We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience New York Water Taxi
from $28.00
More Info
from $36.99
More Info
from $52.50
More Info
Reviews (2,046)
Filter reviews
1,557 results
Traveler rating
971
372
65
49
100
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
971
372
65
49
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hop on hop battery park statue of liberty brooklyn bridge tour guide water taxi tour new york intrepid museum top deck day pass wall street ny pass great pictures lower manhattan both sides great trip ellis island
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,557 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had the hop on hop off ticket as part of the city pass. Really pleased didn’t pay for it separately as we only got from the pier to Battery Park stop. After seeing 2-3 hour queue for Liberty Island boat decided to do a bit sightseeing near Battery Park and then walked over Brooklyn Bridge to The Ice Cream Parlour and get the last boat (5.40) back to the pier. Only that boat didn’t come (we could see it across the river at the previous stop) Leaflet Timetable not very clear and confusing. No help or assistance from Water Taxi personnel at the boarding point as he told us to wait for it and it wouldn’t be long. I suspect they cut short the timetable so they can then charge you to do the sunset/evening trips with no thought to the passengers who have already paid for a daily ticket which doesn’t run for the full day! We weren’t the only ones waiting and stranded having to try to find alternative routes back to Manhattan. There is a bullet point on the leaflet stating check for up to date timings from website but without data or WiFi this was impossible for many. The company was only running half of the timetable but at no reduction in ticket cost so only 50% of service for 100% cost!

Thank lal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We did the water taxi tour since it included in the New York pass. It was a great tour and the guide was informative.
The boat pitches easily which is good to know if you get easily seasick. We found annoying that the guide kept on reminding of tips every five minutes or so.

Thank anniteee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you want to get on and get off at different parts of the city and also get some fantastic opportunities for photos without standing in a huge long queue at battery park.. then this the boat for you.

Stopping at Intrepid, Battery Park, South Street Sea Port and Dumbo it provides excellent views, some fun commentary and photo opportunities.

My kids loved it and I smiled as the queue for the other ferry at Battery park was over 1 1/2 hrs long. We could have made more of the hop on hop off, its not cheap but what is your time worth when you are here on a short break.

Thank Marc7210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our Tour Guide Patrick gave us boat tickets and told us they were good for two days. When we went on the second day they would not honor the tickets. Also, while we were being transported through the City, Patrick did not point out any sights of significant interest. Also, when touring, he was always running ahead of us. Difficult to have a tour when the tour guide isn’t with you! Very disappointing.

1  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jade H, Public Relations Manager at New York Water Taxi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for providing your feedback and letting us know about this issue, Linda H. We set a high standard for ourselves and are truly sorry to hear that standard was not met in your interaction with us. Please get in touch with us on (212) 742-1969 and we'd be happy to help you out.

Cheers,

New York Water Taxi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Unless you are an avid boat lover do not go on this boat. It is smaller than the other boats and rocks lot more. Depending on the tour guide talking they can be some what rude.

Thank sotok2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

Spacious upper deck and inside area. Very comfortable seats. Our tour guide, Heidi, did a great job of giving very interesting information on highlights and spoke clearly. We can highly recommend.

Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jade H, Public Relations Manager at New York Water Taxi, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2018

Hi Janet

Thanks for expressing your pleasure with your cruise with us, We are happy to hear you and your family had a nice time. We do hope you choose to sail with us again in the future.

Thanks and have a nice day!
Robert Strazza
Director, Guest Experience
rstrazza@nycl.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2018 via mobile

Got some great views, there was a tour guide on the microphone who gave lots of interesting facts (and was pretty funny!) and they made sure they slowed down and turned the boat around so that everyone could get a good picture of the Statue of Liberty. You can stay on for the whole tour and hop on and off throughout the day which is quite useful. Great way to see the city.

Thank chloeelizabethf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2018

Fun, fast, inexpensive way to get around... Cost was $37 I found a promo code online that gave 20% off making it only $29.60 per person. The code was NYLESS. Never had to wait in line to get on the boat. They had two boats going so there was basically always a boat whenever we were ready to part. You can get some really great pics the the city and the Brooklyn Bridge. There is a bathroom on the boat but its hard to squat over the toliet with the boat rocking lol. Always the tour guides do accept tips (We only had credit cards and did not know this prior to riding the NYC water taxi). Also there is a cheaper boat... dont take that.... The lines were super long and it was super crowded (we could see from out boat).

Thank catiearvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2018

The Times Square location of this boat is in fact 20 minutes walk down 42nd Street but once on board the trip is good and well guided. The timetable is flexible and in September only one boat was operating at 70 minute plus round trip time. It is quite useful if you want to walk the Brooklyn Bridge as it stops on both sides. You will also see the Statue of Liberty. There may be better travel options depending on your sight seeing needs and time available.

Thank Kirkstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2018 via mobile

Had a good time. There was some wait at the pier and confusion as to what line to stand in( water taxi was clearly marked, other was not). We got great pictures of the Staue of Liberty and the bridges. The guide gave out good information.

Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews