We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic place to stay”
Review of Metro Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Metro Apartments
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We wanted an apartment rather than a hotel because we have 3 young children (age 4, 6 and 11) and wanted to be able to eat breakfast in the apartment and have some extra space. We were a bit nervous because of how close the railway line was and there had been some mixed reviews but we were very happy with our stay.

We were welcomed by David who was welcoming in a most New York kind of way. We found the apartment clean, modern and spacious. The facilities were fabulous - we had what we needed to prepare our breakfast and make sandwiches for lunch and if we had wanted to prepare dinner at the apartment we could have done that too. We were on the 10th floor which made the noise level less noticeable and we also kept the aircon running which provided some great white noise in the background.

The apartment is in such a fabulous location we were able to walk to so many of the places we wanted to go - even within the limits of our 4 year old daughter.

These apartments would suit people who want to be quite independent - much like living at home while you are away.

If you want to be waited on and have your bed made for you and the floor swept while you are out then this is not the place for you - but that is not what we wanted anyway.

I would totally recommend these apartments and would go there again in a flash

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    168
    75
    31
    29
See reviews for
94
143
22
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

What a great place to stay in ny with a family. Two apartments connecting on level 10 was perfect for the 4, u & 11 year olds + mum and dad. From Dave on the front desk with his ny charm and advice on where to get the best groceries through to having every thing on your door step. Intrepid, Times Square, theatre district, hop on hop off busses, Hell's Kitchen play ground, pen station to storing the bags on the last day.

The rooms are basically equipped, quiet, clean and modern. The only down side was the lack off a lock on the door to the balcony where our seven year old wanted to go all the time.

The price when compared with other options was also great....we had heaps of room and in a motel would have been squashed into a twin room with a rollaway.

Thanks heaps guys!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank macsmith_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Pleasantly Surprised. Very easy to book online and check in. Studio was clean and spacious. There was a very large and comfortable bed in the seperate bedroom with a sliding door to small balcony. Nice clean and fresh linens w large comfortable pillows. Large bathroom w large stand up shower was clean and comfortable. A kitchenette w microwave small refridgerator dishes glasses silverware 4 burners stive and coffee pot.... While there were 2 packets of coffee you need to bring your own creamer and sugar.. 4 seat modern table 4 person couch and side chair and a single cot in a little cubby of the living room. The cot was very comfortable. Dreaded it when I looked at it but sat to read and fell asleep it was that comfortable. Flat screen tv in livingroom. The people in the room beside us could be heard thru what I thought was a closet door however they were abnormally loud. For the most part the room and hall were very quiet. Times square was literally up one block and around the corner. Felt safe walking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had the most wonderful surprise of Metro Apartments...neat, clean, comfortable & they provide the usual hotel toiletries. Close to almost everything near Times Square. Absolutely safe to walk on the streets at anytime. Metro stations also in close proximity.

Room Tip: Choose higher floors for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rishen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christin B, Manager at Metro Apartments, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Rishen K,

We are just as thrilled that we were able to meet and even exceed your expecations

Thank you for the AWESOME words and we look forward to your return!

Christin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

A week ago, 2 of my girl friends and I visited NY for a week & Metro Apartments. This place is just lovely. You're "on your own" in the sense this isn't a hotel with all the accommodations so it feels very personal. Even the keys are actual keys oppose to card; it's your apartment.

Pros: Location is great. It literally kisses the Lincoln Tunnel that takes you to & fro NJ. Around the corner was a nice little shopping area, with a TD Bank. We took cabs most places bc heels & makeup don't work great on Subways, but public trans is within rather close proximity.

Cons: 2 very minute minuses, the shower floors need leveling and the living room walls were really thin, we could hear the family next door when they returned at night.

The Balcony's an added bonus. Will recommend & will definitely revisit when we're back in NY.

Thnx Metro
3BGirls

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3blackGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christin B, Manager at Metro Apartments, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Good Day 3blackGrls,

We are happy to see that we were able to please you and your friends.

The "on your own" feeling is a great option for those who choose to be independent and self sufficient.

Thank you for the recomnendation and your "plans" to revisit!

Christin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Upon our arrival, a guest was at the desk complaining about no one coming to mop up water on the bathroom floor after it was requested. That was an omen of our 5 day stay. When it was our turn to check in, the clerk was fairly accommodating, because I was not able to book the studio for 3 people on their site, just two. I expected a cot for my son would take care of us. The clerk had a cot delivered to our room for one day at no charge, saying she could give us a slightly larger room the next day.
We found the room typically small, but adequate. The room finishes were more typical of a very cheap motel (59-69/night in the Carolinas), but the bed had a pillow top and was quite comfortable. What we did not realize was, we were adjacent to the outlet for the Port Authority Bus Terminal. The roar of the buses starting and stopping at the light penetrated the window so well, we could hardly sleep. Although we were on the seventh floor, the buses sounded like we were in the bus terminal itself. They ran 24 hrs/day. I should have brought a carbon monoxide detector.
The next morning we found the mini-fridge containing our breakfast had died. So it was just as well that we had to move to a new room. The folks at the desk said they would try to get us a room facing 41 St, which may be a little quieter. They did so while we were out in the city and moved our belongings & food for us.
The new room did prove to be quieter and slightly larger. By the end of day two we began to wonder if we would be getting maid service like 99% of other hotels out there. We saw maids, but none ever cleaned our room. This was not stated in the website, Another small service issue that is not clear from the website is that the front desk is not open 24 hours like 97% of hotels. There is however an overnight doorman who can do simple requests.
Concluding, if you do not mind the noise and lack of services, this hotel may work for you. It's location 2 blocks from Times Square and a large Metro station, which is very useful. For me, I will not use it again.

Room Tip: Very Important: Ask for a room over 41 St, not on the back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vetsapien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christin B, Manager at Metro Apartments, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Good Day Vetsapien,

Unfortuneately from time to time there will be some oversights and not only is oversight an issue it is how one can recover from the challenge.

I am sorry that you did see and expierence some challenges at the property. From your comment I see we did offer to move you to another accomodation and eventually did so. "The new room did prove to be quieter and slightly larger".

While we do not offer daily housekeeping we can provide you with fresh towels and toiletries.

I am sorry to hear that you will not be returning.

Christin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed at the Metro Apartments for 4 nights in March 2013. It was our first visit to New York City. We flew into JFK and caught a taxi to the apartments. It took 90 minutes to get there as it was peak time! Coming back took 45 minutes as it was a Sunday. We paid a flat fee to/from JFK of $52 plus $5.83 in tolls. We were checked into the apartment quickly and efficiently by Dave. The lobby was clean and looked newly renovated with fresh flowers. We were given room 7B which wasn't a renovated room but I had emailed ahead of arrival and reserved a renovated room on a higher floor with Tonya. We could have moved into this and paid the additional cost if we weren't happy with the room we had booked and paid for. However, we were more than happy with room 7B. It was spacious and very,very clean and represented excellent value for the price we had paid. All the items in the kitchenette were new or nearly new and contained everything we needed apart from a kettle. We boiled water in a saucepan to make tea. There was a 'fridge, microwave and toaster as well as plates, dishes, glasses and cutlery. We even had washing up liquid and cloths! Towels,soap,shampoo,shower gel and body lotion were also provided. We had a small balcony with views of some of the City's skyscrapers. We felt the temperature of the room was just right. The location was excellent. We were able to walk to Times Square in about 10 minutes and walked everywhere from here apart from when we went downtown when we used the subway. The subway was much easier to use than we thought it would be. It cost $2.25 for a single ride. There were many excellent restaurants nearby. We had a lovely meal at the Theatre Row Diner which was literally over the road and a fantastic breakfast at the Market Diner 5-10 minutes walk away. The 7-eleven for room provisions was 5 minutes walk and Kmart at Penn Street Station about 15 minutes walk. After reading some reviews we, as 3 females, were a little concerned about the safety of this area but we needn't have worried as we felt completely safe at all times. The free wi-fi was a really good bonus as was the free tea, coffee and pastries in the lobby. The only downside to the apartments we could think of was the noise of the traffic at night which made it hard to sleep. Better insulation should be considered as a future improvement but we bought some ear plugs and slept well from then on!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasmine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christin B, Manager at Metro Apartments, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hi Jasmine,

Thank you for making my job a whole lot easier :)

I am so glad that you were able to enjoy and embrace the property and all of it's amenities.

Dave is a GREAT guy and reference for us we do value him as you do.

We try to provide guests with all of the amenities which you would need to be comfortable and in turn providing an "Excellent value".

Please call us and let us know when you are coming back!

Christin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Midtown West
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#341 of 466 in New York City
59 reviews
Midtown
Cassa Hotel Times Square
Cassa Hotel Times Square
#107 of 466 in New York City
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#244 of 466 in New York City
2,386 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Radio City Apartments
Radio City Apartments
#5 of 163 in New York City
2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Apartments

Property: Metro Apartments
Address: 440 W 41st St, New York City, NY 10036-6815
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 163 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Hotel Class:3 star — Metro Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in New York, this 101-room apartment hotel is near Javits Convention Center, New York, New York, United States of America, Times Square, and Broadway. Other nearby points of interest includes Empire State Building. At the Metro Apartments Hotel, you’ll discover comfortable, relaxed accommodations just minutes from Times Square, at the beginning of Hell's Kitchen and a conveniently located near the Port Authority Bus Terminal in Midtown Manhattan. Our affordable apartment hotel is a convenient alternative to the many other accommodations in New York City and is the perfect choice for your extended stay vacation. You’ll enjoy easy access to the city’s diverse neighborhoods, exciting attractions, shops and restaurants. Come discover your New York City home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Metro Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Apartments Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing