We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Perfect for experienced NY visitors.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Ranked #108 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
california
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect for experienced NY visitors.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I come to NY about once a year and this hotel is ideal for anyone who's semi familiar with the city. I wouldn't rec'd for first time visitors since there's not much staff to assist you if you need help. The front desk is staffed by one or two young woman at a time, and while they were nice, I suspect some first time visitors might want a little more customer service.

What I love about this hotel is that it has everything you need for a comfortable stay in NY. The rooms are large by NY standards (people who are complaining about the "small" rooms have obviously never spent much time in NY hotel rooms). My room had an empty fridge, microwave, and coffee machine. There was a desk with convenient plugs for my laptop, phone etc. The free water is a huge plus, I'm constantly looking for water when I travel and it's incredibly convenient to be able to walk out of my room and fill up a bottle of water.

The location is both a plus and a minus. It's located facing Rockefeller Center (I know, go figure) and a block away from St. Patrick's Cathedral. In other words, smack in midtown. While I know most people find this convenient, I actually prefer to stay a little further downtown to avoid the tourist crush. I kept accidentally wandering into Times Square, which I hate, but I guess most people who visit NY want to be close to 5th Ave and Times Square.

Be aware that while I stayed in the main tower, there are also apparently rooms at the Club Quarters 2 doors down. I have no idea what the rooms are like in that tower.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calgirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    827
    473
    101
    28
    31
See reviews for
318
601
103
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed 5 nights at this hotel in September when we were in town for a friend's wedding. The location is simply fantastic. As mid-town as it gets. Right off 5th Ave and block from Saks.

The hotel itself is very clean and modern. The rooms are spacious. The WiFi is complimentary. There are a few nice touches, such as a clean bottled water station on every floor, and a convenient locker where guests can grab an iron, ironing board, supplies for coffee-maker (in each room).

The only issue I noted is that the water pressure in the shower is abysmal. Gravity is pretty much the only reason the water pours down at all.

For $300/night or less, I very much recommend grabbing this hotel. If it's more for the dates you need, then get something a little less perfectly located and spend $10-20 a day on cabs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sypiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Great location in the centre of it all, friendly staff, although I never felt very "warm". The room was nicely done, and was a real home for the few days we spent in NY this time. The room was a bit small, but fine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZweMarko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Terribly low water pressure! If you like a robust shower in the morning, this may not be the place for you. We had 3 rooms, on two different floors and this was the first thing we talked about every morning at breakfast... We think they've maybe taken 'saving water' a little too far, for our crew in the Jewel's sister property, Club Quarters, located two or three doors down, had great water pressure. Other than that, the rooms are small but very efficiently laid out, so you won't suffer for the space savings.
On the positive side, The Jewel is / has ...
Clean
Very Quiet (ask for a room in the back of the hotel, not facing Rock Center)
Comfortable
Friendly and Efficient Staff
Free (and fast!) Wireless Internet
Fast Check-In / Check-Out
A great free Latte' / Espresso / Cappucino machine on the 2nd floor

Room Tip: Business travelers, if you want quiet... get a room at least on the 8th floor or higher and ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Augusthelmsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This hotel has been open for about a year. Great location at Rockefeller Centre. Close to everything. Rooms are typical NY rooms - small in size but very practical use of space. Very clean. Staff was very friendly. Also very quite. Great for a couple - not sure about families.
Will stay here again!

Room Tip: Don't expect a room with a view. Go to Top of the Rock for that photo op.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler2011011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Staying in NY in a good hotel in August is quite expensive. Once you have assumed that, you will find that the price of the Jewel is fair enough. The location couldn't be better, just one block away of the Rockefeller Center. The rooms aren't big, but have plenty of ammenities.
A great place to stay at a reasonable price (in comparison to others).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anatowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level Contributor
147 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I have stayed at several Club Quarters properties and The Jewel is another solid find. They offer an updated room with basic amenities for a reasonable price. If you are looking for Marriott or Hilton level amenities then do not stay.

This is a great location right across from Rockefeller Center and central to business and tourist activities. Times Square is a short 10 minute walk.

Room Tip: Request high floor to minimize street noise if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skiguy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Rockefeller Center
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Ro...
#252 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,169 reviews
Midtown
Omni Berkshire Place
Omni Berkshire Place
#110 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,093 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee
Hotel Elysee
#12 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Warwick New York Hotel
Warwick New York Hotel
#79 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,684 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,634 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#17 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center

Property: The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Address: 11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019-6994
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#84 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#101 Family Hotel in New York City
#121 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is a full service hotel with 135 rooms located opposite Rockefeller Center, steps away from the famous skating rink, Christmas tree, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Saks Fifth Avenue, Museum of Modern Art and Radio City Music Hall. Minutes from world class shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Nearby restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 3 meeting and event rooms available nearby (maximum reception style 55 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Value rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing