We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel!”
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #26 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Very nice, clean and quiet hotel. Rooms are very nice, clean and roomy. My adult daughter and teenage son were with me. I chose the Queen Superior room so my son could sleep on the couch and my daughter and I got the beds. Great staff. It is in a good location and you do not hear the outside noises. The continental breakfast had a good selection and the coffee is good. This will be my hotel choice when I visit NYC.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,473)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,112 - 1,118 of 2,473 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2014

My husband, daughter and I stayed at the Pearl on a business trip combined with our family vacation. The location is absolutely perfect; super close to everything yet just removed enough that you can still sleep at night from the lack of street noise. The staff is wonderful; extremely helpful and friendly. The hotel is super clean and the continental breakfast and wine and cheese hours are so convenient and delicious! We would also recommend the E&E grill next door... Incredible food and an equally friendly and helpful staff. We will definitely be back... I wouldn't stay anywhere else!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dutch220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

From the minute you enter the front door of the Pearl Hotel get ready for an outstanding experience! First class hotel with first class staff! Free continental breakfast and an amazing wine and cheese hour. We always looked forward to going back to our hotel after touring the city.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I recently stayed at the Pearl for a short business trip and it is by far the best value of any hotel I have stayed at in mid-town. The staff are really helpful and nice, the room spacious and clean, and the amenities surprising (free wi-fi, breakfast included, really comfortable beds). And the location is great -- if you want to be near Times Square and Broadway. I didn't notice any street noise from my 6th floor room, as some reviewers have noted -- but even if I had it is to be expected in New York. Overall, a really great hotel experience I was not expecting.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaelvi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We just returned from a 4 night stay at the Pearl Hotel and were very pleased with the accommodations. The hotel was well situated for visits to the theatre and, although we were directly across the street from the Eugene O'Neill theatre where The Book of Mormon is playing we were never awakened by street noise. (This may be because we upgraded to a "Deluxe Queen" room on the 11th floor and were lucky to be on the back side of the hotel)

The staff, from the doormen to the concierge, were all very kind and extremely helpful. The rooms were a good size by NYC standards and were all renovated and well appointed with a comfortable mattress, quality linens, a clean, modern, and well stocked bathroom, a good sized TV in the bedroom and a small TV in the bathroom. A great perk was the continental breakfast served every morning from 7:00 am to 10:00 am and a wine happy hour every evening. We have stayed in numerous hotels in NYC and have never returned to one. We will return to the Pearl Hotel!

Room Tip: The rooms higher up and on the back side of the hotel (facing 50th st) will probably be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaHouTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Recently visited NYC for a show at Carnegie Hall and decided to try the Pearl on West 49th St.
As most reviewers have noted, this is a first class place to stay near everything one might care to see. The staff from the doormen to the front desk to the attendants at the nightly wine and cheese were most cordial and helpful always asking what they may do to make our stay more pleasant. Not to say there weren't any negatives, the TV in the bathroom was not functioning but there was a notice on the bureau in the bedroom explaining it was being worked on. Flushing the toilet brought a high pitched whine and the key cards need replacing as the magnetic strips have worn so much it often took five or six times to open the door. That said, this is one of the finest hotels in the city. Dorn Bracht bath fixtures, Philosophy soaps and lotions, Keurig coffeemaker, in room fridge, electronic safe as well as bathrobes and an umbrella. Free WiFi and a marvelous continental breakfast including hard boiled eggs, granola, NewYork bagels, cereal, sweet rolls, coffee and juice. While this is certainly not the perfect place for those on a budget, I don't believe one will find these amenities for a better price.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I just returned from the big apple, we spent 4 nights at this great hotel, this was our. 4th visit, as always our room was clean and very comfortable, easy walking distance to all things wonderful.

We made some new discoveries as well as some old and favorite haunts. A must visit is the Eric Kayser boulangerie,fantastic breads and wonder full pastries, things you would expect In Europe, this one was near Columbus circle, although there many more, lunch was very good. The other big surprise was Stella ristorante on the 6th floor in Maceys, this restaurant also has the best gelato Vivoli, the original being in Florence Italy, this is a must. The lunch at Stella's was out of this world, the service A 1.

For another lunch we treated our selfs to Del Posto, across the street from the Chelsea Market, we have been there several times. The food was fabulous and there always surprises on the menu, well worth the $$$. The best of course is the window shopping as well as a little retail therapy.
All in all well worth it.

Room Tip: We have never had issues with the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank solo022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 473 in New York City
3,393 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
LUMA Hotel Times Square
LUMA Hotel Times Square
#22 of 473 in New York City
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#15 of 473 in New York City
3,267 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza HY36 Midtown Manhattan
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#103 of 473 in New York City
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Address: 233 West, 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $173 - $591 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing