We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A ninja turtles heaven”
Review of Capizzi

Capizzi
Ranked #109 of 13,630 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Midtown
Description: old fashioned wood burning brick oven serving beer & wine
Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A ninja turtles heaven”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Im still looking for the best pizza and this is close to it. Tiny little pizzeria in Hells Kitchen area...the area can look a little rough but its worth the walk to it....the pizza and wine is super. Very trad restaurant and just so cute.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank McGerver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    840
    347
    97
    33
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
mississippi
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“great pizza”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

i stopped by with the wife for a quick bite. the pizzas are on the small side but taste really good.

the pepporoni are thick!!!!

i will go back and would recommend this place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank popedaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not good”
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Read reviews and thought i would try it. The service was quick but the pizza was undercooked very sloppy n wet in the middle and very over priced i think

Helpful?
1 Thank Melhow3010
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
“An exceptional Italian New York Experience!”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Shannon, the waitress, was great. All her suggestions were fantastic. She was smiling and cheerful and really seemed to care about how we were doing. The starter special with buffalo mozzarella and Prosciutto ham was so tasty. Our pizzas were incredible. The dessert was amazing and the Sangria really good. In short we could use a lot of superlatives about this great little restaurant. Definitely don't miss this experience away from the main tourist areas of Times Square. The Beatles music made us feel at home! Thank you Capizzi.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A really nice place to eat”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We were looking for a place to eat a nice Italian meal near the Port Authority before heading out of New York. Myself and my wife were starving but wanted something tasty. Capizzi's was perfect. Its frontage was understated but on the inside it was lovely. An old style Italian with friendly staff. The salads and pizza's were first class. The prices were very reasonable. You could share a salad & pizza with a class of wine and leave full but knowing you got great value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capizzi also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Capizzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing