We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Ranked #117 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Fawkner, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

This is my unforgettable trip, the hotel is very marvellous, the staffs are so friendly and helful. Spa is so good. The view around the hotel is nice. The food is good and delicious.
I'll stay this hotel in my next trip

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jame W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    953
    542
    126
    32
    35
See reviews for
360
717
126
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, VA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Just steps from Rockefeller Center and the Today Show plaza, I couldn't have asked for a better location. This was my first trip to NYC. Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted and asked if we were there to celebrate anything. Traveling with my just turned 13 year old and 15 year old daughters, I told her we were there to celebrate a birthday and hopefully see Matt Lauer at the Today Show the following morning. I asked if they had any availability for a larger room and she offered us an upgrade on her! We could see part of St. Patrick's Cathedral spires and could look down into Rockefeller Plaza (Room 909). She gave us a map of the city, easy walking directions and pointed us in the direction of Central Park. We packed a ton of things into the one night we were there and The Jewel's location was the key factor. The hotel is clean, very secure (need a key card to access any of the floors) and the furnishings are tastefully modern and compact,,,they make the most out of their space! I'd have taken the pillows if I could - they were luxurious! I was pleasantly surprised that I could not hear our neighbors...I am a light sleeper and usually am annoyed by people above or next to us but what woke me up was the occasional jack-hammering in the wee hours of the morning. (I guess it really is the city that never sleeps!)

I loved the 2nd-floor coffee station where you could make a fresh cup of cappuccino should the plain old coffee from your in-room maker leave you wanting more. They also have ice-cold water refill stations on every floor. There are numerous deli's and markets offering an eclectic array of hot/cold food options as well as plenty of high-end restaurants just feet from the hotel.
If you forgot to pack something, just head to the pharmacy at the other end of the plaza! All in all it was a wonderful stay with a very welcoming staff!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisKinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

The hotel staff is very helpfully, accommodating, service minded and pleasant. The hotel is situated between 5th and 6th avenue, near MoMA and just a short walk from Central Park. Very central and easy to access. Over all a most pleasant stay!

Room Tip: Choose rooms with king sized beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katerina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara on the Lake
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

I stayed here on a recent business trip to NYC and found it to be a good choice. The location is excellent (specially if you need to be close to Rockefeller Center). Times Square is just a few blocks away and quite frankly that few blocks is a welcomed buffer if you are looking for a relatively quiet place to retreat. That being said, there was some construction going on in the hotel so one of my mornings began with hammering and the sound of progress. An unfortunate but necessary evil if you want to stay in a well kept hotel. I do wish someone would have told me about it sooner though.
No grand lobby here, just a counter and a friendly employee to greet you. Check in lacked privacy due to the small area but it wasn't the end of the world. The room was on the small side, but that was to be expected, and the bathroom had been recently renewed and was very clean (hat's off and thanks to the housekeeping dept). Each floor also has a guest closet that you can access for extra pillows, blankets etc. I called down twice to request an item (forgetting about the closet) and they said they would drop it off. The item never came and by the time I remembered/clued in to the guest closet it was too late. Another nice feature is the bottled water stations all over the hotel. This is especially good if you are like me and a little unnerved about getting water from the bathroom sink or just want some water to go. I didn't get a chance to check out the other amenities but will the next time. I would stay there again and recommend it to anyone who's interests take them to midtown.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelHopper97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Over all this is a nice hotel, The staff is very friendly and it is in a great location. The down side is the proposed kitchenette. In the room that we had it was only a micro and fridge. I was told after that the are other rooms with different configurations. So do ask about that if you book. the lounge with all day coffee and tea is a bonus as well as the complementary bottle water and free wifi. It is next to the Rockefeller but the subway is a few blocks away. everything is within walking distance including Times Square

Room Tip: Call hotel directly to ask about the kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

I stayed only for one night on a business trip and couldn't ask for more. Location-wise is spot on, in the middle of everything and close to public transportation for what's not nearby. Quality-wise, I think is a notch more upscale than the Club Quarters or the Affinias, for a similar price, so that's a huge plus. Size-wise....New York style, so don't expect huge suites, but spaces are efficiently managed and in the case of the room I stayed at (single with view) it even had a small studio area, and a huge plus: a terrace!. I was very pleasantly surprised when walking in into the room and found that the rooms on the 11th floor had terraces! is not that great of a view (Rockefeller Center, which is by no means the Empire State nor the Chrysler buildings) but just the fact that you have a terrace in New York is way too cool. The single room is properly labeled and I don't think it can accommodate more than one person (maybe the other person can stay in the terrace!). I also found the room to be clean and the bed comfortable. Didn't use much the facilities as I just stayed there for a sleep. A great option when traveling on business and for short stays.

Room Tip: 11th Floor facing 51st St. Terraces!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merchanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

I stayed at the Jewel facing Rockefeller for one night in April. To qualify this review, I am female, mid-30s, and since I usually don't spend much time in the hotel room I generally look for a clean, affordable, centrally located hotel.

The Jewel was a great value. It is literally just opposite Rockefeller Centre, and close to the subway. The room is small but modern, and they have used the space very well. Loved that there was complimentary wifi, lots of outlets for phone chargers, a microwave, mini fridge, and the free bottled water that numerous reviewers have mentioned.

No iron in the room, but it was available from the "guest closet" on the floor. There is also extra coffee and toiletries available from the guest closet which was great.

My only issue was that there isn't an in-room safe, but it wasn't too bad since I was there for only a night. I can't comment on the gym or restaurant availability.

The staff were very pleasant and helpful.

I would definitely stay here again the next time I visit NYC and would recommend it to both business travellers and visitors.

Room Tip: We were on the 14th floor in a corner room, would recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monsiie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Rockefeller Center
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Ro...
#257 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#71 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#90 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#130 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,252 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#96 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center

Property: The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Address: 11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019-6994
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#91 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#101 Family Hotel in New York City
#121 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is a full service hotel with 135 rooms located opposite Rockefeller Center, steps away from the famous skating rink, Christmas tree, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Saks Fifth Avenue, Museum of Modern Art and Radio City Music Hall. Minutes from world class shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Nearby restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 3 meeting and event rooms available nearby (maximum reception style 55 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Value rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing