We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #17 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

The Pearl is fantastic. Great location, and you don't hear the noise from outside your window as some other reviews say. The decor is really nice all through out the hotel. Room was perfect, our air con broke while we were out and when we came back they had upgraded our rooms for us to apologise for the inconvenience! But even without the extra upgrade I couldn't have faulted the hotel. You get a nice wee breakfast of fruits, bagels and cereals, which is perfect for when you're on the go. I would highly recommend The Pearl. Staff were very helpful when you needed them too.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ke-anderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,576
    485
    61
    10
    10
See reviews for
688
848
63
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

My wife and I found the hotel, staff and services to be very good, clean, comfortable and safe. The location is great for walking to times square, all the theaters, restaurants, and shopping. We will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My trip to New York had rather a poor start, I had arranged to rent an apartment for a month which turned into a nightmare so be warned if you are booking from the UK, often photographs flatter. The apartment was dark, dirty, and noisy, I only stayed two nights. Luckily I met a someone who recommended The Pearl Hotel. The Manager Jaime Mendieta was kind and helpful. I booked in on 31st March and stayed until 14th April and it was brilliant. There is really nothing to fault with this hotel, truly the best hotel in New York so far and I have stayed at the Crown Plaza, The Waldorf and many more of a similar grading. The Pearl outshines them all, excuse the pun! The friendly helpful and efficient staff make you immediately feel welcome. My room was large (unusual for New York) and airy and spotlessly clean, the young woman who serviced my room was called Feina and was totally dedicated to her work and always helpful and cheery. Breakfast is included which is also a plus and there is a small gym with outside space for early morning yoga. I wish I had taken the names of all the staff there as they made my stay such a pleasure so if they read these reviews a heartfelt thank you. I will be back without a doubt, at last I have found a safe haven in the heart of my favourite city.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a bath and shower which is nice to have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElizabethBeetham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Not only does this hotel have a fantastic location and the most spacious, comfortable rooms that I've ever experienced in NY, the icing on the cake has to be the complimentary breakfast. Loads of choice and the perfect way to start a busy day of sightseeing. I would highly recommend this hotel and I will definitely stay here next time I'm in New York.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ColinSchnauzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay
Level Contributor
192 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This hotel was great value for money and had some of the best staff I have encountered in a NYC hotel.

We asked for a quiet room and it was. Not a huge room aqnd a bit airless, but spotless and well laid out and central to everything.

Breakfast was complimentary but it was an eat on the run affair with everything in disposable cups and plates and people jockeying for the few chairs and tables.

We would absolutely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room because it can get noisy facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sevegne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We just spent 4 nights at the pearl hotel. i have been there few times and alwys glad to return .If you are in NYC go to this hotel, the perfect place to stay. the room is very nice, big and very clean!!!!! nice breakfast , happy hour at 4pm. staff are amaizing with a smile will do anything to help you . location perfect on time square.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DORIT534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

This hotel lived up to its expectations, staff were helpful and always went out thier way to make you more relaxed will defo be coming back to this hotel in the future and as it's right around the corner from Times Square it's brilliant

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Permjit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#4 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 5,023 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#28 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,058 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#11 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 578 reviews
Hotel Giraffe
#3 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,119 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#5 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Property: The Pearl Hotel
Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing