We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SECRET JEWEL-GREAT VALUE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Ranked #113 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Lakes, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“SECRET JEWEL-GREAT VALUE”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I booked a single bedded room and was very pleasantly surprised when I was given a queen size bed which was very comfortable as were the pillows. The room was small, well lit and the bathroom was large and very well stocked with towels. On my floor (another pleasant surprise) was an alcove that supplied purified water and sealed plastic bottles free of charge. That's a first! I ordered room service, coffee, warm cream and a warmed cup. I received cold milk, styro cups and no sugar. I called and complained, they were very, very apologetic and replaced my order, correctly, very quickly and the coffee was very good. The restaurant gives a 20% discount to hotel guests. The hotel is excellently located right across the street from Rockefeller Center, the theatre district is blocks away and Fifth avenue and St. Patrick's Cathedral are also just blocks away. The staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. My only complaint was that there wasn't a safe in my room and I had to be taken to the sub-lobby to access my safe. I booked online and received an incredibly low price. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Virginia1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    985
    560
    130
    32
    36
See reviews for
376
737
130
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
488 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

There is really nothing more to add to the many other reviews that simply rave about this place. Given that you're right across from Rock Center anyone who criticizes the slightest detail about this marvelous hotel should have their head examined. Sure, if it was in Peoria, Illinois for the same price you could find a few nits to pick, but you can easily spend two or three times the room rate for another Manhattan hotel and be far worse off. This is the undisputed best hotel value in the Big Apple, bar none.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank metaungulate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Haven, CT
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Had everything we needed for a "quick weekend" base in NYC.

Clean, quiet (we had a minimal room #406 in the back) and were able to access theaters and restaurants in mid-town.

Sure, it's NOT the Ritz Carlton (kind of Paris-sized room) but, a wonderful price/value proposition.

PS: Check out the restaurant in the basement (MARCELLA 51 INC) - a great deal ANYWHERE and even more remarkable in this neighborhood.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimGunther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at club quarters in Philadelphia and thought I would try the one in New York. It was everything I expected. Friendly concierge staff, super fast check in. The property is very secure. The elevator is operated with your room key card, making it hard for people not staying there to loom the halls. The hotel is very modern as are rooms. You are in the heart of it all. Madison ave, 5th ave, rock center. And Times Square is around the corner.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank JbishopM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I stayed at the Jewel for 5 nights from the 24th Nov 2013, My first time to New York. The Hotel was excellent, receptionists were really friendly. The location is perfect and easy to get to most places/attractions. After reading some of the negative reviews on here i was apprehensive about my stay at the Jewel. Yes as noted on here the rooms are not massive but they are clean and well appointed, and have everything you need, good power shower, i pod doc, FREE WIFI for which we had no issues and a big comfy bed. Also as stated on here there is no restaurant in the hotel, but this is no issue when you have the whole of New York to explore! this is clearly noted on the website so shouldnt come as a shock! If you are wanting a big fancy hotel with fancy reception area, restaurant and bar this wouldnt be the place for you. If you want a clean hassle free base for your visit close to all the attractions i would definately recommend it. Fabulous hotel clean and modern, free bottled water on each floor. perfect base for exploring New York city. would definately recommend, and would definately stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor facing the rockerfella centre, radio city! fab view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LP123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

A very clean and functional hotel located in the centre of the city. The biggest advantage of the hotel is it's location - Rockefeller Centre. It's accessibility from the main streets like the 5th ave., Subway station, Hop on Hop off bus stops, Central Park and Times Square make it an ideal location for tourists.

The rooms are extremely well furnished and clean. The staff is very courteous and informative. The service levels of the hotel are excellent. They provide free wifi and water coolers & bottles are kept on each floor for the guests to use.

In all the experience at the hotel was great and I would recommend this hotel to all.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank alimv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

I had to spend the night for business and thought this offshoot of Club Quarters would foot the bill. Unfortunately they had very small rooms and noisy corridors. The stall was nice and helpful, but the rate was just too high for that kind of room, for $450, I could have stayed around the corner at the Hilton and gotten a much nicer room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtimson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Rockefeller Center
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Ro...
#267 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#93 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,191 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#69 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#132 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,363 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center

Property: The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Address: 11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019-6994
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#91 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#100 Family Hotel in New York City
#120 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is a full service hotel with 135 rooms located opposite Rockefeller Center, steps away from the famous skating rink, Christmas tree, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Saks Fifth Avenue, Museum of Modern Art and Radio City Music Hall. Minutes from world class shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Nearby restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 3 meeting and event rooms available nearby (maximum reception style 55 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Value rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing