We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Jewel - Lives up to it's name!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Ranked #115 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
231 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“The Jewel - Lives up to it's name!”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Excellent location,friendly and efficient staff (thanks Iris!), and comfy, clean rooms with a great shower. The lounge and restaurant in its sister property, Club Quarters is worth sipping a beverage or enjoying a breakie on the 7th floor terrace. Best value for your accommodation dollar in mid-town Manhatten.

Room Tip: Windows that open - a treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yukon Landcruis... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    985
    562
    131
    32
    36
See reviews for
376
739
130
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

An "Ikea-like" room -very modern and efficient. The living room on the second floor was an added bonus-coffee, computers and charger stations. You can just walk outside and be on the Today show! Very convenient location.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joawel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are spacious by NY standards, every room has access to free water bottles and filtered water, and there were ironing boards and irons available in the hall. The only real complaint is that the beds were a bit hard and the shower had very little pressure. The location is right by the 30 Rock tower though which is great.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chips5ahoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambler,
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This hotel is in the center of tourist territory in safer midtown, a great choice for beginners and theatre goers alike where many sites are a short walk away. We got it through travel point redemption program and decided to give it a try. Masculine appointments and decor show it is catered to more the business traveler. Odd steel rod at the edge of the mattress poked through the bedding was the only drawback to an otherwise stiff but comfortable bed. Reception was manned by a friendly greeter by a minimal desk and computer. Clean amenities and free distilled water a plus especially if you plan on walking everywhere. The lack of character is made up by the cleanliness and efficiency. No doubt this is a well run and cared for facility. All of the adventures are outside of this corporate hotel to enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors if facing 51st and Rockefeller Center noise would be a concern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Captcuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I recently stayed one night at the Jewel and was not impressed. Although the hotel is perfectly located that's about all I liked about it. The room was dark, very small and the bed was rock hard. The room had everything you really need but to me is not a boutique hotel. There was one chair in the room but it had a stain the size of a melon on it and I really didn't want to sit on it. The only boutique thing about the Jewel is the size.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCNYC2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
175 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The Jewel is a boutique hotel between 5th and 6th Avenues right across from Rockefeller Center, which puts you close to the theatre district, the 5th Avenue shopping scene, Central Park, and other historic sites. The hotel is small and rather informal; instead of a front desk, for instance, the staff greets you at the front door sitting on stools in front of computer monitors. The lobby is practically non-existent, but there's a second floor "living room" for hanging out in (free coffee available all day). Wi-fi is also free at the hotel, throughout the property, which I find a useful perk. The rooms are small, but the design uses the space very well, with a desk, chairs, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker all nestled in their places and lots of drawers and shelves for putting your things away in. I regretted that there was no in-room safe, which is always helpful in NYC. Nice bathroom. The design throughout the room is elegant and modern. I'll stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the back of the hotel. No view, but very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSD57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed here with my girlfriend for 5 nights mid May this year. The room was as in the pictures and the location was perfect for us, as this was our first stay in NYC and we wanted to live close to everything that we as tourists wanted to see and do. With 5th avenue, Rockefeller center, Times Square, Central Park, and Broadway just a short walk away, it couldn't fit us better. We also found a nice salad bar on 51st street 50m from the hotel, a Magnolia bakery just two blocks down on 6th av, and several nice places to eat breakfast just by the hotel. Very friendly and service minded staff. The free water service on each floor, as much coffee you can drink in the room (just pick up more in the cupboard by the water cooler), fresh towels and linens each day if you want, and clean rooms/hallways/common areas we couldn't really ask for much more. The living area on the 2nd floor was a nice touch too.

There was one small glitch I'd like to comment on. When we got there the girl greeting us (whom we did not see again) tried to move us to the hotel next door claiming there was no room in the main part, but after being a bit persistant she found one for us which even had a view (901). Later found that they had several rooms free. This made us feel a bit weird. This particular girl wasn't at all nice, but as I've said we did not see her again, and the rest of the staff more than made up for her slightly snippy attitude. In the room we also had a bit of a miss hap as it had been painted an hour or so before our arrival. Ended up with paint on clothes, suitcases etc, but the other girl at the front desk was quick to fix everything, order dry clean etc. She was the one we talked the most to after this, and if you read this - hi - and thank you again for making our stay so great. You're a star!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 901 which was in the front. I saw a lot of people recommending this due to the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexnorge78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Rockefeller Center
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Ro...
#266 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#90 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,197 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#70 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#132 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,371 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center

Property: The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Address: 11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019-6994
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#93 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#100 Family Hotel in New York City
#120 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is a full service hotel with 135 rooms located opposite Rockefeller Center, steps away from the famous skating rink, Christmas tree, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Saks Fifth Avenue, Museum of Modern Art and Radio City Music Hall. Minutes from world class shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Nearby restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 3 meeting and event rooms available nearby (maximum reception style 55 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Value rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing