We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“overbooking: booked 7 nights and kicked out after 1” 2 of 5 stars
Review of East Village Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
East Village Suites
Tienen, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“overbooking: booked 7 nights and kicked out after 1”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

It started with some contradictions about the address where we were going to stay. That already made me a little bit suspicious. Arriving at JFK he told by phone we had to go to yet another address. We could not go to the initial address because of problems with the owner.
Once at the new address he told us that we could only stay one (1!) night, that he would try to find something else, but no guarantee. We have three (3!) children. This apartment was nice, clean, but too small for 5 people anyway.
After some time he came back telling he had found an alternative. Being suspicious in the mean time I asked the phone number of the newer address. I called the owner and she told me that she could not host us for the whole period. He told us we had to take this alternative, because we had to go the day after. "It is this, or on the street" in his words. So again, after 1 night, I was on the street with my 3 children!
When we told him he had to reallocate the next people, we would not move, he started looking around again. He found something else (the day after), smaller, cheaper, but nicer and the owner was really willing to help. We didn't trust Chris anymore so we were happy to move and happy to tell we survived Sandy.
Reading the previous comment his overbooking problem is a habit. Money is his only driver. If nothing goes wrong at his side, you probably will have a good time in NY. But you cannot count on him. His help is only based on solving his own problems, it is not about helping you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Ro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    39
    10
    6
    11
See reviews for
72
13
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just got back from a fantastic trip and stay in NYC! Honestly can't fault the apartment we had, there was 4 girls on the trip and it was fantastic having two bedrooms and two bathrooms for the same price (if not cheaper) than the cost of 1 hotel room for the same about of time! Chris was lovely and made us feel at home straight away! Also the location was perfect, east village is full of pubs/bars and plenty of shops for all necessities! We walked into upper manhattan each day, didn't take too long and got to see all the sights on the way!
I would Definately recommend this apartment to everyone!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Jaimie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We chose East Village suites as we wanted to have accommodation which was suitable for a small child i.e. self catering, seperate living room...
We were met at the apartment by Chris and so begins the beginning of a beautiful relationship!

All joking aside, this visit was differentiated by Chris and his family who were the perfect hosts.
Generally, reviews are about the accommodation but Chris and his family were so unique in how they treated us that most of the review is about them. It's reassuring to know that there are still people like this out there.
If we're lucky enough to visit NY again we will definitely be looking them up. I've gladly passed on their details to anyone I know going to NY..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thegodmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We didn,t get as many rooms as we have ordered. The following -up of our well-being after Sandy was slow. . Nearby restaurants are very good and the neibourghood feels warm and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in the appartment. it was well funrnished and clean. It was a bit noisy because of the trafic during the night. The beds werv verry good!!!
we had everything to have a perfect stay after a long day of sightseeing new york.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank helmut T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed with a family. It was vey nice, like a home. A good place to stay in New Yoek, if you are travelling with kids. It was very clean and the service was good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Klaus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#175 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 563 reviews
East Village
The Bowery Hotel
The Bowery Hotel
#90 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 565 reviews
East Village
St. Marks Hotel
St. Marks Hotel
#381 of 478 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Gatsby Hotel
The Gatsby Hotel
#411 of 478 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 16 reviews
Lower East Side
Orchard Street Hotel
Orchard Street Hotel
#334 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#100 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Village Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Village Suites

Property: East Village Suites
Address: Avenue B and East 4th street, New York City, NY 10009
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 194 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Village Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your East Village Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Village Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing