We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A shining gem of a jewel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Ranked #84 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is a fabulous little hotel in a great location in New York. The rooms are spotlessly clean and stylishly decorated. Great amenities and all complemented by excellent staff. Everyone we met went out of their way to assist us to the greatest extent possible.

Reading some other reviews about the minute size of the rooms I have to disagree. We booked a standard city view room and had ample space and a generous bed. I have stayed in many hotels in New York over the years and this was the best size room for the money.

On my next visit to the Big Apple this will definitely be the first hotel that I check for availability.

One little downside, no in-room safe. The hotel did provide a deposit box for us but it will only take small items. So leave your tablets at home or invest in a carrier.

Room Tip: Pick a city view room. Great to have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChampagneGeraldine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,040)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,163 - 1,169 of 2,040 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

Probably the smallest room I've stayed in - ever, but everything needed is included. Location is fantastic – literally 30 seconds from Rockefeller Center, St. Patricks, and Radio City. Short walk to Times Square and the Theaters. Service was great. Rooms very clean.

Take advantage of the Terrace Room for breakfast – a couple of doors down and hotel guests have access plus 20% off - $12.xx for breakfast buffet 7 floors up and with outside seating when weather is good. Ifit’s the right time of year go for a balcony room – well worth the extra cost and surprising large – 2 chairs and a small table plus room for more.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koho26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed at The Jewel for several nights in early April 2012. The room was miniscule - really- I was staying there just by myself and I am not a very big person but - this was one tiny room. Having said that - I did indicate that I was staying there as single person and would take a small room for a lower price. The amenities within the room were excellent - everything functioned very well and I had a nice view of Rockefeller Plaza. Nice TV and bed was uber comfortable. The hotel felt safe and it certainly has a great location (walking distance to Central Park, Times Square, Lincoln Centre) - very close to the subway. There was a nice cafeteria style eatery just a few doors down from the hotel.

Room Tip: I think I had the smallest room in the hotel - but the price was pretty reasonable. I think the pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ninaoctober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at the Jewel for 2 nights for the lighting of the Rockerfeller Center tree,it's location was perfect for our short trip to New York and was excellent for the tree's festivities and with a short walk to the Radio City Music Hall and Rockettes show.
Our room was small but efficient for our needs and free internet,tv and bottled water. IPhone charger docks and usb docks were in the room as well.
Staff were very helpful and answered any questions concerning our travel around the city.
Hotel price to stay was high but you get the convenience of a perfect location.
There is a diner located along side the hotel with great breakfast value!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nasoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

FANTASTIC location, very good price. Very clean, neat, modern room- all needed amenities and appliances. A closet in the hall with all extras- water bottles, bedding, pillows, coffee, etc. Free wifi. Works for singles and couples.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MMouseMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We booked this as part of our 5 day visit to NYC. I was with my wife and her parents who have some luxury tastes, so was a bit nervous about booking a smaller hotel (I didn't want to put 'budget hotel' as this would not do The Jewel justice!). However, I was pleasantly surprised.

For the amount of time you are in the room when visiting NYC, this hotel was perfect, it was clean, the staff were friendly and it had everything you need to nip in and out of the hotel; coffee machines, hairdryers etc etc.

If you were planning on staying in the hotel more often, then maybe this is not for you, but a perfect base for travellers who like to eat out and use the room for sleeping and getting ready to go back out!

The location is perfect, right smack bang in the middle of Manhattan, a stones throw from the Rockefeller, Fifth Avenue and Radio City and ten minutes from Times Square, Central Park and the Empire State Building. You will need a subway to go downtown, but the subway station is 5 mins walk away.

Loads of restaurants nearby for breakfast, lunch and dinner; I would recommend Bills Bar and Burger for that authentic NYC feel - right opposite the hotel.

I can't recommend this place enough. I may never get the chance to go to NYC again, but if I did, it would be this hotel that I chose.

Room Tip: Floor Two is good as the coffe making facilities are on there, but there are facilities in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is a newer, contemporary hotel in an amazing location. The rooms are slightly small (though not out of line with other NYC hotels) but very well appointed and immaculate. Nice "living room" on second floor with free coffee, espresso, and lattes and guest computers/printer. Bottled water and closet with extra towels and other often-forgotten items on every floor made us wonder why all hotels don't have that. Perfect hotel with reasonable rates for couples exploring NYC.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank musicalarchitect75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Rockefeller Center
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Ro...
#279 of 473 in New York City
1,494 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#106 of 473 in New York City
897 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#68 of 473 in New York City
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
3 West Club
3 West Club
#372 of 473 in New York City
146 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#130 of 473 in New York City
585 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#66 of 473 in New York City
5,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center

Address: 11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019-6994
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#70 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#71 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#116 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $151 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is a full service hotel with 135 rooms located opposite Rockefeller Center, steps away from the famous skating rink, Christmas tree, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Saks Fifth Avenue, Museum of Modern Art and Radio City Music Hall. Minutes from world class shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Nearby restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 3 meeting and event rooms available nearby (maximum reception style 55 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Value rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing