We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, perfect location, top quality”
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #27 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2014

I have visited NYC many times. This time my favorite accomodations were all booked and I had to find an alternative. I chose "The Pearl" based on a quick web search. It worked out great. If you plan to visit shows the location is perfect. There are a couple of theaters in the same block. I guess about 20 or so more with 5 min. walking distance (as is Times Square). If theater is not on the agenda you are pretty well connected with access to the subway lines A,C,E, 1 and 2.
When I checked in I asked for a quiet room, especially not next to the elevator. I got a free upgrade (thanks, folks!!) to a spacious room on the 7th floor (705) which was perfect for me. The staff was always helpful and conveyed a desire to create a good guest experience.

There was space for little a work area for laptop and my photo equipment, which could stay there permanently. WLAN connectivity worked flawlessly. You have to re-register every 24h which is a bit of a nuisance, but anyway! The room was equipped with a microwave, coffee maker, a few plates, etc. Get supplies at the Food Emporium right on the corner to 8th Av. if you don't want to eat out. I slept very well, as the room was really absolutely quiet. The bathroom was spacious and leaves nothing to be desired. The fittings looked quite new and upscale. Water pressure, temperature always perfect. No compromise needed there. In fact the entire room looked quite new and fresh.

The breakfast buffet was included. The location is divided in a small closed room and a sort of gallery above the lobby. It was not my favorite ambiance, but that really is complaining on a high level :-).

I have been in Manhattan hotels which charged more and offered significantly less quality. The Pearl is on the pricey side, but you truly get what you pay for. I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Tell the receptionist what your priorities are. I am sure they will do their best to make you happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LookTouchPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,002 - 1,008 of 2,410 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2014

Stayed here twice,,,,,,,location is key,,,,you would think but no,,,,,,it's the rooms,the employees ,the wine and cheese,the breakfast ,,,,,,in General,,,it's the full package :)) Was a little disappointed in being charge 150 dollars for clean up when my daughter was sick,,,,,,seeing I had what I thought most cleaned,,,,,but manager was very understandable and reduced the amount .All in all,,,,a perfect place to stay for those wanting to be in the middle of things:)))))

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights on my own. Loved it. The Pearl had just be refurbished, so it felt like a brand new hotel. Fabulous location on W49th Street and just a walk across the road to see the fabulous, "The Book of Morman". Was holed up for Hurricane Irene in 2011 and was very comfortable whilst there. As most hotels in NYC are expensive, this one isn't any different, but was worth every $. Would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: By online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed for 7 nights, 2 adults and 2 teenagers in room with 2 queen size beds end of May 2014. Room was big enough, very clean and quiet. But it was quite dark (best place for make up was in front of window with hand mirror...). There was no mould, or smells of any kind. Tv also in bathroom. Small kitchenette with microwave and (warm) fridge. Complimentary Wifi worked very well and is important detail. Also breakfast was good enough, even maybe not best solution on environmentally, since all plates, tools etc are plastic and trash after use.

Beds springs made strange squeezing sound when moved on it, but you get used to it in few nights! Mattresses were little too soft for me, but that is maybe just personal opinion.

Location is perfect, atleast for first timers, you can walk easily to theatres, restaurants, subway, attractions etc. Only disappointment was when we started to check for taxi to airport, doorman told, that he can get good deal for bigger car, since he thought we could not fit into taxi (not even big ones, that drives infront fo hotel all the time). Flatrate for taxi is 52 $, he make reservation more or less by himself and told it is special price 100$ for SUV. He also informed driver instructions and I confirm him the price before getting into car. At airport driver told it is 120 $ + tip. So, 140 $, when 52-65 would have been enough. Own fault, but it is easy to get transport by yourself.

Anyway, would absolutely return to The Pearl next time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scandinavianfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We just returned from a three night stay at The Pearl. It was our first trip to NYC. My husband and I went with two other couples, and this hotel was amazing. We were upgraded to a king suite (complimentary). The continental breakfast was very good with a good choice of pastries, bagels, toast, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, cereal, oatmeal, juice, coffee, etc. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and quite large. The rooms came with robes, and I was pleasantly surprised to find out the hotel uses Philosophy products. We stayed on the 8th floor and heard very little to no street noise. This hotel is in a perfect spot in the Theater District..just a half a block from time square. Gershwin Theater (Wicked) is behind the hotel. It is a very short walk to Rockefeller Center and Central Park. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Everyone always spoke to us when we were leaving and entering. I can't imagine finding a better hotel for NYC!! We would love to go back!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DLKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. It was located just off times square and was in the heart of the theatre district. It was lovely and clean and the staff were very helpful, especially Julliet at reception. Think of this hotel as an upmarket premier inn and that's what you get. We had breakfast each morning it had a simple spread but it was very tasty and fresh. The restaurant next doors food looked good but we just had a drink in it. If you want a clean hotel that's at the heart of everything well look no further.........

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Druffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This was the best hotel that I have every stayed in while in New York City. It was a great location, close to Times Square, the subway, restaurants, Starbucks. Wonderful, safe area to walk around in. The hotel was clean, clean, clean and had a wonderful fresh smell in both the hallways and the rooms. The rooms supplied Philosophy skin and hair products, one of my favorite to use at home. The Continental breakfast was great and between 4-5 in the afternoon there was complimentary wine served. The rooms were nice a quite, no street noise.

Room Tip: we stayed in 1007 nice a quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JanCassidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#26 of 469 in New York City
2,953 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#46 of 469 in New York City
3,621 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#69 of 469 in New York City
4,075 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#67 of 469 in New York City
3,248 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $284 - $708 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing