We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in midtown Manhattan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Ranked #102 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great stay in midtown Manhattan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I would highly recommend The Jewel hotel. The location is perfect for midtown Manhattan....located on W. 51st Street, midway between Fifth Ave. and Avenue of the Americas. The hotel sits directly across the street from Rockefeller Center. Broadway shows, shopping and restaurants are all an easy walk. Central Park starts at 59th Street and that too is an easy walk.
We had the "kitchenette" room which would be perfect for two people but with three adults was very tight. It had a mini-kitchen with silverware, small stovetop, pots/pans, glassware, toaster, microwave and refrigerator. There was a huge built-in desk (which used up precious space) and two flat screen televisions.
Each floor has a water "filling station" at which they provide clean bottles that you can fill with purified water. A real plus!
On the 2nd floor they have a Business Center where you can use their computer or printer (no charge), have coffee and read newspapers every morning.
Their "sister" hotel, called Club Quarters, is just a few doors down and features a restaurant (discount given) and bar. The breakfasts were very well priced and delicious. It also features a beautiful outdoor terrace for dining which overlooks 51st Street facing Rockefeller Center.
There is no "doorman" or Concierge, but neither was needed. The staff at the front desk was always very helpful and friendly.
We would most definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaliforniaFruithi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    850
    481
    102
    28
    31
See reviews for
328
617
105
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The hotel is new and the rooms are well thought-out, very Euro-style. There's plenty of room for two people and their gear in the queen bed room. The hotel is small and I could walk up the stairs to my room. On the second floor is free coffee, very good beans that are ground for each cup, and a nice lounge area. The location is perfect, at Rockefeller Plaza, many subway lines all around. Central Park is a 6 minute jog (10 minute walk). Price was very good, around $260 +/- a night. My room was in the rear and was exceptionally quiet.

Room Tip: Rooms in rear are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fawkner, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

This is my unforgettable trip, the hotel is very marvellous, the staffs are so friendly and helful. Spa is so good. The view around the hotel is nice. The food is good and delicious.
I'll stay this hotel in my next trip

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jame W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, VA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Just steps from Rockefeller Center and the Today Show plaza, I couldn't have asked for a better location. This was my first trip to NYC. Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted and asked if we were there to celebrate anything. Traveling with my just turned 13 year old and 15 year old daughters, I told her we were there to celebrate a birthday and hopefully see Matt Lauer at the Today Show the following morning. I asked if they had any availability for a larger room and she offered us an upgrade on her! We could see part of St. Patrick's Cathedral spires and could look down into Rockefeller Plaza (Room 909). She gave us a map of the city, easy walking directions and pointed us in the direction of Central Park. We packed a ton of things into the one night we were there and The Jewel's location was the key factor. The hotel is clean, very secure (need a key card to access any of the floors) and the furnishings are tastefully modern and compact,,,they make the most out of their space! I'd have taken the pillows if I could - they were luxurious! I was pleasantly surprised that I could not hear our neighbors...I am a light sleeper and usually am annoyed by people above or next to us but what woke me up was the occasional jack-hammering in the wee hours of the morning. (I guess it really is the city that never sleeps!)

I loved the 2nd-floor coffee station where you could make a fresh cup of cappuccino should the plain old coffee from your in-room maker leave you wanting more. They also have ice-cold water refill stations on every floor. There are numerous deli's and markets offering an eclectic array of hot/cold food options as well as plenty of high-end restaurants just feet from the hotel.
If you forgot to pack something, just head to the pharmacy at the other end of the plaza! All in all it was a wonderful stay with a very welcoming staff!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisKinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The hotel staff is very helpfully, accommodating, service minded and pleasant. The hotel is situated between 5th and 6th avenue, near MoMA and just a short walk from Central Park. Very central and easy to access. Over all a most pleasant stay!

Room Tip: Choose rooms with king sized beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katerina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara on the Lake
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I stayed here on a recent business trip to NYC and found it to be a good choice. The location is excellent (specially if you need to be close to Rockefeller Center). Times Square is just a few blocks away and quite frankly that few blocks is a welcomed buffer if you are looking for a relatively quiet place to retreat. That being said, there was some construction going on in the hotel so one of my mornings began with hammering and the sound of progress. An unfortunate but necessary evil if you want to stay in a well kept hotel. I do wish someone would have told me about it sooner though.
No grand lobby here, just a counter and a friendly employee to greet you. Check in lacked privacy due to the small area but it wasn't the end of the world. The room was on the small side, but that was to be expected, and the bathroom had been recently renewed and was very clean (hat's off and thanks to the housekeeping dept). Each floor also has a guest closet that you can access for extra pillows, blankets etc. I called down twice to request an item (forgetting about the closet) and they said they would drop it off. The item never came and by the time I remembered/clued in to the guest closet it was too late. Another nice feature is the bottled water stations all over the hotel. This is especially good if you are like me and a little unnerved about getting water from the bathroom sink or just want some water to go. I didn't get a chance to check out the other amenities but will the next time. I would stay there again and recommend it to anyone who's interests take them to midtown.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelHopper97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Over all this is a nice hotel, The staff is very friendly and it is in a great location. The down side is the proposed kitchenette. In the room that we had it was only a micro and fridge. I was told after that the are other rooms with different configurations. So do ask about that if you book. the lounge with all day coffee and tea is a bonus as well as the complementary bottle water and free wifi. It is next to the Rockefeller but the subway is a few blocks away. everything is within walking distance including Times Square

Room Tip: Call hotel directly to ask about the kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Rockefeller Center
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Ro...
#256 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,190 reviews
Midtown
Omni Berkshire Place
Omni Berkshire Place
#110 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,138 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York Hotel
Warwick New York Hotel
#91 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#36 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,687 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee
Hotel Elysee
#11 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,327 reviews
Midtown
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Times Square
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#69 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center

Property: The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Address: 11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019-6994
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#80 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#101 Family Hotel in New York City
#121 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is a full service hotel with 135 rooms located opposite Rockefeller Center, steps away from the famous skating rink, Christmas tree, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Saks Fifth Avenue, Museum of Modern Art and Radio City Music Hall. Minutes from world class shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Nearby restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 3 meeting and event rooms available nearby (maximum reception style 55 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Value rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing