We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surely there is better!”
Review of Metro Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Metro Apartments
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Reserved a room for three. Knew it would be a blow-up bed after I called to confirm. Got to the hotel and the bed was standing against the dresser........there was no room on the floor to put it. After we moved the double bed and nightstand, managed to get the bed on the floor. Kitchen facilities, but no table and only one chair. Guess you are to eat sitting on the bed. No hangars in the closet and short on towels. Had laundry room, but 3 of the 5 washers were out of order. Put $ (my last quarters) in the dryer and it didn't work. No help from the front desk. Had to hang wet clothes all over the room. Good side........no bed bugs!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whitemountain51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

240 - 246 of 381 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2011

My partner and I stayed here for a week. We were shown our bedroom, but had booked a room with a balcony which this didn't have. We spoke to the Management team, who sorted a balcony room for us the next day.
There is construction going on outside but we didn't find it unbearable, and the apartments can hardly be criticised for this. If you want to stay central in Manhattan, then wherever you go, it will be noisy. It was less than 10 minutes walk to Times Square and 10 minutes the other way to the piers where you can get cruises.
On the last day our flight wasn't until 9pm so we asked for a later check out, as our room was free that day, the Management team sorted this for us without charge and allowed us to stay until 4pm.
There is work happening in the foyer, which can only improve the apartments and again, should not be criticised.
I would like to thank the Management team again for all their help and for making our stay enjoyable!

Room Tip: Cheap and Cheerful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

To summarise, room's were surprisingly quiet and spacious for somewhere located so close to very busy and noisy junctions. We only saw our room but right outside our door was a building site (literally rather than metaphorically) and the temporary reception gave the place the feel of a flop house. We complained given a succession of blank looks before being promised compensation. This turned out to be $58.00 which on a bill approaching $1000 didn't really add up to a hill of beans. Convenient location and once the building work is done it may be OK but I wouldn't bet on it. (the rooms also had a DIY feel to them, one light switch for bedroom and lounge area, wires taped together and so on).

Room Tip: Check with staff re building work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beefcheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

I stayed with my three children ages 19-20 years old. The location was perfect - right next to the entrance to the Lincoln Tunnel. The kids were able to walk up to Times Square when I was ready to relax at night since it was only several blocks away. The description on their web site is the not the same place where stayed though. There is no consierge service - only a guard at the front door who, by the way, was always very nice, helpful and friendly. The room was ok with a small kitchenette. The shower pressure nearly sent us through the wall. The bed was comfortable. If you stay during the summer, the air conditioner doesn't get very cool.
I would recommend this place for the price though. Also, parking is available behind the building for $25/day which couldn't be beat.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank schlrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

My partner and I just arrived back from our week long stay at Metro Apartments.....
The location is fantastic; close to Times Square, Central Park, 9th Av (too many restaurants to mention) and the subway.
Our room was on the small side but very clean, the bed was very comfortable, the kitchenette was new with utensils and crockery provided and a great flat screen tv with HD cable.
The only let down for me was the noise from the main road outside the building that became quite loud in the mornings......
Overall, GREAT location and nice room to stay in! : )

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kass187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Metro apartments in Midtown is a nice and secure place to stay. Very clean, 24/7 doorman, elevator, with super in building even on weekends and many more features make you feel like in home. Friendly people, they are always ready to help you. The apartment is very nice; modern kitchen, clean bathroom, cozy bed, internet, TV, Heating and A/C.

Located in 41st Street, it is just a few blocks from Time Square, Restaurant Row and all the excitement and entertainment anyone visiting New York can find on 42nd Street. For those business travelers, Metro apartments is also a great place to stay and do business in NYC. You are just two blocks away from Time Square subway station where 1, 2, 3, R, Q, N, 7, etc. will take you to any place in New York. Buses on 42nd street, 8th Ave and 9th Ave are also very close from this location.

My last trip to New York was a great experience for my wife and I, we expect to continue renting in Metro Apartments every time we travel to this amazing city.

Thank you Metro Apartments!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GTam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2011

The people in here is very nice, they help you allways you need and they are really quick and make you feel at home. Here in the building you have a 24 hours doorman that is something that I think makes it a very secure place to stay even with your family. It´s also a really clean place and I think it also has a great location because it´s just a couple blocks from times square garden and to many shopping places and also really close to fifth avenue.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauraee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Out NYC
The Out NYC
#283 of 469 in New York City
1,391 reviews
Midtown
Travel Inn Hotel New York
Travel Inn Hotel New York
#334 of 469 in New York City
1,818 reviews
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Midtown West
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#285 of 469 in New York City
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Midtown
Cassa Hotel Times Square
Cassa Hotel Times Square
#124 of 469 in New York City
1,222 reviews
Midtown
Apt 168
Apt 168
#34 of 163 in New York City
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Apartments

Address: 440 W 41st St, New York City, NY 10036-6815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 163 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Hotel Class:3 star — Metro Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in New York, this 101-room apartment hotel is near Javits Convention Center, New York, New York, United States of America, Times Square, and Broadway. Other nearby points of interest includes Empire State Building. At the Metro Apartments Hotel, you’ll discover comfortable, relaxed accommodations just minutes from Times Square, at the beginning of Hell's Kitchen and a conveniently located near the Port Authority Bus Terminal in Midtown Manhattan. Our affordable apartment hotel is a convenient alternative to the many other accommodations in New York City and is the perfect choice for your extended stay vacation. You’ll enjoy easy access to the city’s diverse neighborhoods, exciting attractions, shops and restaurants. Come discover your New York City home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Metro Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Apartments Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing