We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a Jewel in Manhattan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Ranked #91 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2011

The Jewel really does face Rockefeller Center. The location is amazing. It sits right between 5th and 6th Avenues, so was within walking distance to everything. We only took the subway for one adventure and never bothered with a cab.

Our corner room had two windows. Out one was Rockefeller Center and a lovely roof-top garden. The view from the other was St. Patrick's Cathedral on 5th Ave. Wow. The room itself is a study in efficiency. It is barely wider than the bed, but by cleverly using pocket doors there was a good-sized closet, bathroom (shower - no tub) desk, chair, ottoman, fridge, and microwave. Ice and a small work-out room is on the 5th floor, chilled water stations are on every level, and the 2nd floor has a living room with computers and printers. There is wireless internet throughout.

The service was great. We arrived on the red-eye and parked our bags, then hit the town. When we returned in the afternoon they brought the bags up promptly. Check-in and out were a breeze.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lstolen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,954)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,461 - 1,467 of 1,956 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2011

We were able to check in early, received a discount at the little terrace restaurant next door and we just steps away from Central Park, Times Square, Rockefeller Center. I'd stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Staci G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

A few of my friends and I flew into NYC for the weekend to celebrate my bachelorette party, and it was such a great place to stay! I've been to the City a number of times, and this was one of the best places I stayed. The staff was so friendly and helped us find great places to spend our time! The suite we were in was really nice- 2 BR, 2BA, great views, a little kitchenette and living space. Exactly what we needed and a really great size for an NYC hotel! As guests of the Jewel, we also got VIP treatment at the neighboring rooftop bistro/bar and had a great time there too! Great place, great people- we all agreed that we'd definitely return here again!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TemporarilyTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

My wife and I enjoyed our stay very much. The location was perfect and made travel very easy with a subway station a few blocks east.

Also, this was perfect walking distance to times square but far enough away to avoid the crowds and the noise. Plus, rockerfeller center is literally accross the street!

Great place, great value, we would go back again!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaimeCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our 1 year anniversary. This hotel was perfect. We have stayed in many other hotels in the area, but we always like to try new places. This place was super clean, very friendly staff, beautiful views from our hotel room, and all around great hotel. My favorite feature was the water bottle stations on each floor. Usually we spend a ton on bottled waters when we travel, but here they are FREE and unlimited. I also like the fact they have a closet on each floor with extra towels, blankets, pillows, etc. So, instead of having to call the front desk or going down to the lobby, you just go to the closet on your floor and help yourself--like you are at home! Perfect. We now recommend this hotel to all of our friends and family when they travel to NYC. It was prime location for all of the Broadway shows. It was GREAT!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pagetravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

This hotel has amazing staff! We got help with anything we asked about. This was our first trip to NY, so we had a lot of questions! This hotel's location was perfect. Close to the subway, restaurants, and attractions. There is free bottled water on every floor, and this hotel is environmentally friendly. They give you the choice of new towels and sheets during the stay. We also felt safe because you have to activate the elevator with your room key, so not just anyone could get on the elevator and have access to the building.

Room Tip: 2nd floor has computer access and living room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Iowagirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

This hotel was absolutly perfect. we were staying in a standard room on the 14th floor (out of 15 floors). We had never stayed in new york before and had heard the hotel rooms there, as a standard, were pretty small so our room exceded all expectations as it was bigger than alot, if not all, the hotel rooms id stayed in previously. It was spacious and airy and served as a perfect home away from home. We stayed for 10 days so it was important that we were comfortable.

The rooms were cleaned daily, to a very high standard. Linens were cleaned apon request, daily if you wanted and towels replaced daily also.

It had a microwave, mini fridge and coffee maker in the room. we didnt use the microwave but found the fridge really handy for keeping drinks and milk (although provided for coffee, we bought more for cereal).

On the second floor there is a living area which is very comfortable and clean. a place were you can go to use the computers, use the printer, read the newspapers provided, have some complimentive coffee or just relax out of the room if you needed it. The hotel also has complimentary wifi which was so handy for checking things out on our ipods from the room. also there is complementary bottle water on each floor, which was great.

The hotel was in the perfect location for us. within walking distance of times square, right across from the rock (where there is a lovely bar to go at night if you don't want to venture to far at night). There is a pharmacy/ convenience store on the corner of the block which was very handy! Subway station a block away and another a few blocks over, very handy for getting to downtown manhattan or uptown. Within walking distance of central park aswell and right between 5th and 6th avenue! All that and its on a quiet street! Couldnt have asked for much more really.

The staff were all very friendly, apon arrival and throughout our whole stay.

Another thing i must add is, because it is a small hotel there is no waiting on the lift at all, its almost instant! i read in other reviews of hotels that there could be quite a long wait for the elevator because of the number of floors and guests, definatly not a problem here.

Over all, it was excellent. I can see this hotel becoming very popular (as its relatively new) and we were very lucky to have gotten to stay there at the rate we did. we got a bargain!

would stay again and would recommend with confidence to anyone i know, and hope to be back myself.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank larkoui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Rockefeller Center
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Ro...
#285 of 470 in New York City
1,438 reviews
Midtown
3 West Club
3 West Club
#366 of 470 in New York City
145 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#95 of 470 in New York City
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#110 of 470 in New York City
4,478 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#67 of 470 in New York City
5,511 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#105 of 470 in New York City
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center

Address: 11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019-6994
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#75 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#117 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $159 - $510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is a full service hotel with 135 rooms located opposite Rockefeller Center, steps away from the famous skating rink, Christmas tree, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Saks Fifth Avenue, Museum of Modern Art and Radio City Music Hall. Minutes from world class shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Nearby restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 3 meeting and event rooms available nearby (maximum reception style 55 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Value rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing