We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New years in New York at the Pearl”
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #25 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2014

My wife and I searched high and low for a hotel in Times Square for a surprise 21st birthday present for my son. We wanted the location so that we could spend New Year’s Eve in Time Square (along with a million others)! We picked the Pearl as it looked like a boutique hotel amongst all the high risers and whilst not cheap it was comparable with others. The staff, from bell man to concierge where all very approachable, knowledgeable and friendly. The rooms were of a good size (we had a suite) and very clean. Good choice of complimentary teas and coffees and in great decorative order. Breakfast albeit only continental was always fresh and varied. A wonderful touch on return from celebrating new years was 4 engraved complimentary champagne flutes with a bottle of champagne to celebrate. They also went the extra mile to move my mother to a room on the same floor once they realized we where one family. This involved some room logistics and a small delay whilst they got the new room ready but another great touch. In short when we go back we will look no further than the Pearl for our stay, its location, style and friendly staff ensures that. A couple of tips if you are considering New Years in NYC. 1. Book early. 2. They close off Times Square at about 5pm on New Year’s Eve, so unless you have hotel in Times Square you won't get in. 3. Avoid standing bolt upright and freezing in the queue for up to 7 hours by making a reservation at a restaurant or pub in Times Square as you can spill out just before the ball drops and enjoy the roar. 4. Book all your attractions (ice skating, top of the rock, Ground Zero, museums etc), as it is incredibly busy at that time of year. 5. Wrap up…….. It’s cold!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greenhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,473)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,182 - 1,188 of 2,473 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed here for 5 days just before Christmas...

The Pros
Great location
Friendly efficient staff
Superior Queen Suite - Large, very clean and modern, noiseproof!
Free cheese and wine and other bits in reception

The Cons
The hotel doesn't have a kitchen itself but you can order room service from an adjoining restaurant. They Guy who answered the phone was very rude, twice, Both times he stated he had nothing that we were asking for but was never apologetic and hung up without a goodbye or anthing. We were only ordering simple things like burgers and salads. Was very surprised by his attitude but luckily...you're in New York, so we ended up getting delicious takeout from Seamless. Maybe the hotel should get the reception staff to take orders are they were always very friendly.

We paid approx £2500 for 5 days. We would return but not order room service!

Room Tip: Superior queen room is spacious and modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank foard83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PearlHotelNYC, General Manager at The Pearl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

I'm sorry for your experience with room service, it has been brought to the attention of the General Manager of the restaurant, this is not our standard or acceptable. I'm glad you enjoyed the hotel, you have a great attitude ! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed here with my husband for a night out in New York. Great location, directly across the street from the Book of Mormon, one block off of Broadway and close to Times Square ( but not too close!) Wonderful boutique hotel, clean rooms, and pleasant service from everyone we encountered. From the check in process ( fast, efficient, with a complementary upgrade from a deluxe to an executive king) to the wine hour ( nice wines and cheeses) to the check out this morning. Room was quiet even though we were facing the street.
A terrific experience, not a bit like the impersonal chain hotels abundant in NYC. Would go back again in a heartbeat!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank swrCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Pearl for 3 nights the week before Christmas and could not fault it. The family room was spacious, even for 4 adults, with a large bathroom, small lounge area and plenty of storage space. Breakfast was simple but delicious with lots of variety, and a room with tables just around the corner. Fresh towels were provided every day and was great to have a hotel with a hot and powerful shower.

This hotel is in a great location, Times Square is a stones throw away, along with plenty of bars, theatres and restaurants. If you want a show close by, Book of Mormon is directly opposite and Chicago is one building across.

Staff were very helpful and polite. Easy to leave bags with on departure day, so we could collect later and arranged a car to the airport and a fixed rate.

Would highly recommend and would visit again.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The hotel is located on 49th street so very close to Times Square, and all the sights. The hotel is a small boutique hotel with decent size rooms for New York and really clean with regular daily cleaning. A continental breakfast is included which is a help yourself service in the morning and has a good selection of bagels, toast etc. wifi is also free which is unusual in New York hotels. They did offer an afternoon glass of wine with cheese which we didn't take as we were never there in time but thought it was a lovely idea. Overall we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandraR2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I booked the Pearl based on the reviews of trip advisor members and it's location in NYC. We stayed at the Pearl twice within three weeks (pre Xmas and post new year). We requested two queen beds and we were accommodated on floor 5 the first time and the 6th floor the second time. There are many many things about the pearl that are positive:-
- breakfast on level 2 was a good start to the day, there was a selection of four cereals, fruit salad, bananas, apples, bagels, toast, muffins, pastries, yoghurt, boiled eggs, tea and coffee, orange, apple juice, water and iced tea.
- snack and fresh fruit basket in the lobby, along with water was a nice way to satisfy those in between meal hunger pains.
- clean rooms
- daily house keeping
- lovely toiletries which were replaced daily
- convenient location to theatres and Times Square, Rockefeller center and shopping :-)
- a quick two minute walk to the corner was a fine food emporium for drinks and late night snacks
- cafe bene across the street serves up decent coffee
We had a slight problem with our bill after we had checked out, but a phone call to the manager and the issues were sorted very quickly.
I would definitely stay at the Pearl hotel again and would recommend to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dibfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This was our first time at The Pearl. I have been to NY about 75 times and by far this boutique hotel has the best service of any I have stayed in. We were upgraded to a bigger room with a slight charge because we arrived 4 hours before check in. The room was perfect. Very clean and had all the amenities. The only reason this stay was not excellent was the noise from outside was very loud and we were on the 14th floor out of 15. When you stay request the back of the building we were on 49th street side. But we will stay here again. The staff was perfect and very accommodating.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#24 of 473 in New York City
3,396 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
LUMA Hotel Times Square
LUMA Hotel Times Square
#22 of 473 in New York City
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#15 of 473 in New York City
3,271 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza HY36 Midtown Manhattan
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#101 of 473 in New York City
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Address: 233 West, 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $212 - $591 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing