We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unusual Bar” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Burp Castle

Burp Castle
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Unusual Bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

Stopped here during a weekend visit to NYC last September. There were, indeed, Gregorian chants, monastic murals, and delicious beers. The bartender will shush the crowd when chatter gets loud (because loudness is irreverent in a place held sacred by beer worshipers). You'll constantly feel like you're being scolded. But, that's the fun of it, right? It's a quirky spot to get a few beers.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank solstice21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    12
    6
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
barrett, mn
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“you can't go home again...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

the burp castle was always one of my favorite places to take people in nyc, that is until this past spring. i showed up with a friend after a long day of hanging out in the village. the woman behind the bar wouldn't come to our table, even though there wasn't anybody else in the bar. no big deal, so i went up to the bar and asked for the beer list. she said the "beer guy" wasn't in so there was no point in me looking at a list! then she said "and just so you know, we don't carry budweiser!" seriously? so i order two glasses of wine. she pours and leaves them on the counter for me to come get. next scene, a couple friends and a toddler show up (hers i assume). let's just say there was no "shushing". the kid was everywhere and all they did was talk among themselves about how fabulous he was. another lost sole showed up after we did and went through the same thing. i almost grabbed her arm on the way out the door and said"come with me! run far, far away!" never again...so sad!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank debbiedoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Interesting atmosphere, great beer, odd execution”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

I like the idea of this place. The idea is that it's a church for beer. You're supposed to whisper, and supposedly the bartenders are dressed in monk's robes. I don't know if it was the night I went or if this is all just a rumor, but none of this happened. The bartender was dressed in normal clothes, she got our drink orders wrong twice because she was too busy chatting to one of her friends at the bar, and the shooshing was done to a point that was getting quite obnoxious. Their selection of beer is not large but it's of definite quality. I think if you went there earlier in the evening, this would be an awesome place to go to or maybe we just went on a bad day. It has the potential to be quiet and relaxing and it has a great selection of Belgian beer.

Helpful?
Thank kyleann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg
Level Contributor
196 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“A Quite Quaff In The East Village .... Shhhhhh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

During a recent (January 2012) East Village Pub Crawl, I sought refuge from the frigid night in here; though called Burp Castle, this unique little venue seems more like a monastery. Beer and monks!

You enter a hushed and dimly lit room adorned with murals and a well worn Persian rug. In the background is the melodious hum of a Gregorian chant. The weathered wooden bar is small, yet intimate. Garbed in the trappings of a monk, the alert bartender solemnly inquires as to which one of the twelve taps of Belgian elixir you will have. I whisper, “Maredsous tripel, please.” This procedure is to be done sotto voce as Burp Castle is a place that mandates a quiet contemplation. “Sssssh,” admonishes the bartender-monk to any patron daring to interrupt the solace of the Castle with loud conversation. This will not be allowed. Sssssh!

It may be considered over the top by some; however, if you consider drinking excellent beer to be a religious experience, then this is your venue. Is Burp Castle a quirky place to quietly quaff beer in a truly unusual atmosphere? Yes! Ssssssh.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NeedPivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic beer in a quirky place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

Burp Castle is fantastic. First of all the beer is delicious. The decor is great, there are cool little tables to sit at and if the weather is nice you can sit out the front too. Can't say enough good things about this place. I've missed it since I've been back in England...

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank gazmanjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burp Castle also viewed

 

Been to Burp Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing