We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely a Jewel in Manhattan!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Ranked #111 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Clemmons, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Definitely a Jewel in Manhattan!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights and had 3 people- it is almost impossible to find a hotel room in Manhattan for more than 2 people. We had requested a room with a chair bed- but ended up with a cot instead, but our son was happy with that- the perks and location were great. Every Floor had a water Machine and empty water bottles you could fill daily as you headed out into the city! An extra plus was a nice lounge with 2 computer work stations with printers and a Keurig coffee maker- all included with your room price. Available 24/7. There was no restaurant but so many local places right next door and within a block for great local and inexpensive New York Fare. We were directly across the street from Rockefeller Center and about 7-8 blocks from Times Square - 1 block to 5th Avenue shopping and not far to Central Park. Of course- Subway Station at the corner 1/2 block away and on the same street as Radio City Music Hall. Anywhere you stay in Manhattan is going to cost a lot. It was quiet and we were not disturbed at all- our cot was not in our room on arrival; but they brought it immediately. The bed was a King and comfortable and we would definitely stay there again. There was a microwave, coffee pot, mini fridge, dining table and the bathroom was nice. It was small, but everything is in Manhattan. A definite great place to stay in The heart o NYC but away from the noise and chaos of Times Square! We walked to all of our Broadway Shows and a Taxi back one night in the rain was about $6.00. We love NYC and The Jewel and I know we will return again!! This is absolutely a great place to check check out while staying I the wonderoua City of NY!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenHurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    971
    546
    129
    32
    35
See reviews for
369
725
128
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Townsend, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

This is a beautiful little hotel. Nice staff, nice rooms. It was small, but pretty and comfortable. The location was great!!! Great dining and sites all around, close to the subway and the best shopping!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front, you can look out at the filming of the Today show.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

I switched hotels from the Crowne Plaza JFK to The Jewel due to location for my wedding. The staff was great and very helpful whenever we needed anything (ear buds, towels, etc). The room is small, our TV did not work (it did not have sound), there were about 15-20 fruit flies in our shower (I took the time to count them as I was drowning them), the bed is actually two twin beds pushed together so there is a very uncomfortable line down the middle for couples, there is no fridge, and it's incredibly loud outside at night. Since it was so close to the Rockefeller Center, it's understandable. My room at the Crowne Plaza was much nicer, but way too far away from the city. I don't quite understand why this hotel is rated so highly other than the convenient location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snoopyhead101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

I really liked the hotel. It was laid out well and the decor was modern and clean. The only drawback was the bar down from the hotel. About 2 in the morning on Saturday night the drunks were being a bit loud as they left the area and the windows didn't do much to quite the noise. I suppose it is New York though, otherwise it was an great trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenox, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

This place is shown as a four star hotel on some web sites and IT IS'NT. ---Westin, Hyatt and others are bonafide four stars . This place is three max; the rooms are small cubicles, and while new, virtually everything is pure Holiday Inn in terms of thought and quality.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere that is more accurately presented.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mitch N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

My partner and thirteen year old son travelled to New York for the first time this past January. I booked 9 nights at 'The Jewel' largely due to the favourable reviews on trip advisor. We loved it! Yes, the rooms aren't massive, but they were clean, comfortable and warm (we happened to be there during the 'polar vortex'!). So close to everything, we found it a great base. We had a room with Kitchenette on the 2nd floor. The 2nd floor also offered a travellers lounge with TV, coffee facilities, internet/computers and printers (all free services). The 5th floor had a laundry (again all free) with washer and dryer. Free water stations are also available on every level. We made good use of this! The staff were knowledgable and helpful, always able to offer suggestions and advice when asked. WE LOVED NEW YORK!! We would definately stay at 'The Jewel' again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarahinoz72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

That they call this a “jewel" in my mind is ludicrous. Maybe that's because it's so tiny. This is at best a three-star hotel but my experience suggests it's two stars or less. I arrived late in the evening and found that my room was delayed in being available and I found myself waiting in what was supposed to the lobby for over 20 minutes while they tried to find me the room I had reserved. This was past midnight. By the way that "lobby" consists of four chairs in the corner and no real reception desk and is basically a hallway that leads to the elevator.

They finally found me a room on the second floor of their adjacent property (down the block about 50 feet) called the Club Quarters. Coming out of the elevator on the second floor, I found roughly 20 large sized garbage bags packed with trash and refuse. True. Next to this was a very large trolley (~five feet tall by four feet wide) of bath linens parked in the hallway. I gathered that this floor was a staging area for their cleaning staff and could not imagine they wanted their guests to see it. Or expect guests to actually stay on the floor. The air reeked of sour trash - much like the sidewalks on a warm summer night. Not what you want to find inside your hotel.

I finally was able to squeeze into my room (as the door was behind the laundry trolley) it smelled sour and stale. There was no way I could sleep in that room and be on the floor with all that trash just outside the door. So I went back downstairs to try and find another room. It was now after 12:30 in the morning. They had nothing for me and showed no interest in trying to clean up the floor or find out what the issue was. I then proceeded to find another hotel at 1:30 in the morning. In Manhattan in the middle of summer, which proved very difficult.

I would definitely avoid this hotel unless you're absolutely desperate and don't mind having such a miserable experience. There are so many great hotels in Manhattan. To enjoy the city, this is not the one for you.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kentfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Rockefeller Center
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Ro...
#255 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#90 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,131 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#67 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#128 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,304 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center

Property: The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Address: 11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019-6994
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#88 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#100 Family Hotel in New York City
#120 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is a full service hotel with 135 rooms located opposite Rockefeller Center, steps away from the famous skating rink, Christmas tree, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Saks Fifth Avenue, Museum of Modern Art and Radio City Music Hall. Minutes from world class shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Nearby restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 3 meeting and event rooms available nearby (maximum reception style 55 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Value rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing