We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two from NC”
Review of Metro Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Metro Apartments
Gastonia, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Two from NC”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

My boyfriend and myself checked in 5/11/12 and we were greeted by a very nice man I believe his name is Charles. He was friendly and funny. Throughout our trip he would stop us and ask us how we were doing and what we were getting into, what we have seen he was super! Our room was 7L street side there was construction going on across the street and New Yorker's love to honk their horns lol. We brought ear plugs with us as some reviews said to do but we never used them. We just kept the Tv on at night not even that loud and it did the job. The room was nice the only thing I think I needed that the room was lacking and you get most places is a pen and note pad. The shower water pressure was great! The bed was nice we slept good after a long day of site seeing. Everything was clean and looked so nice I never saw any bugs or mice and believe you me I would have freaked out if I had. Over all we just had a wonderful time and hope to return to New York and the Metro Apartments.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    168
    75
    31
    29
See reviews for
94
143
22
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Wasn't exactly looking forward to this place after reading the reviews, but didn't want to spend too much on a hotel that we wouldn't be spending a lot of time in. The room was clean, the kitchenette was great, and the bathroom was clean. The buses are loud but only at rush hours so it didn't bother us. If you're a travelled tourist, this place is great, but if you're expecting high class, do not book here. Also the location is great. Would book again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

The Metro apartments were about £90 a night with a service charge to pay (about £20 per night) on arrival. My friend had a beautiful renovated 2 room suite, my Mother had a fairly pleasant but tired room and my room was a pit. There was builiding work going on outside until very late at night and the traffic noise was overwhelming. We never saw a receptionist, just the duty "
guard". Pay a bit more and go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EllyBellyBumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Beware: many of the photos of this hotel online show the newly renovated apartments. The renovation is an ongoing project, and the odds are that if you're staying here in the near future you're going to be in one of the old, shabbier apartments. I think it's shocking that they're able to trade on the image of these newer apartments when most guests will be staying the older rooms.

Our first impression on arriving at the building was that the area was noisy and hectic, with the Lincoln Tunnel right outside (constant traffic), and the huge building site opposite (they work late and start early in NYC, too!). The hotel lobby looked lovely, sleek and modern; unfortunately, the doors were closed with a sign directing us next door to the rough and ready office. The man who checked us in was nice enough, but it did feel like a work site office.

I had phoned in advance to request a renovated apartment but as soon as we opened the door I could see they weren't able to fulfil our request. The apartment was small (which is fine), basic (again, fine), and shabby (not fine).

Here are the 'cons' about our stay (deep breath!):

- The kitchen fittings had bits hanging off, and the pans were sticky and unwashed
- The toilet didn't flush properly throughout our stay (toilet paper would be whisked away then would reappear)
- The shower didn't drain so you'd end up ankle-deep in dirty water by the time your shower was finished (we reported this and it was fixed - whoever fixed it left some black gunge on the side of the bath, and their dirty footprints on the floor)
- The handle on the balcony door was hanging off and couldn't be locked
- No plugs were provided so you couldn't have a bath or fill the sink, and you could see some foreign objects stuck down the sink plug hole!
- The bathroom hadn't been cleaned properly before we checked in (previous inhabitants' hairs all over the floor, filthy taps, dirt in the corners). There was grouting all over the bath and walls and the whole bathroom just felt grubby
- The free wi-fi was near useless as the connection constantly dropped
- The kitchen was very basic; no grill, oven or freezer
- You have to pay a $50 (plus tax) cleaning fee when you check in, but your apartment doesn't get cleaned at all during your stay
- The bed was sagging for a few nights then suddenly broke; we reported it in the morning and went out for the day but by the evening nothing had been done. We mentioned it again and two men came to fix it (no idea why they weren't called hours before), which involved lots of drilling, furniture moving and noise, when we were supposed to be getting ready to go out to dinner
- The lifts weren't reliable (sometimes you'd stand there for a few minutes, realise it wasn't coming, and have to use the stairs - which smelled of urine on some floors!)

Okay, now the 'pros'!:

- The area was great, very handy for Times Square and the Subway
- The price was good, but to be honest I still think we paid too much for the condition and cleanliness of the apartment
- No noise from neighbouring rooms or the corridors
- You do get used to the outside noise after a few days, but bring ear plugs anyway!
- Quiet, efficient air conditioning

I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone in its current state. There's no excuse for the poor cleaning and shabby condition of the apartments. It's great that they're renovating the place, but it's not fair to be selling the place on the renovated apartments when most of them are in such a poor state. I'd recommend having a shop around to see what else you can get for your money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prismacolor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christin B, Manager at Metro Apartments, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the property.

The photos which you see online are a good representation of the rooms that are available here. We have removed ALL pictures of the renovated studio apartments to avoid confusion. The pictures in the "Professional Photo" section are sample pictures of the 1 bedroom, pictures of the 2 bedroom and the non renovated studios.

The area is relatively active, however generally in Manhattan it is a busy area and it holds claim to the city that never sleeps. The construction across the street is work of the city which has taken on an aggressive approach to complete the construction ahead of schedule. This approach put the activity late into the night and in the early morning.

While we continue with the progress of the property we have moved the entrance to this temporary location until the time become suitable to relocate to the future lobby. I am glad that the gentleman who checked you in was "nice enough" to assist with making this not so ideal situation better.

As I read through the 'cons', I humbly apologize for your negative experienced in your room. We are in the process of implementing a program to be more proactive to avoid the challenges you experienced. We have recently installed new guest wireless network throughout the entire property. We are in the process of tweaking the wireless to ensure that the guest internet experience is pleasurable.

The cleaning fee is for the one time cleaning that was done for your arrival.

Thank you for staying with us and please stay tuned for the completion of the upgrades.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kotka, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I think Metro Apartments is worth the money because of the excellent location near Times Square. There was construction/road work going on near the hotel and the bus terminal next door causes a lot of heavy traffic which wasn't so nice. The neighbourhood was a bit shady, too. But just a block away it changed. We didn't quite understand why they used a little dirty room with mailboxes as entrance though there was a nice lobby with flowers, sofas and tables. Door to the lobby was closed all the time. We had booked two small studios but there had been some plumbing problems there so they offered us a big appartment with two bedrooms, living room and kitchen on the groud floor, just next to the lobby. It would have cost more than the two small rooms but we didn't have to pay extra and got the cleaning fee also for free. What cleaning?? As it is an appartment hotel, they didn't clean the room during our stay. The appartment looked nice and was very clean and tidy. One bedroom was really nice with a window and a good bed. The other one didn't have a window and the bed kept incredible noise! The lower part of it was made of cardboard! It was quite hard too but the noise was the worst thing. The room also smelled like cigarets. All my clothes smelled really bad when I got home. The bathroom was ok. We were five people in that appartment (one slept on a rollaway bed) so two bathrooms would have been nicer. Two of the staff members didn't talk anything to us, hardly even hello. Two others were nice. All in all I could recommend the hotel because I don't think there are much better hotels in Manhattan for this price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilliFromFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

I just came back from staying at the Metro hotel in NYC, I was there for a trade show at the Jacobs center (10 min walking slowly)!!! Amazing, friendly and helpful staff, the room wow!!! Clean fresh renovated from the hallways to the lobby, the minute you open your door you are astounded of the cleanliness and how everything is new and modern. I took the 2 beds full on suite with kitchenette, we ate breakfast every morning, and ordered in from a local chinese restaurant. The beds are very comfortable, the bathroom is modern and the towels are soft. Hair blow dryer and iron in the room. Good closet space, lot's of space especially for NYC!!!! It was actually bigger than my friends apartment who lives in NYC, price very affordable. The only thing is the wi-fi is only in lobby! It is a little bit noisy but hey you are downtown! But really no big deal! Located conveniently close to everything 2 min from central bus terminal, local shops affordable shops and close to a subway. Definitely staying again!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

The location of this place near Times square and the Theatre District is great when you are getting home at night, but apart from that it is a little bit of a grungy area with athe very loud bus station next door and a construction site across the street. The service fee makes no sense as it is $25 for one night and $50 for a stay longer than that, yet there is no difference in the service you get....basically you get nothing. i was there 9 nights and there was no servicing of the room, changing of bed linen or towels. ALL apartments that I have previously stayed in do a room clean and a towel and linen change weekly. (And it seems you pay for that) This one does not. I guess you can wash your own but it is going to be hard to clean without equipment and supplies.The lobby is fully renovated but they are not using it so you enter through the grubby side office. The people on reception are clueless most of the time.

Bed, TV and kitchenette are good. More cutlery, glasses and plates would be great.

I booked through Expedia which says the rooms all have free WiFi. This is false the WiFi is only in the lobby. When I complained about this on arrival i was rudely told to take it up with Expedia. Customer service is very lacking here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robwombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Midtown West
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#341 of 466 in New York City
59 reviews
Midtown
Cassa Hotel Times Square
Cassa Hotel Times Square
#107 of 466 in New York City
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#244 of 466 in New York City
2,385 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Radio City Apartments
Radio City Apartments
#5 of 163 in New York City
2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Apartments

Property: Metro Apartments
Address: 440 W 41st St, New York City, NY 10036-6815
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 163 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Hotel Class:3 star — Metro Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in New York, this 101-room apartment hotel is near Javits Convention Center, New York, New York, United States of America, Times Square, and Broadway. Other nearby points of interest includes Empire State Building. At the Metro Apartments Hotel, you’ll discover comfortable, relaxed accommodations just minutes from Times Square, at the beginning of Hell's Kitchen and a conveniently located near the Port Authority Bus Terminal in Midtown Manhattan. Our affordable apartment hotel is a convenient alternative to the many other accommodations in New York City and is the perfect choice for your extended stay vacation. You’ll enjoy easy access to the city’s diverse neighborhoods, exciting attractions, shops and restaurants. Come discover your New York City home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Metro Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Apartments Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing