We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Will come back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Ranked #101 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Will come back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I visited New York twice in July. Stayed at the Waldorf on a girls' trip and then here at the Jewel with my husband. This surpassed the Waldorf in many ways. I liked the size of this hotel and the location was exceptional. I was able to watch the start of a song on The Today Show on TV and walk down to the stage by the end of the song. We took advantage of the courtyard bar in Rockerfeller Plaza almost every afternoon. Even with all this action outside the front door, the room was quiet at night. It was so easy to access the subway and get to World Trade Center (Century 21), Little Italy, The Metropolitan Museum in Central Park. We were able to walk very easily to Central Park, Columbus Circle, Time's Square, Grand Central Station, 5th Avenue Shops, Broadway and Irish Pubs all around Broadway. We were also lucky enough to be in the city for New York Summer Streets, where Park Avenue was closed to all traffic and we could walk all the way from close to the hotel to Union Square, and then we continued to down to Soho. (This even happens again on August 15-16). The room is small but big enough for two people and our luggage. The air conditioning is efficient and the bed is somewhat comfortable. Loved the guest closet next to the filtered water on each floor. If you needed anything, it was there. Wifi which was included in the price of the room was always working. Staff at the hotel was wonderful from the front desk, the bellman, the cleaning staff. The entire hotel was very clean (much cleaner than the Waldorf). We did go to the Terrace Club on our first night and would not recommend it. There is much better food and service close by. Will come back to this hotel for sure on our next visit to New York.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MKLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    855
    482
    102
    28
    31
See reviews for
330
619
106
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The location of this hotel is just perfect – literally right across the street from the Rockefeller Centre and St Patricks Cathedral just a few steps away. We stayed for 5 nights at the end of June requesting a corner room with a view. What a view it was, with stunning views of St Patricks Cathedral and the Rockefeller Plaza. Our room and bathroom were spotlessly clean and spacious with everything you could need.

Even though the hotel doesn’t have a huge reception area, the front desk staff were always on hand if you needed anything and were extremely polite and very helpful.

Guests of The Jewel are allowed access to The Terrace Club next door which I would strongly recommend using. We ate breakfast here every morning on the open-air terrace with fantastic views. It was reasonably priced and there was a great choice with something for everyone - light bites or a hearty meal, plus it was such a lovely start to the day.

We had a great time in New York and this hotel played a big part in making our vacation so special. I would recommend The Jewel to family and friends and we will definitely be making a return trip.

Room Tip: Corner room was spacious with stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoStewart64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This past weekend we stayed at The Jewel. It was exceptional. The service & amenities were top notch. It was beyond what I expected. The Terrace Club dining next door was awesome. We have been to a number of hotels in NYC. This one is #1. I highly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garygreenbaypacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

My husband and I are regular travelers to NYC. We planned a five day stay and wanted a great value hotel near Central Park with a small kitchen. We booked a room here and it did not disappoint. We don't need a lot of hand holding or direction so this place was perfect for us. We could check in and out via computer. There was a person in the lobby 24 hours per day, but it is not a heavily staffed, frilly place. If you are a savvy traveler who can find their way around this is the place for you. The kitchen was tiny but useful. The bed was comfortable. A nice bonus was the filtered water station on the second floor stocked with empty water bottles you could fill up on your own. The location is also nice, between 5th and 6th Avenues on 51st street. We also appreciated the daily maid service that was prompt and very good. We would definitely return here.

Room Tip: The second floor has a living room area with free coffee and filtered water and a television.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JIA-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I was in NYC for business again this past week and needed a convinet, clean and comfortable hotel. I checked into room 1202 with after notifying them that I would be running late. The room is the perfect size for one or two people with a queen size bed and all of the effeciant amnities I am used to at the Jewel. I had a view room which gave me a great view Radio City Music hall and a chance to people watch over looking the Club Quarters outdoor dining area. I could also see into Rockefella Plaza wich was nice.

The bathroom was HUGE and all of the amnities were stocked and ready. The bed was comfortable though I did find the pillows a bit stiff and I didn't remember that from before. The staff was friendly and helpful from check in to check out. They even arranged for a black car to drive to me Penn Station in the rain on a Friday during rush hour! A huge help.

I will be back for sure!

Room Tip: 1202 is a great corner room with floor to celing windows and a decent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGirlFromCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I have stayed in many hotels over my traveling experience. I did like the Jewel, but I was not thrilled with the price I paid for the room I got. Here are my Pros and Cons:

Pros:
* The location is great that is for sure. It is across the street from Rockefeller Center and very close to Radio City Music Hall and Times Square.
* Free (included in your hotel cost) wifi in your room and on the second floor computer centre.
* Cool fresh bottled water stations on each floor that you can take as you explore the city.
*Fairly quite hotel when it comes to sleeping.

Cons:
* The lobby is just weird. Not a big deal..... trying to act fashionable I think.
* Went in and out many times and not once did the person on the "front desk" say hi or even acknowledge me. Hotel business is the people business people.
* The rooms are small and even worse for my 360.00usd per night my view on the 3rd floor window was all of the air conditioners (room 303 is to be avoided). Of course the air conditioners ran all the time, but I got used to the noise and it was better then other NYC noises. I have to say that the room was clean, the bathroom used the space well and the shower was good. The bed mattress was very poor. Not a high quality comfortable sleep mattress. Felt more like a pull out mattress from a couch mattress ;(

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mr_disney1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights and had 3 people- it is almost impossible to find a hotel room in Manhattan for more than 2 people. We had requested a room with a chair bed- but ended up with a cot instead, but our son was happy with that- the perks and location were great. Every Floor had a water Machine and empty water bottles you could fill daily as you headed out into the city! An extra plus was a nice lounge with 2 computer work stations with printers and a Keurig coffee maker- all included with your room price. Available 24/7. There was no restaurant but so many local places right next door and within a block for great local and inexpensive New York Fare. We were directly across the street from Rockefeller Center and about 7-8 blocks from Times Square - 1 block to 5th Avenue shopping and not far to Central Park. Of course- Subway Station at the corner 1/2 block away and on the same street as Radio City Music Hall. Anywhere you stay in Manhattan is going to cost a lot. It was quiet and we were not disturbed at all- our cot was not in our room on arrival; but they brought it immediately. The bed was a King and comfortable and we would definitely stay there again. There was a microwave, coffee pot, mini fridge, dining table and the bathroom was nice. It was small, but everything is in Manhattan. A definite great place to stay in The heart o NYC but away from the noise and chaos of Times Square! We walked to all of our Broadway Shows and a Taxi back one night in the rain was about $6.00. We love NYC and The Jewel and I know we will return again!! This is absolutely a great place to check check out while staying I the wonderoua City of NY!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenHurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Rockefeller Center
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Ro...
#256 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,198 reviews
Midtown
Omni Berkshire Place
Omni Berkshire Place
#109 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,156 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York Hotel
Warwick New York Hotel
#90 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#41 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,706 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee
Hotel Elysee
#11 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,338 reviews
Midtown
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Times Square
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#75 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center

Property: The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Address: 11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019-6994
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#79 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#101 Family Hotel in New York City
#121 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is a full service hotel with 135 rooms located opposite Rockefeller Center, steps away from the famous skating rink, Christmas tree, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Saks Fifth Avenue, Museum of Modern Art and Radio City Music Hall. Minutes from world class shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Nearby restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 3 meeting and event rooms available nearby (maximum reception style 55 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Value rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing