We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“new york new york” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #17 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“new york new york”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

it was the kind of stay you would hope for in big apple.everything was great.the weather could of been better but the hotel was simply fantastinc.our whole family had a great time.very helpfull staff with great knowledge of the area.thank you

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,576
    484
    61
    10
    10
See reviews for
688
848
63
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Collingwood, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed for one night and we we're taken back by the service. We we're greeted fairly well by the front desk staff but it was the house person, luggage and door person who took us away with great customer service. Without having to ask the luggage man and door person took our luggage and open our doors with a smile. The breakfast was complimentary and a nice surprise with fresh fruit and the normal continental breakfast. We had a short but great stay. I would love to go back someday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mupperz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We really enjoyed our five day stay of the Pearl last month. We had a wonderful room and the people at the front desk were very helpful and professional. Even the doorman got to know us after a day or two. I do not enjoy staying in Times Square particularly, but we had to be there for other reasons. The Pearl was an oasis in the middle of a tourist jungle.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Great hotel in the theatre district, close to everything. Room was very nice, clean, well appointed. The bathroom is beautiful, great shower! There were 5 of us so we booked a double queen with the sofa bed. The only negative thing about our stay was the sofa bed which I found to be extremely uncomfortable (even for a sofa bed!) The mattress was a very thin foam pad that looked like it had a little mold residue on the underside. Pull it off the bed and put it on the floor if you want to sleep. The continental breakfast and wine/cheese hour are bonuses. The staff are very accommodating and pleasant. Helped us celebrate 2 birthdays and Mother's Day in style. Great choice, would definitely go back!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scmom5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katy tx
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

On 03/09 my wife and our 2 adult children stayed at The Pearl for 4 nights. This hotel was fantastic! It's location was right in the heart of the Theater District only minutes, by walking, to 30 Rock, Times Square, and Central Park. The hotel itself is a hidden gem. Our room with 2 queen beds was very spacious, with comfortable beds and a large bathroom with a separate shower and bath tub. They also had sound proof walls so unless there was a knock at the door we heard nothing from the outside. The staff was great. The doormen were very knowledgeable of the area. One day we rode the subway( a block away) to ground zero and the doorman told us what number train to ride so we did not have to change trains. One of the best perks of staying there was the hotel's complimentary breakfast. A great variety of items to choose from and always attendants there to keep the items stocked. Breakfast was on the second floor and even after breakfast was over there were always snacks out for the guests as well as a huge(enclosed) glass cooler of fresh iced water with lemon wedges on the 1st and 2nd floor for parched guests to get a glass from. We loved our stay there and would most definitely stay there again. As a matter of fact I hesitated to write this review because I wanted to try to keep this hotel a secret. I struggled with my conscience and decided as a "trip advisor" follower I had an obligation to let all other followers to know that this hotel is the real deal.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teddyzKatyTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I'm a retired international airline captain who stayed in hotels all over the world for 30 years. "The Pearl" is the best overall hotel I've ever experienced. It is clear why it is rated #15 in NYC.

During my working years, I was on a pilot's group that evaluated hotels before the company signed a contract for our crew layovers. I know how to spot the small deficiencies. I could find NONE at "The Pearl!" There was no indication of wear or tear anywhere. I tried to find dust on ledges in the room, hallways and lobby; none. Floors immaculate with no dirt buildup in the corners from cleaning. Bathroom spotless. I could go on with more but you get the picture.

I've never felt so at home so quickly when away from home. Without exception, every employee I encountered was outstanding.

Two employees attend the breakfast area constantly. They clean up after spilled food on the counter and keep everything well supplied. This too was way above my experiences at other hotels.

The location is unbeatable. I was there with my 13 year old granddaughter for a week playing tourist. We had a wonderful week and staying at "The Pearl" was the cement that held it all together. I would never consider staying anywhere else when I return. As you read other reviews, you clearly will see my experience was the norm and not the exception. To be clear, I have no connection to the hotel or it's employees other than being a first time guest.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

The Pearl hosted our 4 night stay, and we were very happy with almost everything. I have previously stayed at the W-Times Square, The Bryant Park Hotel, Waldorf Astoria, Marriott Marquis, & Crown Plaza. The Pearl staff is friendly & helpful, the breakfast & wine reception (needs to be longer than 4:00pm-5:00pm) are both nice amenities. Our room had a terrace (looked north onto the Avalon complex & backside of the Gershwin), a gorgeous 8 foot, rainfall shower enclosed in glass and an extremely comfortable queen bed. Electrical issues with the room included non working outlets, bathroom TV & desk lamp. We were not there to work/for business, so did not bring these items to the staffs attention until right before checkout, and they promised immediate attention. I cannot speak highly enough of Shannon (concierge)-fantastic at helping with "hard to get" pre & post theater restaurant reservations. Our room & hotel location along with 2 Sharper Image Sleep Machines made it a breeze to eliminate street noise.
We walked and rode the subway through most of the city, and the location of the Pearl is absolutely the most convenient you will find. We never needed a cab before or after theater/dinner....were always close enough to walk. It would be neat if there was a fitness center & lobby bar (EE doesn't count), but for location, service and quality of room, The Pearl was magnificent!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#4 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 5,022 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#29 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,051 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#11 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 577 reviews
Hotel Giraffe
#3 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,117 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#5 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Property: The Pearl Hotel
Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing