we felt like locals too. The kitchen was
ours if we wanted an evening in, but there's so much to do in Harlem itself
and access from the house to anywhere in Manhattan is easy on the nearby
frequent and fast subway service. We found poetry reading, jazz, gospel
and story telling, much of it inexpensive, as well as enjoying the
well-known galleries and museums and fabulous New York food. So... book
now, make Easy Living Harlem your base and you'll thank us for this
recommendation!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LondonChris_Mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Heidi and Tom, I miss you guys. This couple of complete sweethearts welcomed me into their beautiful home and make me feel loved and safe. Thank you for giving me a life-changing experience. Harlem is a fantastic place to stay - a real NY neighborhood. It has a sense of community that I felt was missing in lower Manhattan. Heidi, Tom and Jodie, you people are so very kind and warm and loving, I miss you a lot.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BJ_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New York City
Opera House Hotel
#2 of 14 in Bronx
612 reviews
Harlem
Aloft Harlem
Aloft Harlem
#236 of 467 in New York City
705 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 467 in New York City
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#227 of 467 in New York City
4,845 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#272 of 467 in New York City
11,205 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#403 of 467 in New York City
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Easyliving-harlem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Easyliving-harlem

Property: Easyliving-harlem
Address: West 137th Street, New York City, NY 10030
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We live in a large,beautiful TOWNHOUSE and rent out 4 SPACIOUS ROOMS to travelers, who prefer this kind of accommodation to the anonymity of a hotel. Frequently guests meet with us or each other in the COMFORTABLE KITCHEN for cooking, friendly chats, tips and exchange of experiences. RATES 120 to 150 USD/DOUBLE OCCUPANCY. VERY CLOSE to MAJOR SUBWAY/BUSES. DON'T VISIT, LIVE NY!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Easyliving-Harlem Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing