We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once Was Enough”
Review of Metro Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Metro Apartments
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I guess the high rating is because of the location, which was convenient to the theater district. I liked the concierge staff and the bed was comfy, but the room was austere, like a Motel 6 in need of renovation. And LOUD traffic all night. Fortunately, that doesn't particularly bother me, but there was a loud thumping all night the first night, like maybe drums from a nearby band, and that did interfere with my sleep. I heard another guest discussing the room with the desk clerk, and I inferred there were nicer rooms, but mine was not one of them. I did have a small kitchenette, so if I had been so inclined, I could have cooked in my room and saved on eating out.

The neighborhood was just on the edge of an area where guidebooks recommend not walking at night (8th and 42nd).

I'll pay a little more next time, to stay somewhere a little nicer next time.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Beverly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 84 of 381 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed at the Metro Apartments in February 2014 We all enjoyed our stay, and really liked.

The property is well maintained and very clean. We can before 3 pm without problems they let us check-in. They offer some of the lowest prices in Manhattan. All of the staff members were very friendly and helpful.

The room was medium sized and looked recently updated. It was clean and well maintained.There is a medium size flat screen television.They have an iron and a desk and chair. The beds and pillows were comfortable.Includes in-room WIFI, which had a good signal.

The bathroom was small size. It was well maintained and clean.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlgc2X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We booked Metro Apartments based on its location and the independence of it being apartments rather than a hotel. It certainly is in a great spot, being central, close to subway stations, only minutes from Times Square and an easy walk to other attractions too. The apartments are spacious, clean and comfortable with everything you need to hand.

What really made it for us however was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff and, in particular Joe at reception. Everything we needed to know was explained on arrival, Joe made reservations at attractions for us, offered advice on places to go and we were able to leave our bags after check out on the final day until our departure. This welcoming, helpful attitude really made the difference and it's great to come back to such a comfortable place after a day in the hustle and bustle of the city.

As other reviews say, it can be a little noisy here because of the traffic outside. However, the beds are so comfortable and the rooms are kept warm at all times, so the noise is really a minor issue and the location makes it worthwhile.

All in all this is a great choice if you're looking to spend a few days (or more) exploring the city. Theatre Row Diner just round the corner on 42nd street is also a good place to eat.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrissemm976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Would definitely stay here again. Building is located immediately at the exit from Washington tunnel on the edge of the Theatre District. Apartment had everything we needed for a short stay except laundry facilities. It was very, very clean with modern furnishings and fixtures. We had a one-bedroom unit that had two queen-sized beds so it was perfect for a family of four. Small, pristine, well-equipped kitchen with small fridge, cooktop (no oven) and microwave. Bathroom was lovely with modern tile and glass shower, wading-pool type vanity. Initially I thought there was no mirror in the bathroom until I closed the second door to the bedroom and saw it had a full length mirror on back of it. Unit has a small balcony, nice on sunny mornings to watch the city come alive. I would definately stay here again as the price was fantastic and the unit impeccable.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank quietbeachgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

As a group of 5 we chose Metro Apartments as it was good value for money and also a 10 minute walk from all the action in Times Square.

As soon as we arrived we were delighted with the service from the staff. Our room was immaculate, equipped with WIFI, a plasma tv and a balcony with a view of the empire state building.

The kitchenette was useful with an electric hob, toaster and kettle. Beds were comfy as was the sofa, tea/coffee and cakes were provided in reception each morning, however there was a great Theater Row diner which served a great breakfast only 2 minutes from Metro Apartments.

Metro Apartments was only 5 minutes walk from Port Authority which meant we were able to get in and around NYC very easily.

The staff were great particularly Suzad, Chris, Joe and Nate who went out of there way to make our stay great, from giving directions to arranging transport to the airport.

We were extremely satisfied with our stay and will choose Metro Apartments if we return to NYC.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SobiaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We stayed here on a business trip because we needed a kitchen for cooking. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and we up-graded to a suite w/ kingsize bed. The kitchen is really a kitchenette (two burner stove, microwave but no oven, and small frig w/ tiny freezer). The biggest complaint, which is probably endemic to Manhattan was the noise. The rooms walls are not that thick and the street noise was horrific (and we were on the 10th floor). However, I guess that's why God invented ear plugs. Overall given the location and price, if you aren't really sensitive to noise and aren't a gourmet, this place is pretty good. However, given the lack of rooms with kitchens and the price we paid, I'd probably stay again if I am forced to go back to NY.

Room Tip: Stay on the 41st streets side, the other side is even noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Artgilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I stayed at the Metro Apartments for a week in September while my husband was in town for a medical procedure. For this stay, I needed somewhere that (a) was close to transportation and gave me access to various areas of the city, (b) affordable, and (c) gave me the option of cooking my own food (I couldn't afford to eat out for every meal). Metro Apartments provided all these things.

The location is convenient - very close to the Port Authority Bus Terminal, which makes it really accessible. The area itself leaves a little to be desired - the streets feel a little uncomfortable to walk around in the late evenings with panhandlers and vagrants on 41st street - I learnt quickly to walk up 42nd and then down 9th.

However, the room was a good size, clean, and affordable. I was given one of the renovated rooms on one of the upper floors facing 9th/40th. I'm a light sleeper so I was a little concerned after reading the reviews here that the noise from the highway would disturb my sleep, but with the air conditioner humming quietly, I really didn't have any problems at all.

The kitchenette was really convenient and I was able to save a lot of money in meals - I just picked up some groceries from Food Emporium on 42nd/43rd (you can enter from either street) between 9th and 10th. It was also a bonus to have access to the coin-operated laundry onsite.

The front-desk staff were friendly and helpful. They called a car service for us on the first morning when we needed to get the hospital, and they provided me directions & information on a couple of occasions.

In short, it really isn't the kind of place to stay at if you're looking for somewhere right in the action with nearby restaurants and entertainment. I wouldn't choose this for a luxury vacation or even a weekend getaway, but it was exactly what I needed for this particular trip.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, ask for one of the higher floors. I can't speak for the non-re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM440, General Manager at Metro Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Tara W,

I appreciate your review very much. This information is very valuable to helping us improve property operations. I am also very happy the property met your needs for this trip. I noticed you mentioned we were not near the action. We are only three blocks from Times Square, and 6 blocks from restaurant row. We are very central to all of nightlife, transportation, and dining in Midtown Manhattan. Please see our reception staff and they will be happy to introduce you to our surrounding area and all of its splendour.

Sincerely,

Metro Apartments
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#140 of 470 in New York City
7,395 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 470 in New York City
11,817 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#355 of 470 in New York City
19,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#309 of 470 in New York City
4,231 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#413 of 470 in New York City
555 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Apartments

Address: 440 W 41st St, New York City, NY 10036-6815
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 163 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Hotel Class:3 star — Metro Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in New York, this 101-room apartment hotel is near Javits Convention Center, New York, New York, United States of America, Times Square, and Broadway. Other nearby points of interest includes Empire State Building. At the Metro Apartments Hotel, you’ll discover comfortable, relaxed accommodations just minutes from Times Square, at the beginning of Hell's Kitchen and a conveniently located near the Port Authority Bus Terminal in Midtown Manhattan. Our affordable apartment hotel is a convenient alternative to the many other accommodations in New York City and is the perfect choice for your extended stay vacation. You’ll enjoy easy access to the city’s diverse neighborhoods, exciting attractions, shops and restaurants. Come discover your New York City home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Metro Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Apartments Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing