We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Stylish - although some practicality lost!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #15 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Stylish - although some practicality lost!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed here in Nov 2013 for a short 4 night NYC break.
Location is very good - literally a 5 min walk to Times Square.
Flew in from the UK to Newark, and after looking at options for getting to the hotel went for the bus which leaves at Stand 2 just outside the terminal - $16 per person one way and drops off on 7th Ave and 42nd St (I think!) - short walk to Times Square.
Hotel is quite easy to find and doorman welcoming - although reception staff not quite so (did arrive early-ish - 1pm - so room wasn't quite ready - although reception more than happy to store baggage). Don't know what it was, but the initial welcome wasn't quite what you'd come to expect from hotels in the US - which are usually very good.
Anyway, stored bags and went for a walk - visited Madame Tussauds on 42nd St - v good!
By this time went back and room was ready. Again, very stylish in the 'boutique' style - but lighting levels were very dim! Is this a NYC thing? Found this to be the case in a few bars and restaurants?
High standard of decor, heat was comfortable and controllable, well appointed room and bathroom - fridge in room - although empty - ideal for storing water etc.
I'd read TA and asked for a 10th floor room at the back and away from the elevator - all catered for.
First night ate at 'Lillie's' just along from the hotel - very good - the Filet Mignon was very good and not too pricey.
Continental breakfast on Level 2 is included and, although self service with plastic / disposable plates / cutlery - was all ok and provided enough choice to set yourself up for the day.
All in all I would say a 'Recommended' - reception just need to work on that initial welcome a little!

Other 'must do's' I did:
Top of the Rock (go to the top of the Rockerfellar Centre for the best view in town)
Walk through Central Park up to the Metropolitan Museum of Art (...you could spend a few days in here and still not see it all)
Walk from the top of 5th Ave all the way down to China Town - a few miles but well worth the experience
Liberty Island - followed a tip and got the Water Taxi around the bay instead of actually going to the Island
Times Square after dark - just to see it!
World Trade Centre memorial - very peaceful and thought provoking - also the new 1 World Trade Centre building is a sight to behold!
Take in a show - saw 'Jersey Boys' in the August Wilson Theatre - Excellent!

Avoid: Applebee's on 50th and Broadway - billed as the largest Applebee's - avoid - awful meal and service - such a shame when there are so many restaurants to choose from that I 'wasted' an evening meal here (have used this chain before in Florida and they were excellent - this one isn't!)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank layton_lewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,555
    480
    59
    10
    10
See reviews for
683
836
61
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We traveled to NYC for business, and stayed the weekend. It was centrally located, and a fantastic value! The room was very nice. It was large, clean, and modern. (Especially by NYC standards!) We found it surprisingly quiet for the location. They always had fresh, delicious lemon water in the lobby. Our reservation included a free breakfast. I've had many free hotel breakfasts. Most of them leave something to be desired. The Pearl's was quite good. They could have had more fruit options, but the baked goods were great! The only thing that could have been better was the gym. It was small, and didn't have much equipment variety. Overall, we were impressed, and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Our wonderful experience started as soon as we arrived. Having had a turgid 2 hour journey from airport terminal, then via 2 other terminals and 4 other prior hotel drops, the warm welcome from the porter and reception desk was just what was needed. We asked for a high level room and received that and the receptionist pointed that out as we had asked for it. There are many nice touches around the hotel i.e. fresh water on tap, the complimentary cheese and wine every afternoon 4pm - 5pm and the complimentary continental breakfast. Nice feather pillows. The location is superb with being 50 yards off Broadway and just above Times Square to get around and the Subway on 50th is just round the corner. We strongly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oakmead1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

The Pearl was a great place to stay. It is centrally located with very nice rooms. The staff was helpful and always very courteous. We will certainly recommend this hotel to friends visiting New York.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mesurette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed here on a recent trip to NYC. What a surprise! Wonderful staff, clean rooms, great location right smack in the middle of everything yet pleasantly quiet.Windows that open for fresh air. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carole81657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed June 2013 1 word to describe this hotel amazing!!! Couldn't say enough good things about the pearl hotel! Highly recommend this hotel a must for any New York visitor needing a hotel! The staff were so friendly and helpful, the rooms very clean and modern and the complimentary breakfast was a great treat in the morning!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed here during our time in New York. We found it very friendly and helpful with an unobtrusive elegance. While the hotel doesn’t have a restaurant themselves, there is an excellent one a joining it. There are several good places within walk of the hotel also. The hotel is surprisingly quiet given all the noise from the street. If we return to New York, this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vance2644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#25 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,979 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#3 of 475 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 4,944 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 529 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#43 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,646 reviews
Upper East Side
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#4 of 475 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Property: The Pearl Hotel
Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing