We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location & hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Ranked #100 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Niskayuna, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location & hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We have been to The Jewel on 3 occasions & will be back in March of this year. Yes, the rooms are smallish but that is made up by all the other advantages. The location is perfect...just a quick stroll from the Today show & Rockefeller Center. We love rolling out of bed and quickly run down to The Today show. The rooms with the balconies give the appearance of being larger. Having the fresh water refills on each floor is an added bonus. The staff is minimal but very helpful & welcoming. The new restaurant Downstairs is excellent (best gnocchi I have ever had) . We Like to visit NYC a couple times a year & The Jewel has become our Hotel of Choice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dunnbv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    871
    490
    106
    29
    31
See reviews for
332
634
110
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We spent some time selecting our hotel, price and location were the most important aspects, the Jewel came tops. The staff were extremely helpful and courteous, our room was more than adequate and comfortable and the location, just 5 minutes walk to times square, was perfect.
This hotel could not be faulted particularly for our short stay. We did not use the dining facilities but we did have a couple of night caps in the cocktail bar which had an interesting mix of clientele.

Room Tip: The 14th floor rooms overlooking 52nd street will give great views but it will mean changing elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francochips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

The hotel is located in the center of all main NY attractions. The staff members were friendly and helpful. The one weakness is the size of the hotel and its rooms - they are quite narrow. The beds, as well, are small.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AgyDaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Location, Location, Location! This property is a mere short block from Rockelfeller Center, and a half block from 5th Ave. St. Patrick's Cathedral (undergoing heavy renovations, btw), the American Girl Place, and even Broadway attractions are a few blocks away. The staff was friendly and helpful. There is a small fitness room and free coffee on the second floor. The lobby is tiny; you basically have to check yourself in, like at the airport kiosks. There is always at least one employee there to help. You can get a discounted breakfast at the Club Quarters a few doors down from the Jewel, which is also a Club Quarters property.
We had a "Junior Suite", which was, well, JUNIOR! There was barely enough room between the end of the bed and the wall, to pass through (and we are not husky, athletic folks). The sofa bed was more of a "chair bed". When that was opened, you had to walk sideways to pass between the wall (with the TV) and the bed. The room was very long though, with a fridge, microwave, coffee maker, desk, and 2 chairs. There was free wifi too. The bathroom was OK...very few towels, but very clean. Overall, if you are looking for a quiet, clean, convenient place to stay (especially during the frigid winter temps), and can live without such amenities as bathrobes, bellmen, room service, on-site dining, then this is a great property. Also, you can fill free water bottles on each floor, I believe. Duane Reade (similar to Walgreens, CVS) is on the same block, and there are plenty of reasonably priced places to eat nearby.

Room Tip: Keep in mind that a Junior Suite is long and narrow, and the sofa bed is really an armchair that ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsKalomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkesburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Had a very nice stay here with mom and sister last year. We found a good deal/sale online and booked one night for our stay. The location is the best thing about the hotel with Rock center immediately across the street! It was SO convenient! The lobby is small but clean and nice and you basically check yourself in with an attendant to assist you if needed. Our room had a double or queen bed with a sleeper sofa and was plenty of space for a 1-nights stay for a 3 adult family. They also had a water bottle refill station down the hall that I thought was a great touch.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Spencer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shallotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We were there for two nights in January and found the hotel to be everything we needed for our stay. The location was excellent, the staff very friendly and helpful, and the price was very reasonable for NYC. The rooms were on the small side, but the efficient use of space meant that they had everything we needed and were very comfortable. I've stayed in much larger NYC hotels who's rooms were smaller than the Jewel's. When we were leaving, we used the hotel's computer to do our online check in for the airport and print our boarding passes. We had some trouble getting the printer to work so we used the phone in the lounge to call the front desk for help and within 2 minutes someone was there to help with it. There's a Mediterranean restaurant right next door to the hotel that was giving out coupons for a free pasta dish so we decided to try it and were pleasantly surprised at how flavorful the food was!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leesielocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Rockefeller Center
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Ro...
#253 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,226 reviews
Midtown
Omni Berkshire Place
Omni Berkshire Place
#116 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,204 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#93 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#42 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,772 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee
Hotel Elysee
#9 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,383 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#45 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center

Property: The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Address: 11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019-6994
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#78 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#101 Family Hotel in New York City
#121 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is a full service hotel with 135 rooms located opposite Rockefeller Center, steps away from the famous skating rink, Christmas tree, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Saks Fifth Avenue, Museum of Modern Art and Radio City Music Hall. Minutes from world class shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Nearby restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 3 meeting and event rooms available nearby (maximum reception style 55 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Value rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing