We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #17 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Stayed at The Pearl several times. Checking in is always nice and fast with really nice people greeting you and most employees know you from your previous visits (some by name). The rooms are really nice and spacious. I noticed the last room I stayed in was not as good as the other rooms from previous visits. The breakfast is really nice. Very simple but more than enough. It is very difficult for me to go to NYC and not stay at The Pearl. The location is just amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the theater across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnaWaRefeginly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,693
    529
    67
    11
    10
See reviews for
755
908
66
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed at The Pearl during the height of the awful snow storm over Valentine's Day weekend and found it to be a warm and wonderful place to return to after a day of fighting NY weather and crowds. The wine hour after a long day is especially nice. The front desk staff is especially helpful and friendly and made us feel like we were the only couple in the hotel - it was booked solid I think! It was our anniversary and they even sent up a bottle of champagne. It is conveniently located and walkable to almost everything. Room was very comfortable and spacious and had a great modern bathroom. Best of all it was quiet; we were on the 3rd floor facing 49th street and the noise never bothered our sleep at all. We will definitely come back for another visit!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HubbaHubba1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

I took my wife to NYC for Valentines weekend and wanted something very special. I wanted something smaller, upscale, quiet and for it to have that special something. I was impressed the very minute I walked in the front doors. This is a 13 story boutique hotel located 1 block from the HEART of Times Square! Modern yet warm decor. Quite and comfortable rooms. Easy Access to all the NY has to offer! The only negative thing that I have to say is that our toilet got clogged twice...but I will admit that was my fault ;-) Nice little breakfast on the second floor every morning...which is rare to find in NY. Also have to give a shout out to the doorman "Allen"...great conversation and excellent advice/service. Thank you helping us begin and end our days on the PERFECT foot! I would recommend The Pearl to ANYONE!

Room Tip: It is a shorter hotel, so im not even sure you can get a room with a view of the city. You would ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NateW1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed here recently for 5 nights. We had a queen room which was large enough. The staff were helpful although we didn't need to ask them anything much. The room was clean, the location very central and close enough to Times Square to go see it but not close enough for you to be swamped with everyone else going to see it! It is close to two metro stations so is very convenient. Overall it was adequate for our needs as we were out most of the day.
I just have a few moans but they shouldn't really put anyone off
It does state the breakfast is continental. Just be sure you understand this means quite basic continental. If you like something substantial or warm other than your coffee and toast then this won't suffice.
There is no free water in the room - this should be standard in a hotel charging this much.
There is no toilet brush. A funny thing to say, until you need one!
It's not the type of place to come back to and hang around. There is a bar/grill next to it but it's not that inviting.
If like us you just needed somewhere central and clean for sleeping in between exploring then this is fine. If you want a hotel "experience" then this isn't really for you.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WozThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
250 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We have visited New York yearly and stay at the sister hotel the Lucerne in the upper West Side. Because we had tickets to Cinderella, we decided to try the Pearl and because it was February the rates were more reasonable than the rest of the year. We were all very happy with our experience. The hotel is new and the décor is modern. Our two kids loved the bathrooms particularly! We arrived at 10 AM and they suggested that we go upstairs and we were able to catch the breakfast on the day we checked in. We left our luggage and off to shop, eat, and attend the 2 oclock matinee. We checked in after the show. We had reserved a 2 doubles room but were able to upgrade to a double queen. The rest of the family wanted to upgrade so we did and were glad we did. The room is much larger, with a separate living area with tv, and a huge bathroom with rainshower spout, soaking tub, and tv. The only difference is that there is more street noise compared to the upper west side, and that the room was a little warm in the middle of the night.
The buffet breakfast is quite filling. There were croissants, muffins, donuts, toast, bagels,fruit saald, apples and bananas, yogurt, oatmeal, and cereal. Also overhwhelming choices for restaurants:we ended up eating at La Masseria (Italian), Ippudo (Japaneses) , and Benares (Indian) all of which were less than a 5 minutes walk.It was just a few minutes from Cinderella and we also got tickets to Wicked.We also were able to walk to the Empire State Building in about 10 or 15 minutes, then passed to Grand Central Station and Rockefeller center. The valet parking was 55 dollars per 24 hour period without in and out privileges. We parked for 32 hours and were charged 90 dollars but they were able to get the car in a few minutes.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swansfromBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

We have found our go-to hotel in NYC! It's a short walk to everything (theaters, Times Square, Rockefeller Center,) and a brisk walk to Central Park and Lincoln Center. The thing is, once you pass through the doors into the bright and cozy lobby, you would never know all that was right outside. It's quiet and peaceful in the lobby and the 2nd floor lounge, in fact, the entire hotel is beautiful, clean and relaxing. Our room was big, with a lovely tiled bathroom and comfortable bed. I loved having a microwave for late night snacks. There are plenty of beautiful hotels in NYC, but the staff at The Pearl is exceptionally welcoming and accommodating, especially Juliet at the front desk, the doorman Moraud, and the housekeeping staff. The big things were spot on: the upgrade to a deluxe king; the fast and easy luggage check when we arrived super early at 7:30 am; the free (!) breakfast (an expanded continental breakfast); the wine and cheese reception. However, the little things were equally impressive: Juliet remembering how to pronounce our unusual name; Moraud remembering our specific itinerary; in fact, every single person I encountered was professional and courteous. Our entire stay was enjoyable.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with lots of light and stayed in 1102. South side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachussetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

I just stayed for 3 nights at the Pearl. I have been wanting to stay at the hotel for awhile and finally had an opportunity. I got a good rate for the room online. Location is good if you want to see shows.

Here is the good from start to finish

1. Right across from the Book of Mormons and 3 blocks from TKTS for show lovers
2. Valet Parking $55, self parking $50, both no in and out priveledges.. welcome to NYC
3. Efficient front desk and bell men
4. Fast elevators
5. Got upgraded to a room with 2 queen beds.
6. Large bathroom with separate shower and bath tub
7. Nice bath soaps and shampoos
8. Great towels
9. Our room had a microwave and refrigerator (no minibar)
10. Continental breakfast with fruit salad, danish pastries, bagels, english muffins, toast, coffee tea, fresh apples and bananas, cereals. Pretty substantial and FREE. 7 am- 10 am
11. Wine and cheese in the afternoon. We didn't partake, but saw the set up
12. Water and snacks in the lobby (chips, apples)
13. Small work out area with 2 treads, 1 elliptical and a recomb bike, free weights, weight machine.
14. Everyone was nice and friendly
15. Its only 2 years old, so everything is not banged up.
16. Wifi is free and moderately fast
17. Lighting was good in the room
18. Umbrellas in the closet

The not so good....

1. Called down for my car and at 4o minutes, it hadnt arrived. They called again and someone had messed up and not gotten my car, upside was it was there in less than 5 minutes. Valet fault not the hotel
2. Closet was a bit short on hanger area, but the closet itself was quite large

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tman12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,577 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,312 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Property: The Pearl Hotel
Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing