We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Elegant”
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #28 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I traveled to New York for an anniversary celebration. He had researched a number of hotels in different locations, and we decided to try the Pearl. It's small, but top-notch, and elegantly decorated. There are only 8 or 9 rooms per floor; no long hallways for people to run down. Our room was wonderfully quiet; both nights after we fell asleep we were not awakened once during the night. We found out later a family of five was staying in the next room -- never heard them once.

Location was very central. A little touristy for us -- right in the middle of Times Square, but great if you are going to NY to see shows.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,428)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,223 - 1,229 of 2,428 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

We spent 8 nights in the pearl. The hotel is in close proximity to all the broadway shows, has many restaurants within a stones throw. The rooms are modern and clean and are quite generous in size. The breakfast and gym are quite limited but still provide an option. We did have a strange encounter with a staff member having her pants off in our room, when we returned early, but other than that odd experience the staff were great.
We would return if staying in New York again

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank perthaustins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We enjoyed our 5 night stay at the Pearl in September 2013 in a superior Queen suite. The suite was spacious, clean and well-maintained and the bathroom was lovely. The included breakfast each morning was more than adequate and there was plenty of seating. The location is unbeatable and we found it easy to walk to Times Square and catch the subway further afield. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The gym is small but when I used it there was no-one else there so it was fine. The room was very quiet given the location - we heard some muffled street noise occasionally but it wasn't an issue. We ate at the restaurant on site and were very happy with the food and service. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmb70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We searched forever for a hotel in NYC.All the reviews were great.This was our first visit to NYC.Family trip with 2 teenage kids.Fantastic location, comfortable beds,modern,clean,loved the breakfast included.We were on the 6th floor overlooking Book of Mormon-no noise issues.Staff friendly,professional and welcoming.We loved our visit to NYC- an oasis to comeback to after a busy bustling day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Pearl, this was our first visit to NYC, and in my opinion this location was superb for us! We were able to take in Time Square, Central Park, the 911 memorial, Empire State bldg, etc.... And all were easily accessible either by foot, or subway. The Book of Mormon was playing right across the street, we weren't able to get tickets, but how convenient that would have been. The staff were all professional, courteous, and extremely helpful. As other guests have commented we didn't have any issues with noise at all, our room was on the 9th floor, and we were pleasantly surprised at how quiet it actually was. We would definitely stay there again, and would recommend to anyone heading to NYC.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BG_LYNN2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

As part of a recent family tour through the US and Mexico in Sept'13, while in NYC we stayed at The Pearl Hotel for 5 nights. As per other reviews, the servuce was exceptional. The front desk and door service went out of their way to assist us with every query we had (and there were a few), and staff in other functions were always pleasant and accommodating. The room had an extra lounge area and 2 double beds which easily catered for 3 adults. The breakfast was a goods start to the day, and had all we needed before we hit the pavements. The location of The Pearl to the key sites is also a bonus. In 5 days we never needed a cab, simply walking or catching the subway to all the major sites. We'll be back to The Pearl when next in NYC.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here for five nights and could not fault this hotel. Great location and within easy reach of the subway, theatres, shopping and nightlife. Our room was comfortable and quiet with good insulation, the breakfast was great with lots of variety. The bell staff and front desk were so helpful with directions, taxis and other local information. We didn't use the restaurant but the menu looked nice. The bar was nice and helpful bar staff. A minor maintenance issue was resolved straight away. A long distance telephone call that didn't get connected was followed up and the charges were reimbursed immediately. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend to other travellers.

Room Tip: Our room was on the third floor facing the street but we couldn't hear a thing, not even the ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrisVegas71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#26 of 469 in New York City
3,104 reviews
Midtown
LUMA Hotel Times Square
LUMA Hotel Times Square
#21 of 469 in New York City
248 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#68 of 469 in New York City
3,273 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#85 of 469 in New York City
467 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $238 - $697 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing