We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Stay Ever!”
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #27 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2014

2 teenage girls & 2 mothers went on a trip to New York not knowing what to expect from our hotel since we were told finding a nice size room in New York was impossible. WELL!! NOT SO HERE! Our room had 2 queen beds and a very spacious bathroom. We were in room 507 close to elevator but we had not disturbance whatsoever. We were within walking distance to most of our attractions we had plan to visit but far enough where we didn't hear all the hustle & bustle from the street. Complimentary breakfast gave us the kick start we needed. I would defiantly stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the fifth floor were perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,009 - 1,015 of 2,410 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed in the Pearl for 7 nights in May. The staff are friendly, and the rooms well appointed. We were in a balcony room, which i would highly recommend. The breakfast ends at 10am, so we missed that most days as we were out quite late at nights. The fridge and air conditioner in our room were both quite loud, but otherwise the room was nice. If you want to stay in the busy times square area, i'd recommend this hotel. However, if you're after a less touristy NYC experience with a little more calm, i'd recommend staying further south.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms add some outdoor space and a view down to Broadway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natasha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

A wonderful hotel for attending Broadway shows. Our room in the back was completely quiet at night despite the bustle of the streets. Lemon water, cookies, chips available at all times, wine and cheese for a between show break - this hotel made our whirlwind 9 shows in 6 days super easy. The staff was very helpful, the bathroom well appointed and modern, the beds comfortable - I would definitely recommend this to anyone who wants a calm oasis near Times Square.

Room Tip: Room in the back was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debbie6242013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Very nice and quiet boutique hotel. The room is clean, confortable, modern and large for NYC standards. The staff are friendly and professional. Free breakfast, free snacks and coffe, free internet that works. Location is very convenient especially for first time visitors with easy access to most NYC attractions, restaurants, etc.
We had a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travellerBrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Located directly across the street from the Eugene O'Neill theater (Book of Mormon) it's set very slightly back (1/2 block) from the chaos of Times Square but generally right there. The room was fine, no issues. The elevators are a little slow. I took the steps. The room key had to be rekeyed 3 times. That was a bit annoying, and I got the impression not unusual. Second floor has cookies and drinks. Nice touch. I'd say if the location is your main interest, this hotel had great value and you'll get a fairly priced, clean room. I wouldn't suggest staying here for any other reason, though. As a Times Square hub, sure. If your memory of NYC will be NYC, this works. As a memorable hotel, not so much.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CruiseCriticMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

My group of 4 ladies just returned from a girls trip to New York City on May 17th. We stayed at the Pearl Hotel mainly because of its excellent location near the Broadway theaters & the restaurants. We also chose it because it is a small boutique hotel. We felt very safe & comfortable there. It was also very convenient to order Broadway show tickets through Christian, the concierge, & have them delivered to the hotel for us to pick up at his desk. The vibe of this small hotel is relaxing & tranquil. Two of us shared a room on the ninth floor & it was very quiet & neatly cleaned. One caveat of the rooms was that there was no mirror on the dresser, so we had to share the mirror in the bathroom. Two ladies sharing a room could use two mirrors! We enjoyed the afternoon wine & cheese hour. The continental breakfast was average. Christian, the concierge made some great restaurant recommendations & was very helpful.

Room Tip: The higher floors have very quiet rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katherine1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

The Pearl is fantastically located walk around the corner and there it is Times Square. Being in the centre of the tourist district the hotel is quiet and we felt very safe. The staff were lovely. I was staying here for my bday and when we came home there was a bottle of wine and a card. Very nice. The rooms are fairly small but modern and very clean. Overall a very enjoyable stay and I have recommended staying here to numerous friends.

Stayed: September 2013
4  Thank Zobey88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#26 of 469 in New York City
2,952 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#44 of 469 in New York City
3,620 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#69 of 469 in New York City
4,075 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#66 of 469 in New York City
3,248 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $285 - $713 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing