We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Jewel in Manhatten”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Ranked #104 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Jewel in Manhatten”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Jewel for 4 nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. From the moment we checked in until the moment we checked out we we had a fantastic stay.

Simple check in, very comfortable room and stunning views of the Rockerfeller centre and Radio city.
Rooms were immaculate and cleaned daily.
Staff were very pleasant and the location of the hotel is outstanding.
Some lovely touches such as free bottled water and free wifi.

We couldn't have had a better stay and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowRedmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,025
    581
    133
    32
    36
See reviews for
387
776
131
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

It doesn't get any more central than this - 51st and 5th in midtown Manhattan. We upgraded our room to a suite and were glad we did as it provided us with just a bit more space to move around. The room was very clean and the bathroom was a nice size albeit a bit small. The bed and bedding was comfortable and of good quality. My only complaint was that the air conditioning was quite loud and we found it woke us up during the night when it was going on and off - which was a bit annoying. One other important observation is that this really what I would call a hotel - its more of a club that has a hotelling component to it so there is no onsight restaurant and no formal foyer when you arrive (just a small reception desk with self check in). Not a deal breaker at all but a completely different experience versus checking in at a hotel.

Room Tip: if they have a suite you can upgrade to, it is definitely worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Fantastic location and great, modern decore with rooms in 3 sizes and price ranges. Ideal for Manhattan bound tourists or business folk.
Helpful staff, visitor's lounge in 2nd floor has 2 free computers with internet and printer -- available 24/7, a faux fireplace with lounge chairs in one corner and another cluster of sofa chairs by a large TV screen - for gatherings with friends, relatives or work colleagues.
Across the street is Rockerfeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, NBC Studios and 60 seconds away is Saks Fith Avenue and New York's version of the Magnificent (shopping) Mile.It is also just 10-12 minutes by foot to nearby Time Square and the theater district.

No restaurant on site but who cares as there are 3 morning-lunch eateries on the block, including our favorite, Teresa's Brick oven Pizza and Cafe, 6 or more evening restaurants within 30 second walk on the block and across the road at Rockefeller Center, and dozens of well known fast food chain mini-outlets underneath by the subway. And if you need a drug store or food market, there is one on the block. Everything is just within seconds by foot.

If you need to recharge or use electricity for laptops, tablets, etc., don't worry as there are electrical powerbars and MP3/MP4 ports by the night table and also by the 5 foot long desk -- to handle any traveller or business person's needs. And of course all rooms have free wi-fi.

Finally, if your cell phone from overseas is too costly to use or you have signal isues in downtown concrete towers,-- mine worked fine -- there are 2 land lines in the room - one on the work desk and a wireless model beside the bed.

There is also a complimentary fitness room if you have the time or inclination.

Only downside is no bathtubs, just oversized showers big enough to hold two people.

PS: Breakfast-lunch eateries in Manhattan do NOT normally have public washrooms - so being able to get back to your hotel room quickly is a plus.

Room Tip: Remember this is a compact and space efficient building so it is worthwhile skipping the lowest pric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellersh7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The location of the hotel is great. Central to 5th Avenue where all the shops and designer parade of fashion is located (eg: Saks 5th Avenue) and quirky tourist shops. A 15min walk takes you to Times Square to enjoy the tourist attractions, grab your tickets to a Broadway show. further 15 mins to Central Park. A supermarket is only a few doors down.

We found the hotel to be clean and enjoyable. There was a mixed crowd of young lovely tourists waiting to enjoy the nightlife, and also couples and families. There is a sitting room for coffee, computer and printer usage, wifi is included.

Hotel decor was clean and minimal, you have everything you need.

Reception was just a table with a computer- remember space is minimal in NYC hence the bathroom is minimal but the room size for two or three people was fine. Asked for another bed for a third person and it was suffice.

It had everything we needed for a comfortable stay and the pricing was reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kpop80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

If you want a central hotel (literally a 30 second walk to 5th avenue shops) in NYC, with clean, quiet and modern rooms without paying extra for facilities you don't need, then The Jewel is perfect! The rooms are quite small, but well designed with modern furnishings and a comfy bed. The team at reception were really helpful as well. Would definitely stay here next time I visit NYC.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Good location, just off the (severely) beaten path in NY i.e., very short walk to Times Sq!

My husband & I stayed at the Jewel just one night in a room NOT facing the street - as per our request - so it was quiet enough to let us sleep in on Saturday morning. Ironically, we agreed that our room would be quite perfect for one person. It was a bit tight for two, even by NY standards. Still, it was laid out very efficiently & I liked the clean, pretty bathroom. Fine for the one night, it's my opinion that it would have been trying for a longer stay for two people.

Good snack/sandwich places super-close by as well as a massive pharmacy. We ate breakfast at the deli down the block & it was delicious.

Nice complimentary coffee machine on second floor, in a small business centre.

Room Tip: I think a room facing the street would be quite noisy. We stayed on the second flr, which was conv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bctraveller-R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel proved to be an excellent choice for our first time in New York. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the location was ideal, being next to Rockefeller Center and within walking distance to Central Park and Times Square. There were many extra touches we did not expect such as the business centre with all day great coffee, the many usb outlets and speedy internet and free laundry facilities as well as filtered water and reuseable bottles. The room was bigger than expected, comfortable and the kitchen facilities very handy. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nannyw56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Rockefeller Center
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Ro...
#270 of 467 in New York City
1,390 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#79 of 467 in New York City
732 reviews
Midtown
Omni Berkshire Place
Omni Berkshire Place
#105 of 467 in New York City
3,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#38 of 467 in New York City
3,615 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
3,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center

Property: The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Address: 11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019-6994
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#86 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#100 Family Hotel in New York City
#119 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is a full service hotel with 135 rooms located opposite Rockefeller Center, steps away from the famous skating rink, Christmas tree, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Saks Fifth Avenue, Museum of Modern Art and Radio City Music Hall. Minutes from world class shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Nearby restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 3 meeting and event rooms available nearby (maximum reception style 55 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Value rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing