We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

City Sightseeing New York
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.00*
and up
City Sightseeing New York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
More Info
$64.00*
and up
The Sightseeing Flex Pass New York City
More Info
$109.00*
and up
The Sightseeing Day Pass New York City
Ranked #129 of 627 Tours in New York City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Enjoy the best of the Big Apple using a single convenient ticket! Sit back and relax while our knowledgeable tour guides describe the history and background of New York City. This is an opportunity to immerse yourself in full New York City experience, all from the comfort of a double-decker bus. Plus, with unlimited hop-on hop-off access you can take your time exploring as many of the neighborhoods and sites as you’d like!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

The hop on hop off tour of Manhattan was well worth the money.We bought our tickets very easily from a guy in Times Square. We opted for the 48 pass, which we made really good use of. If you make your first journey the evening tour of the city you can really get your monies worth from the ticket. One of our guides was a man called Brian who really brought the neighbourhoods we passed through to life. Some of the tour guides were real comedians. Save yourself some shoe leather and let the bus take the strain.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Enid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,757 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    815
    714
    464
    313
    451
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Use a different company if possible.”
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Yes, this company takes you to all the sights but I found that it was one issue after another, and it wasn't just me who had troubles. "wait outside our building for the bus" said the lady I got the ticket from, eventually a bus comes along to tell me I have to walk elsewhere to get on it. You go to several of the stops marked on the map and get told by the greyline man who is waiting there that you have to walk somewhere else. It rains so the guide sits inside (which I'm pretty sure is against the law). Every time the driver/guide change you are made to get off the bus (so you can give those people a tip) only to board the same bus to continue your journey and tip the new driver/guide. The majority of the staff seemed fed up with tourists, maybe it was due to the bad weather or maybe they just need to get out of the service industry. Like I said, you will see the sights but it will take forever with all the enforced bus changes and cost you a fortune in tips.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not the greatest company to tour NYC”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

This company is okay, nothing special they drop you at the sights you want to see and pick you up. When the people at the stops sell you the tickets they make it sound so great but when you are at the major stops like statue of liberty and empire state building there is quite a long que to get back on the bus and usually the top is always full. They over pack the bottom if your lucky but if you get a guide that is sticky they will make you wait for the next bus. Waiting times for buses is not too long. Some guides are knowledgable and others just talk about how tips are so important and how we should all tip because they depend on them. Obviously if the ride and guide is great or excellent they will recieve a tip but if all we hear about is how you want tips, it is really not worth while. Brooklyn tour is great, you cannot get off the bus but there is an hour sight-seeing tour that tours the city.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Way to See the City”
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We purchased the 72 hour 3 attraction tour. Excellent way to see all of Manhattan. The tour guides were knowlegdable and funny. Definitely, recommended.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank JKSBlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Watch who you go with....”
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We did the 3 day CitySights NY Hop-on Hop-off. It is a wonderful way to see the City, especially if you are pressed for time. We do this in all the major Cities we visit if it is available.

We would not go with this Company again. The main reason is that their buses do not have a downstairs area to sit and it is not covered for the rain. I was traveling with 2 seniors and they were very uncomfortable climbing the stairs and having to sit in the rain. Ponchos were given out thankfully - but that didn't help from getting wet when it decided to downpour. The other thing I didn't like, was the fact the Tour Guides CONSTANTLY told us to leave them and the driver a tip. The more they harped on it, the less likely we were in the mood to leave that tip! It amazes me that each Tour Guide has a different stat to say when going by something. An example being - going through Times Square, 1 Guide says there are 500,000 people that come for News Year Eve - another says 1 million and then another says 250,000. Which is it?? I do enjoy when the Guide has a tidbit to share along the way outside of the usual information. There were 2 Guides we didn't like because they were not in a good mood and it showed. We hopped off the bus we were on and caught the next one.

The Tours themselves are great and as I said before - it is the best way to see the City. Do exactly like it says - hop off / hop on - stay as long as you want and then a bus is there about every 20 minutes to pick you up.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank lilley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Sightseeing New York also viewed

 

Been to City Sightseeing New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing