We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Food and Cozy Atmosphere!”

Il Punto Ristorante
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Punto Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #81 of 14,285 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 38th Street
Transit: Bus stop on the block of the restaurant on 9th Avenue and corner of 38th Street. On 42nd Street - A,B,C,D, E and F trains nearby.
Description: Your escape to Italy is here, in Midtown Manhattan, at Il Punto Ristorante. Our lunch and dinner menus feature fresh, homemade pastas, seafood, poultry, and veal. Accompany your meal with a selection from our wine list, and a delicious dessert! Il Punto features a main dining room, a full Bar, and two small dining rooms perfect for private events, meetings or celebrations. Buon Appetito!
Reviewed December 21, 2013

My mom and I were staying in midtown. It was difficult to get a cab because it was rush hour on a weekday. So, we walked to Hell's Kitchen in a light snow. We were cold and wet when we arrived. Once we entered the restaurant that was behind us. We were a little late for our dinner reservations, but thankfully it was an early reservation (5:30) so when we arrived late the restaurant was still just coming alive. It's a cozy little restaurant! We were immediately greeted by our server, Rafael. He was wonderful. We chose the pre-theater dinner menu ($75/each). The courses kept coming and each course was brought by a server who took the time to describe the course. During the meal, the manager and Rafael were checking on us to make sure that we were attended to. The food was AMAZING! I would definitely recommend this restaurant. Make sure you leave plenty of time if you are going to the theater (1 1/2 hours - 2 hours) so that you aren't having to rush through your meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank NiceFLTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkt2010, Owner at Il Punto Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

"Amazing" is always our aim! Thank you for your kind words. We love when families dine with us, so it's wonderful to hear that you and your mom had an enjoyable evening. We'll be sure to let Rafael know about your review — this will make his day!

It sounds like you tried the Chef's Tasting Menu and yes, we would definitely recommend planning to stay at least 2 hours for this eleven course meal. We do offer a much shorter 3-course prix-fixe Theater menu for theater-goers with less time to spend with us.

Thanks again for your positive feedback!

Happy Holidays,
Letizia B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (991)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

632 - 636 of 991 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2013

We read about II Punto in the Welcome magazine but did more in depth research before eating there. We booked a reservation on Open Table. Our table and staff were ready when we arrived and took excellent care of us throughout our visit. We received a complimentary appetizer before the meal, which was a nice touch. The portions are small but probably more along the size that we should be eating at any meal. The food was outstanding, the presentation was creative and original. Our waiter and the manager, Antonio. were helpful but unobtrusive. Would recommend this restaurant to any one wanting to enjoy a quiet meal with attentive service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DoulaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkt2010, Owner at Il Punto Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Thank you so much for this fantastic feedback. We always want our guests to feel taken care of throughout their entire meal, we're glad you found our service to be excellent and our food outstanding. Reviews like this really make our day!

We are happy you had such a memorable meal and hope to see you again next time you are visiting in NYC. Until then, happy holidays!

Cheers,
Letizia B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

This has to be one of my favourite dinners in 2013! What a delightful experience.

From the starter to entree to the desert, everything was perfect. Even the wine, which is usually served to cold in the US, had the perfect temperature.

Portions were at the right size too (and I was very hungry).

Staff was extremely skilled too. Well done. Will return anytime I'm in NYC again.

Yes, price is high, but it is well worth it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank thenitai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkt2010, Owner at Il Punto Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Thank you for this wonderful feedback! We're honored to impress such an international traveler. To hear that "everything was perfect" including the wine temperature is such a compliment. We also appreciate your compliments to our staff. So glad to hear you had a great experience with us!

Happy Holidays,
Letizia B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Food was delicious but the portions were tiny and also over priced. My salmón was about half the size of a normal filet. Nice staff and great experience until the check came.

Thank 1Traveler5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkt2010, Owner at Il Punto Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

While it's wonderful you enjoyed our food and service, I'm sorry you thought our prices were too high for the portion size. We pride ourselves on using only fresh ingredients — in fact, our pastas, breads, sauces and desserts are all made in-house. We believe the high quality of our Italian dishes accurately reflects our pricing.

That said, we'd never want you to feel like you didn't get what you paid for. We apologize you were disappointed with the portion size. Menu items do vary in size. Feel free to ask your server what he or she recommends next time! Thanks again for this feedback, and we hope to see you over the holidays.

Warm regards,
Letizia B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Trust the chef's recommendations. You will not be disappointed. The wait staff is engaging and attentive. Quieter than most Manhattan restaurants. Do need a reservation.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BethG383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkt2010, Owner at Il Punto Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thank you for your kind words! We're so glad you enjoyed the chef's recommendations and that our service was "engaging and attentive". We do recommend guests make a reservation, however they are not required. Walk-ins are always welcome, we do our best to accommodate all guests as soon as we can.
We hope to see you back here soon.

Happy Holidays,
Letizia B.
Il Punto Ristorante

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Punto Ristorante also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Il Punto Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing