We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Watch who you go with....”

City Sightseeing New York Hop On - Hop Off
Book In Advance
More Info
$109.00*
and up
The Sightseeing Day Pass NYC
Ranked #124 of 598 Tours in New York City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Enjoy the best of the Big Apple using a single convenient ticket! Sit back and relax while our knowledgeable tour guides describe the history and background of New York City. This is an opportunity to immerse yourself in full New York City experience, all from the comfort of a double-decker bus. Plus, with unlimited hop-on hop-off access you can take your time exploring as many of the neighborhoods and sites as you’d like!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Watch who you go with....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

We did the 3 day CitySights NY Hop-on Hop-off. It is a wonderful way to see the City, especially if you are pressed for time. We do this in all the major Cities we visit if it is available.

We would not go with this Company again. The main reason is that their buses do not have a downstairs area to sit and it is not covered for the rain. I was traveling with 2 seniors and they were very uncomfortable climbing the stairs and having to sit in the rain. Ponchos were given out thankfully - but that didn't help from getting wet when it decided to downpour. The other thing I didn't like, was the fact the Tour Guides CONSTANTLY told us to leave them and the driver a tip. The more they harped on it, the less likely we were in the mood to leave that tip! It amazes me that each Tour Guide has a different stat to say when going by something. An example being - going through Times Square, 1 Guide says there are 500,000 people that come for News Year Eve - another says 1 million and then another says 250,000. Which is it?? I do enjoy when the Guide has a tidbit to share along the way outside of the usual information. There were 2 Guides we didn't like because they were not in a good mood and it showed. We hopped off the bus we were on and caught the next one.

The Tours themselves are great and as I said before - it is the best way to see the City. Do exactly like it says - hop off / hop on - stay as long as you want and then a bus is there about every 20 minutes to pick you up.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank lilley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    766
    675
    438
    285
    424
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
discovery bay, ca
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very rude people”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

I would not recommend this company. We purchased tickets for the evening tour so time was limited. The people you purchase the tickets were very nice. However, when you go and stand in, the people are very rude and unprofessional. You wait in line and when the bus comes in you all pile in but there is no one there taking count of the number of people who enter the bus so when the bus is full you won't know until everyone is still standing with no seats to sit in. So everyone else has to pile out and go back in line. Buses come every 20 minutes so after waiting for the 3rd bus we were out of time!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank wine2love2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

We booked a three day all loops tour and were sorry we committed ourselves. The tours are oversold by street touters and it is difficult to get a seat with a view or a bus for that matter! We had to stand in long queues waiting and most times had to sit on the bottom section which offer no views or picture opportunities.

Don't blame the guides or drivers (although one staff member was very condescending to people on the bus) - the management needs to look at numbers of tickets sold and look after visitors to New York. We have travelled for 9 weeks in North America and this is our worst experience by far. If you want a bus tour, do yourself a favour and go on the City View tours as they are not as crowded and have more buses. Gray Lines New York need to take a serious look at how they treat tourists (as some of their staff do).

Better still, walk, use the subway or buses as we did when we became so frustrated by this company and their service! Grays New York are symbolic of the service and general treatment of tourists in this city.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
8 Thank Graeme C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Bus Guides in NewYork”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

At first we tought that $54 was an expansive bus trip "All Arond New York", but when we found that it included 5 trips and NY Museum it's a very good deal valid in 48hours.
- Trip 1: Lower Manhatten with ChinaTown, WTC (we hopped off here)
- Trip 2: Upper Manhatten with Harlem & Central park (Where we walked one hour)
- Trip 3: Brooklyn Tour (we did not have time for that.)
- Trip 4: Evening / by night tour Manhatten & Brooklyn. (Wonderful views from bridge)
- Trip 5: Boat trip on half round Manhatten + Statue of Liberty. (Really Good, too)
- Free entrance to the NY City Museum in Central Park.

There are 2 bus-companies and the main difference is that the Red-buses does not include the $29 boat-trip while the Blue-buses (which we selected) has that included.
Start at Times Squere. Here there are lots of salespeople for these trips and this is where they start. Buy from them in Yellow- jackets. They sell the Blue Bus tours.

The guides very both funny and interesting but you do not remember that much they tell you. It was raining on one trip but we all got "Rain-cover" for Free.

Enjoy your stay, Frank-Werner (from: Norway)

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank FW-Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
59 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Too few buses for too many riders”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

We bought the 72 hour pass and should have just taken the 48. It's a great way to see all of Manhattan but getting off and on isn't really an option. Most people stayed on the bus the entire trip (both uptown and downtown) and if you were waiting at a stop that wasn't the beginning of the tour, there wasn't room to get on. The workers on the street weren't helpful once you had a ticket; their only concern was selling to more tourists. Also the blue buses stop running a lot earlier than the red Gray Line tours so while we were walking because our buses were no longer running, it seems like a million red buses were all over the place.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank baloney56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Sightseeing New York Hop On - Hop Off also viewed

 

Been to City Sightseeing New York Hop On - Hop Off? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing