We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #28 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2014

My partner and I stayed in the Pearl for 5 nights. It was our first time in NYC. We stayed in room 1106 on the 11th floor. The room was nice and spacious and we did sleep well although we did hear street noise even though we were high up.

The hotel kindly left a bottle of champagne in the room as it was my birthday. The hotel staff were very helpful and reception assisted us with all queries we had during our stay.

The location was superb. Left out of the hotel and straight on Broadway - one block away from Times Square. It was centrally located for most attractions. Central park was a ten minute walk away as was fifth Avenue and the Rockafeller Centre. The Empire State Building was a 20 min walk. Ideally located for subway but we walked everywhere.

The free continental breakfast was a great way to start every morning and kept us full until Lunch time. They breakfast consisted of cereal, pastries, bagels, muffins and fruit and yogurt. There was complimentary coffee on offer 24hrs a day on the 2nd floor with little snacks and water available too. The cheese and wine hour was also a nice touch.

We did enjoy our stay very much. The room rate with taxes etc per day was a little expensive but for the location it was worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EmL0u84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,437)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,089 - 1,095 of 2,437 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2014

We came into the city for an Art Opening Night at the Wall Street Building - main lobby. The location for the stay as well as the hotel & staff were superb. Would welcome another stay in the near future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lion_on_the_Beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed at the Pearl for the first time recently and look forward to going back. The hotel is in the Times Square neighborhood (right across from THE BOOK OF MORMON's theatre), but because it's on a side street, it's quite and not quite as insane as most large corporate hotels in the area. The staff is superb; there are always treats (Sun Chips, fruit) in the lobby by a big dispenser of water with lemon. The rooms are gorgeously appointed and very quite; the floor lobbies are sophisticated and quiet. The included breakfast is very good (includes hard boiled eggs and organic yogurt and pretty good coffee), and is offered on a spacious mezzanine above the lobby. The attached restaurant (E&E Grill) is very good--excellent service and decent prices.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a room on the street side of the hotel, which was high enough that noise wasn't a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JSD57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I brought my husband and two teenagers here and felt we had plenty of space, plenty of towels and was very comfortable. The daily cleaning was excellent and the staff were extremely helpful. We had Broadway tickets and the theater was right across the street. We had so many choices of great restaurants and shopping we could get to by foot. I would highly recommend the Pearl Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phoebebigelow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

My wife, 4yr old daughter and I stayed here for a week. We stayed in room #304. I'm guessing the might be the worst room in the hotel. It was directly across from the Book of Mormon sign and right above the breakfast area. So I did hear street noise as well as noise from the breakfast area. Thankfully, it didn't affect my wife and daughter since they're both heavy sleepers. I just used the supplied ear plugs to get a good nights sleep. I actually called the hotel a couple of days before we arrived to request a room on a high floor. However, we arrived early in the day and took the first room available. So, my impatience probably cost us a better room.

The room itself was spacious with a nice bathroom. Unfortunately, the TV in the bathroom didn't work. Normally I wouldn't have cared much but it would've been nice during March Madness! I think the size and quality of the room was very good. We had a cousin visit us and she said our room was nicer than the room she stayed in at the W.

The service was top notch. There was a bottle of champagne waiting for us in our room (we were celebrating our anniversary). Everyone we encountered was very nice and helpful. The continental breakfast was a great way to start every morning. I would recommend this hotel based on the service alone.

The location of the hotel can't be beat. It was centrally located for everywhere we wanted to go: from Brooklyn to NJ to Harlem. Walking to the subway (ACE/NQR) took about 3min. We never had a problem getting a cab with the help of the doorman. And we walked to Wicked.

Overall, this hotel is great. We look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: Avoid room #304 if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank erock901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Three friends and I just returned from a NYC "girl's" trip, and we spent three nights at The Pearl. We have found our new favorite hotel, and plan to return often! The room was spacious enough for four women and all our luggage (and shopping bags) - it was also clean and the beds are very comfortable. Everyone on the staff was professional, friendly, and helpful. We enjoyed breakfast and the wine hour, and the location is wonderful. We were also able to check in early. We will definitely recommend The Pearl to our friends, and we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Ideally situated off Broadway & just round the corner from Times Sq. Rooms are comfortable & towels changed daily. The complimentary breakfast & wine/cheese from 4-5pm were an added bonus. Staff were very friendly & helpful. I would book here again!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank fionaw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
LUMA Hotel Times Square
LUMA Hotel Times Square
#22 of 470 in New York City
260 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#26 of 470 in New York City
3,173 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#68 of 470 in New York City
3,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#88 of 470 in New York City
478 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 470 in New York City
3,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $230 - $690 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing