We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“location plus”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #17 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Greenbrae, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“location plus”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Great location with easy access to the subway and very close to Times,Square. Nice to walk to our show...Matilda at the Shubert which was super. All staff very helpful and friendly. Only complaint with room is very loud fan/air conditioning at night which we turned off second night but then it got too stuffy in the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,690
    529
    68
    11
    10
See reviews for
755
907
66
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed in the Pearl Hotel, Midtown, Manhattan, which was very close to Times Square. Inside, the hotel was immaculate and the staff couldn't be friendlier or more helpful. I can certainly recommend.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank eebz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We chose this hotel based on Tripadvisor- and we were not disappointed. Check-in went beautifully even though we arrived very early and our room was stunning (14th Floor). It was one of the largest hotel rooms I have stayed in- and for New York this was beyond amazing. The bed was very comfortable and the room itself was spotless. The bathroom ( including the tv) was equally great. There were nice little touches (bath products, make up towel) and the wine hour and breakfast were above and beyond. For breakfast there was a lovely selection of bagels, bread, pastries, cereal, juices, yogurt and fresh fruit (+ tea and coffee). The wine hour was equally as fabulous and was a wonderful way to end a busy NY day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erika E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My rating for "The Pearl" is from the perspective of a "first-timer" to NYC and it definitely served it's purpose .. but as someone that would go back to New York in the future, I'd choose to stay somewhere else.

Location -
As noted above and by other people this hotel is located close to but not right at Times Square. A subway entrance is only a few blocks away and it's slight off the main road so it's not too hectic. While we were there, the nearby theatre was showing "Chicago" which did mean there were some line-ups of individuals waiting to get in that we had to wind our way around.

Room -
We had a single queen on a relatively high floor, but there is really no view to speak of in this hotel. The rooms were relatively spacious with plenty of storage. Modern finishings were quite nice and the bed was quite comfortable. There was a small alcove with a desk and some small windows. The room was well lit by lamps and lighting but there is minimal natural light to speak of. Overall, it would be fine for any trip where you are staying for business or don't plan on staying long in the room

Amenities -
As we did not spend much time at the property and it is a boutique hotel .. there really isn't much in the way of amenities. The property did have a fitness room, but it was quite small and had relatively outdated equipment with minimal windows. The only other "offering" was breakfast that they provided complimentary to guests in the second floor lounge area. It was admittedly generous for being complimentary but it was a tad hectic and disorganized and lacked enough seating for all the guests.

Service -
Everyone did their best to be helpful and would use a reservation service to secure us spots at the local spots as best they could. We did have a hiccup with a reservation for a towncar to take us to the airport, but it was the 3rd party service they used, and not the hotel's fault.

Overall, our stay was a decent one, but exploring areas further away from the hotel meant taking a cab from close to Times Square .. which quickly became something of an event to dread. For those planning to stay closer to around Times Square and Broadway .. and with the desire to have 5 Napkin Burgers or some Shake Shack .. this might be the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Willhelmson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We chose this hotel based on Tripadvisor ratings and were not disappointed! Very comfortable and quiet room (we did not overlook the street so can't comment on those rooms). Breakfast suited us fine. The staff were very helpful. Easy walking distance to the theaters, Rockefeller Center and MOMA and a choice of subway stations. Large choice of interesting restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back and side (overlooking the next door apartment block pool) are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhodocrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is the second time visiting the city but the first using the Pearl Hotel. The location of the hotel is perfect. The staff cannot do enough for you and reception always greet you like a long lost best friend - albeit not over the top.

When we go back to NYC there is only one hotel for me.

Rooms are excellent size, modern and super clean.

Only small thing is plastic plates and cutlery for the continental breakfast. If they could sort this out and possibly add in some cold meats then it would be spot on.

Otherwise flawless stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andy909dj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Not a huge amount to add from the previous reviews. We had 4 nights whilst doing a few gigs in NY and New Jersey and Long Island using the Pearl as a base. Still fantastic. On the last trip we had commented on fantastic the pillows were and we had taken the name back to the UK and tried to buy some without success. We mentioned this to the manager Georgia Skoufis ( who is fantastic ) and she offered to get us some in. We were heading up to Conneticut then Boston then coming back to leave from JFK. By the time we got back she had bought in 4 pillows for us from her suppliers and house keeping got us 4 pillow cases to suit - that's service for you. Those pillows now sit on our bed at home and are heaven!!
Thanks so much again for the awesomeness!!
We are going to Brooklyn in december for 3 nights to some gigs and would love to stay here again if we can sort the transport concerns.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrainLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 467 in New York City
2,571 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
3,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
1,306 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
3,302 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 467 in New York City
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Property: The Pearl Hotel
Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing