We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 1 night stay for the money.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Ranked #99 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Took my 18 year old daughter for a day of theater and dining in New York. We tend to stay outside Manhattan to get a good hotel buy. However The Jewel made staying in NY very pleasant. Walking distance from Radio City Music Hall and Times Square and across from the Rockefeller Center. Small fun rooms with everything you need for a one or two days stay. Don't expect anyone fussing over you. This is a relaxing no-fuss hotel with a nice Terrace Restaurant, room service, pleasant employees and happy guests.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donjuvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,904)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,056 - 1,062 of 1,904 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

This is a great find and we will be returning.

The facilities are 3* but the friendliness and the quality of rooms are better than most 4*s we stay in.

When we say the facilities are 3* we mean that there's no bellhop, swimming pool or some of the other 4* periphery but this shouldn't put you off in any way if you want a good boutique style hotel.

As soon as we arrived we had a good impression, the girl on the desk was charming and welcoming - she put us in room 1402, a great corner room overlooking Rockefeller.

The room is smallish, but more than acceptable for a city centre location. Our bed had about 18" from one side and the foot to the floor to ceiling windows. I have a major issue with heights and was twitchy about this as we were on the 14th floor, but 30 mins later no probs.

What we really liked though was that about 40% of the available space was given over to the bathroom. A great and spacious shower with good lighting around a sink with plenty of room for 2 people to move around each other.

The only reason we haven't made this a 5* review is that the restaurant/bar in the basement isn't integrated into the hotel system - it should be!! Yes yes I appreciate that it's an autonomous business but the space is owned by the hotel and both parties would benefit hugely from this.

There's a lot of options in NYC, but we would go back here without hesitation.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WonderingAboutTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This hotel was selected by a colleague, so I wasn't certain what to expect. And frankly, the lobby raised some concerns because it's quite small and a bit peculiar (I'm not accustomed to seeing the clerk's back and computer screen) but I quickly appreciated the design and amenities.

First, the room was very well designed. Furntiure fit well, and functioned even better. I was unhappy to not find an iron in the room until I discovered their central 'closet' of things you normally have to ask for - like extra coffee supplies, iron & ironing boards, extra pillow, etc. You simply help yourself to what you need. An excellent idea!

Then, the second floor 'living room' with complimentary espresson/cappuccino machine, paired with the refillable water bottle stations on each floor. A very nice touch that's easy to use and a real benefit.

I would strongly recommend The Jewel.

A note to their management: travelers often need things that they can't take with them, like aerosol hair spray and starch or other liquids. Perhaps the 'guest closet' concept could be expanded to include a place for guests to donate these things instead of having them thrown away each time. Just a thought.

The only weak spot of The Jewel is the restaurant. It's a tapas bar, really not a restaurant. You have to go down the block to a sister property for real meals and breakfast.
Perhaps a continental breakfast in the 'living room' would be more convenient.

Room Tip: Don't expect a view. Even the rooms that have one don't really have one. But considering the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank abgwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband an I traveled to NYC this summer as part of a trip to New York State. We decided to try a different hotel due to location and cost. We chose the the Jewel and were not disappointed. The location, first off, is unbeatable. Right across from Rock center. The lobby was small, but inviting and sparling clean. Our room was immaculate. It was small, but very comfortable. We had to change elevators to get to our floor with a pass key, which really was a great way to provide security. All this for under 200.00! I looked and saw the prices have gonr up.Oh well. By the way, did I tell you about the frrr self serve coffee. Amazing!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NOREEN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed in the Jewel prior to Christmas and found it the ideal base for exploring the city. There is no restaurant or bar, but who goes to NY and eats in the hotel anyway!!! Theres a lounge on the first floor with coffee and tea, and free internet access and printers for reservations / boarding passes etc.

The room was excellent, comfortable and spacious, and the free water on each floor was a real bonus. All in all I'd definitely return here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CorkRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great experience, excellent location, great staff and service. Room was well appointed and clean, seemed larger than other rooms in NYC. I like the fact that your room key is needed to have the elevator go to your floor, great security feature. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Armando L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We checked into the Jewel Hotel this previous weekend to attend the antique shows that occur this month,as we have each of the past several years. Room "deals" are often available during January and we felt the price we paid for this hotel was a good one. The rooms are small but clean and very efficient. We were quite comfortable and although the decor is not luxurious, it was fresh and met our needs. However, we encountered a few problems during our stay. When we arrived, their computer system was down, so we had to go down the street several doors to check in at a sister hotel, and then return to The Jewel. Also, there was a lovely lounge on the second floor with coffee available, except that the machine was malfunctioning. In the 45 minutes I waited, they were not able to get it working (although it was working later in the day). And on the morning following our second night, there was no hot water. By 10:45 am when we checked out, it was still not repaired. The front desk staff was "matter-of-fact" about the problem and didn't offer any "consolation prize" (e.g. coffee voucher down the street, voucher for a slightly reduced rate on a future stay). We left feeling we might check other options before returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveling_Nana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Rockefeller Center
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Ro...
#284 of 469 in New York City
1,424 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#97 of 469 in New York City
815 reviews
Midtown
Omni Berkshire Place
Omni Berkshire Place
#96 of 469 in New York City
3,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#45 of 469 in New York City
3,740 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#69 of 469 in New York City
4,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center

Address: 11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019-6994
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#80 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#99 Family Hotel in New York City
#117 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $156 - $519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is a full service hotel with 135 rooms located opposite Rockefeller Center, steps away from the famous skating rink, Christmas tree, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Saks Fifth Avenue, Museum of Modern Art and Radio City Music Hall. Minutes from world class shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Nearby restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 3 meeting and event rooms available nearby (maximum reception style 55 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Value rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing