We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the visit”
Review of Red 58

Red 58
Reserve with OpenTable
Red 58 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,692 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
Description: Happy Hour 5 days a week $5 well drinks, tap and bottle beer,and house wine 430-7 pm. Kitchen is open till 1 A.M. 7 Days a week. Great place for parties as well.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

After doing some research before we went to NYC we planned to visit here during our short stay and we were not dissapointed at all. We visited it on our first night and the food was fantastic (although our waiter was a litte over attentive but i suppose it's better than been agnored). Lots to choose from and not over priced. This restaurant deserves to be successful it's a hidden gem and i would certainly visit it again if i returned to NYC.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sweetcookie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    29
    14
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure!”
Reviewed December 26, 2011

We stumbled across this place by sheer luck. There was a sign outside advertising $10 for a burger, fries and a beer. The burger we received was fantastic and was worth twice that amount alone. The beef pattie was high quality and tasted delicious. To get handcut potato fries and a beer (Stella) for so such a good price was ridiculous. This place is surrounded by overpriced eatries that cater for one time tourists. I suspect Red 58 is aiming for repeat customers, judging by the service and pride they take in their food. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jkappleseed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great bloody mary's and bar food”
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Waited in line for the burger joint and finally decided to bail when we saw reviews for Red 58. So refreshing to duck into a nice bar with no crowds and no "scene." Milan at the bar was super nice and made an excellent Bloody Mary. There were not a lot of customers and he seemed to be running the waiting and bar tending. But beyond that, this was a great find.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Byrnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Exceptional find”
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Our hotel recommended this bar/restaurant and we were not disappointed. They had a very nice wine list and excellent menu choices - something for everyone.

The wait staff was very personable and the food service was fast and attractively presented. This place was worth a second visit - unfortunately we were not able to get there again during this trip; there are just so many great places in New York.

You'll not be disappointed should you give it a try.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Discerningwon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendliest bartenders in NYC”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Loved this place. It was next to the hotel I was staying. All the staff were beyond friendly and fun, I kinda wanted to hang out here instead of exploring the city! Food was pretty awesome too!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AngelaJNewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red 58 also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Red 58? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing