We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal right in Midtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Ranked #101 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We bought tickets for a play and wanted to spend the night in NYC to enjoy ourselves, but we did not want to spend a fortune or stay in a dump. We found this hotel on-line and due to the low price we did not know what to expect.

The hotel is located on 51st facing the International Building of Rockafeller Center. It is a small boutique hotel. The rooms are on the small side, but they are set up great. There is a closet, a desk with two chairs and a chair with a built in tray to hold a book or a drink.

There was a microwave and a coffemaker. The room had lots of outlets, especially near the desk and the bed. Near the desk there was even a USB port you could use. There were also cables in a storage area on the desk in case you wanted to view anything on the TV.

The bathroom was set up nice and compact with a sliding door so it did not open into the room.
There is a chilled bottled water station on each floor which was very nice.

When you stay here you are also given access to the Terrace Room at the Club Quarters a few doors down where you can get a drink or have a meal.

The hotel is located in a great area. It is a short walk to the theater district and there is a couple of subway stations nearby. There is not much going on in the evening, especially on the weekend.

We can not wait to have another overnight.

Room Tip: They have discounts at the front desk for attractions in the area. Ask for a room that faces Rockaf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Glennalan4458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,902)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

851 - 857 of 1,902 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

While most of the time the term boutique hotel means a room so small it's a glorified closet, the Jewel really is terrrific. The location can't be beat and while the rooms are small the layout makes sense and gives a feeling of much more spaciousness. The service was just terrific - requests for extra pillows or a replacement hair dryer were quickly filled; while there was no concierge, front desk staff were full of suggestions and willing to make reservations anywhere. If you're looking for a reasonably priced home base for NYC sightseeing or a show, this is a great choice.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank lmandm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

The Jewel Hotel offers a great location, convenient to all of midtown. We had a room with a small kitchenette (stove top, microwave and oven, and fridge). The room was clean and quiet, the service was fine. You need to only walk one block and you're at the ice rink at Rock Center and two blocks to St. Patrick's Cathedral and all the shops on 5th Avenue. It's a perfect spot for a quick weekend in Manhattan.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I booked a single bedded room and was very pleasantly surprised when I was given a queen size bed which was very comfortable as were the pillows. The room was small, well lit and the bathroom was large and very well stocked with towels. On my floor (another pleasant surprise) was an alcove that supplied purified water and sealed plastic bottles free of charge. That's a first! I ordered room service, coffee, warm cream and a warmed cup. I received cold milk, styro cups and no sugar. I called and complained, they were very, very apologetic and replaced my order, correctly, very quickly and the coffee was very good. The restaurant gives a 20% discount to hotel guests. The hotel is excellently located right across the street from Rockefeller Center, the theatre district is blocks away and Fifth avenue and St. Patrick's Cathedral are also just blocks away. The staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. My only complaint was that there wasn't a safe in my room and I had to be taken to the sub-lobby to access my safe. I booked online and received an incredibly low price. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Virginia1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

There is really nothing more to add to the many other reviews that simply rave about this place. Given that you're right across from Rock Center anyone who criticizes the slightest detail about this marvelous hotel should have their head examined. Sure, if it was in Peoria, Illinois for the same price you could find a few nits to pick, but you can easily spend two or three times the room rate for another Manhattan hotel and be far worse off. This is the undisputed best hotel value in the Big Apple, bar none.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank metaungulate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Had everything we needed for a "quick weekend" base in NYC.

Clean, quiet (we had a minimal room #406 in the back) and were able to access theaters and restaurants in mid-town.

Sure, it's NOT the Ritz Carlton (kind of Paris-sized room) but, a wonderful price/value proposition.

PS: Check out the restaurant in the basement (MARCELLA 51 INC) - a great deal ANYWHERE and even more remarkable in this neighborhood.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimGunther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at club quarters in Philadelphia and thought I would try the one in New York. It was everything I expected. Friendly concierge staff, super fast check in. The property is very secure. The elevator is operated with your room key card, making it hard for people not staying there to loom the halls. The hotel is very modern as are rooms. You are in the heart of it all. Madison ave, 5th ave, rock center. And Times Square is around the corner.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank JbishopM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Rockefeller Center
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Ro...
#285 of 469 in New York City
1,423 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#99 of 469 in New York City
811 reviews
Midtown
Omni Berkshire Place
Omni Berkshire Place
#98 of 469 in New York City
3,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#42 of 469 in New York City
3,726 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#71 of 469 in New York City
4,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center

Address: 11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019-6994
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#82 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#99 Family Hotel in New York City
#117 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $158 - $521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is a full service hotel with 135 rooms located opposite Rockefeller Center, steps away from the famous skating rink, Christmas tree, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Saks Fifth Avenue, Museum of Modern Art and Radio City Music Hall. Minutes from world class shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Nearby restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 3 meeting and event rooms available nearby (maximum reception style 55 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Value rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing