We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem tucked around the back of Port Authority”
Review of Capizzi

Capizzi
Ranked #106 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Midtown
Description: Old Fashioned Wood Burning Brick Oven Serving Beer & Wine
Coopersburg
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A little gem tucked around the back of Port Authority”
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Stumbled across this place after a cold walk from the Cutting Room on East 32nd. Hungry and thirsty and in need of some TLC (Ronnie Wood only played an hour) this little place did not disappoint. Small, narrow and busy but the friendly staff made us feel very welcome. Restaurants with a purpose and a heritage don't usually disappoint. The heritage of the owners is a part of the menu and told with pride by the staff. Their specialty are thin crust pizzas and they don't disappoint. We had the Prosciutto and Arugula and it was delicious. Washed down with a glass of Shiraz it was the perfect combination. All glasses of red wine are priced at $8.00 so it takes the decision rightly right down to what tastes best for you. A satisfying meal, presented with love in a relaxing atmosphere leaving us to ponder one question. Will Keith join Ronnie and Mick this weekend? By the time you read this the answer will probably be apparent.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    875
    367
    100
    35
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best pizza in New York City”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

What a delight! Located near our hotel on West 40th St., we picked up a flyer on our first day and couldn't resist to go back.
Located in 'Hell's Kitchen' on 9th in Midtown, it has a very authentic Italian pizzeria feel. A cosy and warming atmosphere awaits in a small restaurant, which seats only
around 30.
The pizza was truly stunning, with a sort of 'create your own' option available the choice is endless. The ingredients were obviously fresh, and the mozzarella was marvellous. Waiting staff were very friendly also.

All the family devoured their chosen pizza and we had a great time at Capizzi's. A must for anyone searching for authentic pizza in NYC.



Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenandoah, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good pizza”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Good pizza, nice little building with a brick fire pizza oven, very friendly workers that are always checking back with you. It looks like it always busy, but they do good job of accommodating people who come in. Must be a good date restaurant as there were quite a few couples eating.
After coming across some restaurants who don't really seem to care if you are there, they are nice here and thank you for coming. I would and will come back

Helpful?
Thank Greg8944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful pizzeria close to the theaters”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

On a recent visit to NY to take in a play, we enjoyed a wonderful dinner at Capizzi. It is conveniently located near the theaters. The menu consists of only pizzas, salads, a few apps., and desserts. It is a small, very clean, authentic Italian pizzeria restaurant. We arrived around 6:00 pm, on a Sunday evening, and there was no wait. It did fill quickly, but there was still no waiting when we left. There is a large variety of pizzas made with fresh ingredients in a brick oven. We tried two different kinds, and they were thin crust and delicious. I feel the price of the personal pizzas and also the bottles of wine were a little on the high side. A shared cannoli was the perfect ending to a great meal, and was nicely presented.The decor is quaint and homey. and the atmosphere is welcoming and friendly.The servers were professional, helpful and pleasant. The pizza maker, who I believe is the owner, entertained two young children, by tossing the pizza and doing other tricks. He even gave them some dough of their own to practice with. All in all, we had a wonderful evening and would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveler123341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place for Pizza!”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Was in NYC for business and a co-worker recommended Capizzi. I am so glad that they did! The meal was amazing, we got the Loaded pizza which did not dissappoint. In addition the atmosphere is very welcoming and inviting. Top good food, good atmoshpere with great servcie and you have a definite winner. You cannot go wrong here. Next time I am in NYC I will definitely make a trip back here for dinner!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MelindaKay2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capizzi also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Capizzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing