We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in the heart of NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Ranked #111 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in the heart of NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We selected the Jewel based on reviews submitted by other TA contributors and stayed there four nights. When we arrived we were warmly greeted. Because we requested a room on a high floor, we were offered (and accepted) a room on the 18th floor of the Jewel's adjacent/associated facility called Club Quarters. Although it appeared from street level that the Jewel's rooms had floor to ceiling windows and might be a newer hotel, we were very satisfied with the room we were given at Club Quarters. As are most hotel rooms in NYC, it was small. However, we found it very clean, comfortable, well maintained and to have all the amenities we wanted (in-room coffee, a working free wi-fi, etc.). Throughout our stay, we found the staff to be very helpful and responsive. A nice benefit of staying at this facility was that it also has on the 7th floor a terrace restaurant and bar that served good drinks and meals in a very friendly and comfortable setting. Because we were tired after a long flight and shuttle ride getting to the hotel in the early evening, we were glad the first night not to have to leave the Jewel, walk several doors down the street and enter another building to get to this 7th floor restaurant. We would definitely stay here again, perhaps requesting the highest floor available at the Jewel itself (instead of Club Quarters) to see what it it like. Again, the location of the Jewel/Club Quarters can't be beat and we recommend it. A final comment/example concerning hotel staff responsiveness -- late the second night of our stay the room smoke alarm started "chirping" due to a weak battery. We contacted the front desk and within minutes staff came to our room to fix the problem and apologize for the inconvenience.

Room Tip: Be aware that the Jewel and Club Quarters are two different affiliated hotels separated by several h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    971
    546
    128
    32
    35
See reviews for
368
725
128
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Room was extremely clean, had everything in it that was needed.Bed very comfortable, even the chair bed was! Hotel facilities were excellent,laundry room,water fountain & free bottles to fill up on every level.The staff,especially Iris on front desk were exceptional @providing a 5star service.Location superb.This review is from a fussy traveller so for it to be so good it really is a great hotel that offers value for money.

Room Tip: 5th floor is good room 501, 502, both close to elevator but you do not hear the nosise from it, also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerreljerrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Clean, quiet and great location. There are numerous sights and restaurants close by. Staff are knowledgable and polite. You will not be disappointed if you choose the Jewel. See, i told it was a very simple review.

Room Tip: Go high for better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

The name really fits! They have a friendly, knowledgeable staff that went out of their way to assist. The rooms were immaculately clean. Combined with the location, this a "jewel" in every sense of the word!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Risa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed here recently. The rooms were very clean and the staff was friendly and very helpful. Provided directions and recommendations. Obviously, a great location. Will stay at this hotel again for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Staff is friendly and polite, always happy to help and give directions when asked. location is great just by Rockefeller plaza and 5th ave so it is easy to get around, subway close by as well. Rooms are modern and in great shape and in general it was a great experience. I will go back to the Jewel Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

The location is perfect and I love how as soon as you step out you are in the Rockefeller Center. You have 5th avenue right there which is great! I really enjoyed my stay with my family and it was a great experience, definitely coming back to stay here when I am in NY. The staff was GREATTTT especially Lira and Lauren very helpful and super nice. The room was very nice and clean. I definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adushja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Rockefeller Center
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Ro...
#255 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#90 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,131 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#67 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#128 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,304 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center

Property: The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Address: 11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019-6994
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#88 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#100 Family Hotel in New York City
#120 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is a full service hotel with 135 rooms located opposite Rockefeller Center, steps away from the famous skating rink, Christmas tree, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Saks Fifth Avenue, Museum of Modern Art and Radio City Music Hall. Minutes from world class shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Nearby restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 3 meeting and event rooms available nearby (maximum reception style 55 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Value rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing