We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extraordinary!”

Il Punto Ristorante
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Punto Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #78 of 13,619 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 38th Street
Transit: Bus stop on the block of the restaurant on 9th Avenue and corner of 38th Street. On 42nd Street - A,B,C,D, E and F trains nearby.
Description: Your escape to Italy is here, in Midtown Manhattan, at Il Punto Ristorante. Our lunch and dinner menus feature fresh, homemade pastas, seafood, poultry, and veal. Accompany your meal with a selection from our wine list, and a delicious dessert! Il Punto features a main dining room, a full Bar, and two small dining rooms perfect for private events, meetings or celebrations. Buon Appetito!
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
151 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Extraordinary!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

What a wonderful experience! You can go the classic Italian route or try one of the Chef's Creations, which are all extraordinary. I tried scallops with hazel nuts and shrimp with onion gelato. And then, because I couldn't resist, I savored every bit of an extraordinary dessert involving mascarpone and amaretto. I dined with five others, all of whom were extraordinarily pleased. The waiters are fun, non-intrusive, and informative. The owner seems like a lovely gentleman. The decor is pleasing, and on this very cold night, the restaurant was toasty warm. I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marabel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    483
    211
    63
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midland Park, New Jersey
1 review
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

From the moment we made our reservation to the end of our visit, we enjoyed every second. The management and staff could not do enough to make our experience more enjoyable. The salads and pasta dishes that we ate were inventive and so delicious. Everything was so fresh. The atmosphere was lovely. Service was perfect...not too slow....and not too hurried. If you are looking for a great meal before attending theatre, this is the place. It is a short walk to the theatre district, but out of the way enough to slow down the city pace. Wine list is great too. Great value. As a diner here, you feel your business is appreciated. We will surely return!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tennismom123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown Ontario
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rome in New York”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Eating in Il Punto Restaurant in New York City is like eating in Rome. The charmingly attentive waiters in starched shirts, the cosy but elegant decor, and the absolutely fabulous food transported us back to Italy. We started with a Carmelized Onion Gelto salad recommended by our waiter. It was innovative, light, and delicious. My friend had difficulty choosing between the ravioli stuffed with braided short rib in a wild mushroom cream sauce or the lobster ravioli in pink cognac sauce. She chose the latter and oohed and aahed over every bite. I had the branzino over creamed broccoli with carrots. It was mouth watering. The bill for two including three glasses of wine, one coffee but no dessert was $140.00. A real bargain for such gourmet level cooking. We'll be sure to return. You can visit their website.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gail021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Another Smashing Success”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was our second time dining at Il Punto in three months. This time, with the cozy restaurant all decorated for the holidays, it was very homey. Once again our waiter, Fabio, made sure our wines were paired to our seafood and beef selections, and did a thorough job orienting us to new things on the menu, including a "back page" of specials, all original creations of the chef. Since our first visit a new chef has come on board straight from Southern Italy. He came out to see how we enjoyed our stuffed artichoke hearts and Chliean sea bass. The vanilla gelato with pistachio dusting was a delightful way to end a perfect meal. We highly recommend Il Punto for its imaginative menu and impeccable, low-key service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewLatitudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Simply the best”
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

The best italian restaurant Ive ever been. All the dishes are great. The staff is awesome. Is just a real italian restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Mària J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Il Punto Ristorante also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Il Punto Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing