We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly”
Review of Capizzi

Capizzi
Ranked #117 of 13,838 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Midtown
Description: Old Fashioned Wood Burning Brick Oven Serving Beer & Wine
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very friendly”
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

A small charming authentic northern italian salad and pizza restaurant. We had the specials. Salad was mozzarella, cherry tomato, artichoke, roasted red pepper, basil, and speck. Fresh.
Pizza had light crust with arugula, pecorino and romano with speck. Really good but only 12 inch. We enjoyed the friendly warm service and nice italian music

Helpful?
Thank Ronpariser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    876
    368
    100
    36
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“What a great little pizzeria!”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Situated in a tiny little shotgun-style building, there are only about 15 tables in the whole place. you can literally see and smell the whole kitchen when you walk in. The feeling of a well-loved neighborhood restaurant is apparent when you sit down and relax in the ambiance. Quick friendly service deliver absolutely delicious pizzas. While not cheap ($21) for a deluxe pie, no drinks or alcohol, is not the cheapest, this is probably among the best pizzas in NY, and I've eaten a lot of pizza while I've been here. I had the asparagus, cherry tomato and pine nut pizza (wowza!) which was wonderful. Please enjoy this little gem and keep them in business until I can get back to NY and visit here again...

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Everett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tip hunters”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Very good, tasty food and friendly service, but... Our nice and relaxed evening was literaly ruined after our service guy stopped us at the exit and said that service was not included in the final price (as if we didn't know it) and we should give him more tip. Of course it were "completely up to us", but he was so disgustingly persistent that we felt really forced to give him more money. The evening was ruined. Will never visit Capizzi again, there are so many other pizzerias in NY.

Helpful?
6 Thank asp1r1n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capizzipizza, Owner at Capizzi, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
I am truly sorry about your experience at Capizzi. I pride myself in my service and would appreciate it if you could possibly give me a little more information about the night. Please let me know the date and time you visited Capizzi. That will allow me to talk to the wait staff that was working that day. I apologize for them in advance and promise you that I take this very serious and will address the problem immediately. Please let me know if you would give us another try because I would like to buy you and another person lunch/dinner. You can email my office manger Celia back at celiakost@yahoo.com or call me directly at (917) 681-5095
Thank you
Joseph Calcagno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best pizza”
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

This has got to be the best pizza restaurant in New York , service fantastic and the food was delicious. I would certainly recommend going if you have time.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank netty232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

The pizza was very good, service was excellent! Salad very fresh. Great atmosphere in a quaint little restaurant. Felt like I was in Italy. Excellent!

Helpful?
Thank Beachydix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capizzi also viewed

 

Been to Capizzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing