We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Location is perfect!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Ranked #114 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Location is perfect!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We booked 3 rooms for our family of 6. It was easy getting to the hotel from LGA and while we were staying there, you can walk to almost anything! The park, 5th Ave, Times Square...just great! We had an issue with a leaking air conditioner on the first night and were moved to a different room and they reduced our bill. The rooms were a bit small, but we didn't go to NYC to sleep. We would stay there again in a heartbeat! The Terrance Club next door is a great place to go for drinks. Also, it's great for shopping at Armani Exgange, Sacs, Uniclo, etc. We walked to them all. One member of our party has bad knees, but everything was so close, she was able to walk with us.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms facing the city can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madfanmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    927
    529
    118
    31
    35
See reviews for
355
695
121
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel has an amazing location right next to Rockefeller Center! The rooms are small but there is enough space for what you need out of your hotel in NYC. Other than showering and sleeping, I don't hang out in my hotel room so space is not a high priority as long as I am comfortable enough and the place is clean, which this one is. You have all amenities you may need. It is a modern boutique style hotel. I would definitely stay again in a future visit!

Room Tip: Ask ahead of time to get a room facing Rockefeller Center. If you wait until arrival it will be too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HildaMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Excellent commercial hotel in a perfect location, just front of Rockefeller Plaza. Small hotel, clean, good size rooms and friendly staff - very helpful. Ask for a room with a view (street front). Complimentary cold bottle water, really nice specially during summer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view (street front).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Walk out the door facing Rockefeller Plaza, Radio City Music Hall down on the corner. Modern rooms are small but laid out well - we were even able to get a roll-away in okay. Small lobby but there is a floor with a lounge area with computers and coffee. Small workout room and laundry.
Water bottle filling stations were nice. Refrigerator and Microwave. Also very quiet for being right in the middle of a busy city. Walked to the habour for the 4th of July Fireworks.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank musicmajmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Peters, MO
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great location for Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall and Times Square. Very small lobby and rooms, but clean and has everything you need. Lots of restaurants near by.

We were there for the Christmas tree lighting and we practically just stepped out the door and were there.

The biggest difficulty was the lack of grocery stores near by. We were looking for a bottle of wine to drink in the room one evening, went to several places and each only had about three choices.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EPGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Illinois
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband, 12 year old daughter and I stayed at this hotel for a week in early August. It was nice that we had a pull out chair (twin) for our daughter, but when you pulled it out, you had to climb over it to use the bathroom in the middle of the night. The room should have been set up differently. The carpet sorely needed cleaning and given how small the room was, the walls needed painting. They actually touched up the walls with fresh paint in a couple places before we checked in, but didn't bother to mention it. We discovered that after leaning up against the wall. The front desk people were very nice but maid service was inconsistent. Sometimes they cleaned and we received clean glasses, sometimes they didn't. We usually had to ask for a 3rd set of towels as they frequently only put 2 sets in for 3 people. The location was good if you desire to be mid-town and close to fifth avenue. It is a nice touch that they have water bottles and water on each floor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue1685911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

This hotel boutique is a charm, besides the great services offered by the kind staff. My wife and I stayed for 8 nights at the Jewel. From the instant we checked in until the moment we checked out, we we had a fantastic stay.

Very simple to check in, comfortable, modern and clean room (they gave us a room at the 14th floor) with stunning views of the Rockerfeller centre and Radio city.

Free bottled water and free wifi (nowadays only few hotels offer this type of services).

The location of the hotel is outstanding. We walked to most of the places we needed to go.

Staff were very pleasant every single day. We waited for our ride to the airport, in a very comfortable room with water, coffee and free internet after checkout free of charge.

We couldn't have had a better stay, specially being in NYC, and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Thanks to Jewel and all the staff. Wait for us in our next trip to NYC.

Room Tip: The view from the 14th floor is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodrigo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Rockefeller Center
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Ro...
#256 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#64 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Midtown
Omni Berkshire Place
Omni Berkshire Place
#103 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#87 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,002 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#35 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,097 reviews
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#77 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center

Property: The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Address: 11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019-6994
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#90 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#101 Family Hotel in New York City
#121 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is a full service hotel with 135 rooms located opposite Rockefeller Center, steps away from the famous skating rink, Christmas tree, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Saks Fifth Avenue, Museum of Modern Art and Radio City Music Hall. Minutes from world class shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Nearby restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 3 meeting and event rooms available nearby (maximum reception style 55 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Value rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing