We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #15 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Not only does this hotel have a fantastic location and the most spacious, comfortable rooms that I've ever experienced in NY, the icing on the cake has to be the complimentary breakfast. Loads of choice and the perfect way to start a busy day of sightseeing. I would highly recommend this hotel and I will definitely stay here next time I'm in New York.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ColinSchnauzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,677
    522
    67
    10
    10
See reviews for
746
900
65
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay
Level Contributor
193 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

This hotel was great value for money and had some of the best staff I have encountered in a NYC hotel.

We asked for a quiet room and it was. Not a huge room aqnd a bit airless, but spotless and well laid out and central to everything.

Breakfast was complimentary but it was an eat on the run affair with everything in disposable cups and plates and people jockeying for the few chairs and tables.

We would absolutely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room because it can get noisy facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sevegne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

We just spent 4 nights at the pearl hotel. i have been there few times and alwys glad to return .If you are in NYC go to this hotel, the perfect place to stay. the room is very nice, big and very clean!!!!! nice breakfast , happy hour at 4pm. staff are amaizing with a smile will do anything to help you . location perfect on time square.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DORIT534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

This hotel lived up to its expectations, staff were helpful and always went out thier way to make you more relaxed will defo be coming back to this hotel in the future and as it's right around the corner from Times Square it's brilliant

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Permjit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

A hotel is just a building made with bricks and mortar, it's the staff that make the experience. What sets the Pearl aside from any other hotel we have stayed in (and there's been a few) is the staff , we were met with huge smiles and personality to match , and that was everyone we met from front desk to housekeepers. Sometimes a hotel is great in some areas and poor in others but not the Pearl, it's full marks on everything. We will be using this hotel again and again , only because of the staff and not because of location or price or because we got an upgrade to an amazing spacious room and a bottle of bubbly for a special anniversary . So a huge thank you to all at the Pearl , you really made our ten years more special than we expected.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glasg0wCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We (3 adults, 2 kids) stayed at The Pearl Times Square last Friday evening, in 2 separate rooms, each containing 2 double beds. For each room costing $610/night before taxes and parking ($55), I was not impressed. There were pluses: great location for going to the theater, clean, modern, relatively quiet (we were on 8th floor), both fridge and microwave in room, plus Keurig coffee maker (very limited amount of K-cups though), nice bath towels, decent complimentary breakfast included on 2nd floor (if you don't mind sharing breakfast with a crowd & fetching breakfast items with some people who can be very rude), and the Philosophy bath products are nice.

However, that is not enough to justify the price. Also, I did not think the rooms were spacious as some people said (perhaps that has to do with the type of rooms we had). Bathroom was definitely small. Four Seasons rooms in NYC are much more spacious. The modern shower head was substandard & had very little pressure too. When we checked in, we were told our rooms were right next to each other (as we requested, but there is no guarantee); yet they were on opposite sides of floor, so it seems the staff might not know the layout of the hotel very well. The man who told us was apologetic, but remedy offered was not satisfactory. Nor did he mention we needed to request turndown (did not end up getting). Robes provided, but slippers need to be requested. We didn't bother, so I don't know how responsive they are. I would expect a hotel with their claims and pricetag would automatically do it, or at least remember to offer upon check-in. Concierge was adequate, but nothing exceptional.

I've stayed in hotels all over the world, ranging from the about the worst to the very best. My bottom line with The Pearl is that it's overpriced. The only way I'd stay here again is if the room was about 30% less. We feel gypped, and I'm taking time to write this review because I don't like others risking the same.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

I just called The Pearl New York hotel, to ask about the breakfast hours. The person on the phone refused to tell me, he said that I would get that information upon check in. I told him I just needed to know when the breakfast ends, and he repeated that this information will be provided to you at check in. I pressed on, I said "why wont you just tell me?" He said he was not permitted to give this information over the phone. I explained that my friend is a guest in the hotel and I am trying to make a schedule, and He says for the friend to call down to the front desk to ask. I cannot believe their stupidity. This is by far the most stupid thing I have ever encountered in the entire hospitality industry.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
20 Thank danny l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,507 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,402 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,244 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Property: The Pearl Hotel
Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing