We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot - Thoroughly Recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
East Village Suites
Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband, sister and Mum stayed four nights in the one-bed apartment. The apartment was comfortable, clean, albeit a little compact for four people requiring three separate beds - but as we'd booked just one week before arrival (we were let down last minute by a previous booking) we knew what to expect!

The apartment itself is very well presented with high ceilings, exposed brick walls, nicely decorated, spotlessly clean, super comfy beds, ample storage, all mod cons, full bathroom, kitchen, including W/D. We definitely got value for money.

The location was ideal - lots of great cafes, bars, restaurants within stumbling distance: Lavagna and Perbacco were our faves followed by drinks at Dorian Gray. Plenty of delis/supermarkets (Key Food, Union Market, Whole Foods) for those key essentials are located within a couple of blocks radius. We didn't actually cook anything in the apartment during our stay - we took advantage of what all the nearby eateries had to offer!

Chris was really helpful and always on hand with any questions or queries we had. Booking, check-in, and check-out was straightforward and easy. So all in all I wholeheartedly recommend East Village Suites and will definitely book with Chris for my next trip to NYC.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aisling B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
There are newer reviews for East Village Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 146 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

We booked in January and sent deposit. Recieved email confiming we were booked into a 2 bedroom 2 bath for three nights in May for 5 adults. April we checked to see what details for checking in where going to be and recieved an email back that Chris FORGOT to put us on the schedule and now all his units of that size were booked. He did offer to crowd the 5 of us into a 1 bedroom with 1 bathroom and he would stick some beds in the living room. We could not see five adults stuck into this situation for three nights. He said he would try to get something but never showed much of an effort. We finally got our deposit back and he says he offered a solution at that time, but that is not the thruth. Chris sounds like a really nice person while he is trying to get you to book with him, but was very difficults to get to return calls or actually show an interest in a bad situation caused by poor managing of scheduling.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
6  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My manager and I stayed in NYC for a week on business and could have stayed forever. Chris was the perfect host, full of warmth, charm and very willing to help us with any info we needed for trekking the Big Apple. What a welcome. We chatted in our suite for like old friends..he is such a delightful personality ! We found the suite to be extremely clean, beautiful and was the perfect size for us with 2 bathrooms (an unusual bonus in NY) Also, the beds were so comfortable we wished we could have packed the mattresses to take home! Of all the places we have stayed in our travels through Vegas, London, Ireland, Toronto, etc... this is by far the best and with the best hospitality. We will definitely be back to stay with Chris again and again...and again. Can't recommend it enough !! THANK YOU CHRIS for everything ! Looking forward to seeing you again. Love & Light. Paula Roberts & Heather Mountain

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather_Mountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We were a family of 2 adults and our 2 young adult children staying in NYC for 12 nights in February. The East Village Suites Apartment 5L proved to be an excellent choice in location, the standard of the accommodation and value for money. Our apartment was relatively quiet and spacious for New York with 3 bedrooms, a separate lounge/kitchen and 2 bathrooms. It was a great place to retreat to after a long day of shopping or sight-seeing - there was even a washer and dryer. The location was excellent, close to many great restaurants and the subway a 7-10 minute walk away. Our last visit to NYC we had stayed Midtown and were keen to have a more 'authentic' experience for our second trip. The East Village had this in abundance.
Booking and check-in was simple. We arrived the day after a big blizzard had closed down all the airports, which meant that the family who were staying in the apartment before us had not been able to leave. This wasn't a problem since Chris, the host, gave us two 2 Bedroom apartments for our first 2 nights. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the East Village Suites to our friends and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband and I and another couple stayed here this week. Brilliant apartment, clean, pretty, lots of space and storage, well-equipped kitchen. Close to lots of great bars and shops. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank emmabmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

It started with some contradictions about the address where we were going to stay. That already made me a little bit suspicious. Arriving at JFK he told by phone we had to go to yet another address. We could not go to the initial address because of problems with the owner.
Once at the new address he told us that we could only stay one (1!) night, that he would try to find something else, but no guarantee. We have three (3!) children. This apartment was nice, clean, but too small for 5 people anyway.
After some time he came back telling he had found an alternative. Being suspicious in the mean time I asked the phone number of the newer address. I called the owner and she told me that she could not host us for the whole period. He told us we had to take this alternative, because we had to go the day after. "It is this, or on the street" in his words. So again, after 1 night, I was on the street with my 3 children!
When we told him he had to reallocate the next people, we would not move, he started looking around again. He found something else (the day after), smaller, cheaper, but nicer and the owner was really willing to help. We didn't trust Chris anymore so we were happy to move and happy to tell we survived Sandy.
Reading the previous comment his overbooking problem is a habit. Money is his only driver. If nothing goes wrong at his side, you probably will have a good time in NY. But you cannot count on him. His help is only based on solving his own problems, it is not about helping you.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Ro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just got back from a fantastic trip and stay in NYC! Honestly can't fault the apartment we had, there was 4 girls on the trip and it was fantastic having two bedrooms and two bathrooms for the same price (if not cheaper) than the cost of 1 hotel room for the same about of time! Chris was lovely and made us feel at home straight away! Also the location was perfect, east village is full of pubs/bars and plenty of shops for all necessities! We walked into upper manhattan each day, didn't take too long and got to see all the sights on the way!
I would Definately recommend this apartment to everyone!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jaimie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#189 of 468 in New York City
697 reviews
East Village
The Gatsby Hotel
The Gatsby Hotel
#375 of 468 in New York City
53 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#79 of 468 in New York City
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Bowery Hotel
The Bowery Hotel
#133 of 468 in New York City
638 reviews
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#82 of 468 in New York City
666 reviews
East Village
St. Marks Hotel
St. Marks Hotel
#395 of 468 in New York City
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Village Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Village Suites

Address: Avenue B and East 4th street, New York City, NY 10009
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 163 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Hotel Class:3 star — East Village Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your East Village Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Village Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing