We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartments, location and service”
Review of Metro Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Metro Apartments
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The location was excellent. We were only a couple of minutes walk from Times Square, Port Authority and from a large number of nice shops and restaurants on 9th Avenue. Penn station was also only a fairly short walk away. The buses exiting or entering the upper levels of Port authority did however pass right underneath which did create a fair bit of noise during the day but not enough to stop you from sleeping, the traffic in the city in general can be as loud in other hotels.
The staff on reception were extremely helpful and knowledgeable (Especially Chris) about the surrounding area including good places to eat. They also allowed us to keep our room key at the front desk so we didn't have to worry about who would return to the apartment first in our group.
The apartment itself was apparently newly refurbished and it looked as such. The kitchenette had a fridge, mircowave, toaster and a 2 ring stove/hobs. The only item we found it lacking was a carving/bread knife or other sharp knife although there was a chopping board so maybe it was just missing or had been taken by a previous guest.
As it is an apartment you do not get housekeeping but for us we preferred this.If you wanted extra towels the main desk were happy to provide them and roll away beds could be requested for $25 a night. For the quality of the apartment and location the price we paid was very reasonable.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor if possible to reduce the road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yatomi1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 131 of 381 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Minutes from Times Square, and quite possible the best person I've ever encountered in the business working as the Manager. I think his name was Glenn, and did nothing short of being our personal tour guide. A fantastic person who made out trip even more remarkable. The hotel is clean, staff is friendly, and at a good price at this location? What more can you ask for.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayCole18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This apartment hotel building is located on 44th street close to Times Square for the touristic part and also to the river for the quiet part. The room is small and you need to ask the desk to have extra towels...but again excellent location!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank isab10027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Firstly this is not a hotel. They are apartments. No daily housekeeping, towel changes etc so not for everyone. We stayed for 6 nights. Kitchen is well equipped to make the average meal. Comfy bed. Little noisy but that's just nyc.

Easy 3 block walk to 42nd st subway or from penn station if arriving by bus. Area may look a little rough at first but we felt safe coming back at all hours via 42nd st.

Guys on front desk were very helpful and friendly. We could leave our bags securely when we arrived early. Fresh coffee downstairs daily and laundry onsite.

Close to restaurants, grocery store, pharmacy and a 10min walk to Times Square. Fantastic for the price.

Our tips - get metro card for $30 7 days unlimited rides, The Ginger Man brewpub, Nom Wah tea palour (dim sum in 60s style diner in Chinatown). Have fun!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AN4RCHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The traffic was quite loud but the air conditioner was a bit louder... I slept well despite that noise. Really good location near Times square. Good food store nearby (Food emporium). Good service from the staff - there was a problem with the stove but they fixed it on that same day. Nice sized fridge with a small freezer section that worked well. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennie1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel for one night before we took the train to Canada. We used our frequent flyer points. Since we never heard of this place before, we were a little nervous, but it was better than expected. There is coffee in the lobby but no restaurant, however there is a great little kitchen area in the rooms. Friendly helpful staff, and very clean.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 100countries245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I Stayed here May 2013 for a week with my sister. We were very satisfied with our stay. The bathroom is a little small, but that was ok. It was clean. I was surprised how large the closet was, we actually use the huge closet like a dressing room. The beds were comfortable. We had a coffee pot but I do wish for a week stay they would give you more than 2 packs of coffee. That's only 2 cups. You don't have any plastic dishes, that's a plus. We did have dish washing detergent. Our view was not so great unless you like watching busses. The free Wifi was great. I wish there was a broom and dust pan in the room. The staff was great. I did see a few homeless people. That was kinda sad to me. But I felt safe.

Room Tip: I would advise you to get at least 5 floors up. The buses from Port Authority run non stop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laranda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#136 of 469 in New York City
7,343 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#278 of 469 in New York City
11,729 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#356 of 469 in New York City
19,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 469 in New York City
1,426 reviews
Midtown
Beekman Tower by BridgeStreet
Beekman Tower by BridgeStreet
#73 of 163 in New York City
13 reviews
Midtown
TEN15NYC
TEN15NYC
#28 of 163 in New York City
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Apartments

Address: 440 W 41st St, New York City, NY 10036-6815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 163 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Hotel Class:3 star — Metro Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in New York, this 101-room apartment hotel is near Javits Convention Center, New York, New York, United States of America, Times Square, and Broadway. Other nearby points of interest includes Empire State Building. At the Metro Apartments Hotel, you’ll discover comfortable, relaxed accommodations just minutes from Times Square, at the beginning of Hell's Kitchen and a conveniently located near the Port Authority Bus Terminal in Midtown Manhattan. Our affordable apartment hotel is a convenient alternative to the many other accommodations in New York City and is the perfect choice for your extended stay vacation. You’ll enjoy easy access to the city’s diverse neighborhoods, exciting attractions, shops and restaurants. Come discover your New York City home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Metro Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Apartments Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing