We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good hotel”
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #25 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great location, good hotel”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

First off, the location is absolutely fantastic. Heart of the Theatre District, but still a quiet night's sleep. Rooms a bit small, prices a bit high, but service is very good. Breakfast is decent, and helps keep trip costs down. Wine/cheese hour is a nice touch. Fitness Center is not up to standard. It's not as bells and whistles as I expected based on reviews and the price, but you could go a lot worse in Manhattan.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Statman24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,736
    548
    73
    11
    10
See reviews for
789
933
66
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for two nights. We came to NYC to see three Broadway shows. This hotel was a very easy walk - just a few blocks from the theaters which was wonderful since it was January and FREEZING. Also - right around the corner from the subway station. What we liked best: QUIET. like a slice of heaven after the chaos (albeit fun chaos) of Times Square. Once in our room, we couldn't hear anything - no slamming doors, crying babies or TV sounds. The bed was wonderful, the room nicely decorated, and we felt really safe. The breakfast was basic - but nice - bagels, cereals, muffins, fruit, coffee etc. The afternoon wine & cheese were also very nice. The staff were very polite - helpful, and seemed to like their jobs. It was well worth the $$ and I'd stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mooshoo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lee, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

After reading all the glowing reviews on Trip Advisor about the Pearl I thought me and my wife should give it a try for New Years. The hotel is certainly overrated and much better service, accommodation's, and professional staff can be had elsewhere. Breakfast was horrible with plastic utensils, wine hour nice, rooms ok but nothing to write home about. Dimly lit and dark. Hallways dark. The only thing I liked was the location. We also hated having such late housekeeping service during our stay. All this with such a huge price. Other than that don't waste your money for this overpriced hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank 737Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I just returned yesterday from a three day stay at The Pearl and it was all I expected and more. The hotel is new, spotlessly clean, contemporary, but very comfortable. The front desk staff made us feel most welcome and were very helpful. They had a taxi waiting to whisk me to Penn Station even before I had finished the (very quick) check out. Christian, the concierge, was extremely knowledgeable and friendly with lots of excellent restaurant suggestions.

But the best part of The Pearl was the location. It is in the heart of Times Square so it is walking distance to all the theaters (and literally across the street from "The Book of Mormon"), but as it is on a side street it is so quiet you find it hard to believe you are in the heart of the city. Thanks to recommendations on Trip Advisor, we requested a room that was on a higher floor that faced the back and it was so quiet that I heard no traffic noise whatsoever (and I am a very light sleeper). Never thought I would sleep so peacefully in the Big Apple!

The ample sized room has contemporary furnishings and a comfortable bed, nice clean linens, with microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker. Nice bathroom with good bathtub and shower.

The complimentary breakfast also exceeded my expectations. It is a cold buffet but quite plentiful with four types of cereals (plus granola), bagels, croissants, danish, fresh fruit salad, hard boiled eggs, three types of juices, coffee and teas. Plus there is complimentary wine, cheese and fresh fruit in the afternoon (4 - 6 pm) that is quite pleasant.

I will not hesitate to book a return trip to the Pearl. It's a gem.

Room Tip: For a quiet room, request a higher floor with a room facing the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandrasmom817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

This hotel is right across the street from the theater showing Book of Mormon and steps from Times Square. It is a boutique hotel with modern decor, nicely outfitted rooms, very clean, free snacks in the lobby, and a very nice continental breakfast included. Wifi is free but can be a little slow when it is in heavy use. Rooms have modern bathroom, safe, modern TV, Ipod/phone alarm clock, desk, and are quite roomy for this price in NYC. Staff is very good. There is no driveway and parking is valet offsite so don't expect to use your car in the city and allow time to get it when you are leaving. Parking rate was reasonable for NYC.

Room Tip: If you want a view, you need to ask for it at check-in, otherwise you might be looking at the bricks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingFelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anguilla
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

This is a very comfortable boutique hotel which is close to times square. Great location. The rooms are beautifully appointed, with a small walk in closet with safe to store your valuables, which was great for storage, comfortable beds and pillows, and a desk and lovely bathroom. It was also very warm considering that the outside temperature was 14 degrees and snowing most of our stay in NYC. Despite being so close to times square, the rooms were wonderfully quiet. The staff managed to accomadate all our needs. The recptionists, cleaners, doormen, kitchen staff and concierge were all fantastic, helpful and friendly at all times. The continental breakfast was complimentary, and served in a cozy dining room and lounge area. Snacks, water and warm drinks were available all day. Absolutely brilliant hotel that we would highly recommend. Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoninAxA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Loved this hotel! Great location!! Very Clean! Large rooms! Loved the Complimentary breakfast & happy hour daily!! Very friendly staff! Excellent service! Can't say enough good things about it!! Would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 466 in New York City
2,836 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#44 of 466 in New York City
3,525 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#73 of 466 in New York City
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#61 of 466 in New York City
3,195 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#74 of 466 in New York City
4,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Property: The Pearl Hotel
Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing